Fun with Food

Had some good fun with food yesterday.  Tried a new recipe, which I have been wanting to try for a while, and it was great!  I made Lynn’s Vegetable Paprikash yesterday, and loved it.  Of course, it wasn’t vegetable anymore after I added a little chicken, but that’s the way I wanted it!  I don’t know what Lynn does with this, but I tried to add up the calories, and then divided it into 4 big portions, and it came out to about 170 calories/serving.  That number included the 4 ounces of chicken that I added to the total recipe.  Then I cooked ‘2 servings’ of my favorite high fiber pasta, and divided it into the 4 servings, so only an additional (and very worthy) 90 calories extra.  This was really tasty, and I bet it would have been even better if my paprika hadn’t been 5 years old (oops!)  

Another thing I did that turned out pretty great:  I made myself a smoothie for my mid-morning snack.  Halfway through I realized I wasn’t really hungry, and I would really like to try it a little ‘creamier.’  So I put the remaining half of the smoothie into an ice cube tray and froze it.  Later in the afternoon, I took the ‘smoothie cubes’ out and added them to the blender with 1/2 cup of yogurt and blended.  Yumm, frozen strawberry-banana yogurt!

For dinner, I needed a lighter meal (had the paprikash for lunch,) so decided to go vegetarian.

I cut up a beautiful home grown tomato, and layered with fresh mozzarella, basil, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil.  And then, a la Lynn, I roasted a whole head of cauliflower.  (I only ate half of it!)  When I roast veggies now, I put them in a ziplock baggie, and add however much oil I deem necessary, and shake.  For the whole head, I added 1/2 Tbsp.  For me, the additional oil is very worthy.  I can’t thank Lynn enough for experimenting and roasting the cauliflower longer, because my first experiments with cauliflower were the same as hers.  I just didn’t like it.  But cooked for a longer time, they become soft, yet chewy, and very sweet.  DELICIOUS!  I had enough calories left to have a small bowl of grapes with this meal, which was very filling.

And I ended the day with 2 lobars, and a cup of ‘chai tea.’  I use the same Good Earth vanilla chai teabags as Lori found, and heat up one cup of Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze to put the teabag in–very rich tasting, and only 40 calories!  Here is a picture of the lo-bar for Lori!  Ingredients include apple and carrot pulp, a little whole wheat flour, and chocolate chips, walnuts, raisins, and dried cherries.  She has a little form that she presses this ‘dough’ into, and I think she bakes them on low heat for a longer period of time.  Sometimes they are quite dark in color, but they never taste burned.  Have a nice moist, chewy texture.  Moister than the bean brownies.  I’m including all this information in the hopes that maybe Lori can figure out how to make them!  I don’t think I am motivated enough to make my own when I can buy them so easily.

DSCN0809

I’m pretty happy that my weight is going in the right direction–VERY SLOWLY, to be sure!  I’m off for a workout with Vicky, and afterwards I just might check out the new frozen yogurt place.  I’ve known about it for a few weeks, but I am almost afraid to try it for fear it will become a too-frequent habit for me.  I know myself well, that’s for sure.

Hope you all are having a good back-to-work day!

8 thoughts on “Fun with Food

  1. Those look good. Does Vicky juice? I wonder about the carrot and apple pulp.

    I love cooking in bulk and having variations on that for the week. I do this with chicken a lot and brown rice (although it’s been a while since I have had rice).

  2. Yep, Lori, that’s where her pulp comes from. Sometimes I buy the organic carrot juice from her and add it to my smoothies. I think it adds a nice flavor. There is a place near here called Apple Hill. They have giant machines pressing apples and making apple juice, and I am thinking about asking them if they sell their apple pulp. I also noticed at the stores lately that they have ‘juice carrots’ for sale–giant bags of giant carrots. Although I am intrigued, I don’t think I’m going to get a juicer–one more piece of equipment in my already crowded kitchen!

    The other day I made a mix of brown rice, fresh corn, broccoli, and chicken. It was a little dry (probably just some chicken stock would have been a good addition.) But it was so tasty and fresh tasting. That is the kind of food I really enjoy.

    • I may end up with a juicer. My mother asked me if I wanted one from my grandmothers old house, and she might be getting that for me in a few weeks, although like you – we aren’t sure we want another piece of equipment. I imagine pumpkin or squash might go a long way towards replicating these bars.

  3. Oooo, I *loved* Lynn’s veggie paprikash recipe! Although, confession time: I didn’t make it entirely to recipe, either. I think next time I’d use lower fat sour cream…I used the fully leaded stuff (instead of the non-fat she recommended, it was what we had on hand), and while it was sooooo good, it was probably a bigger load calorie-wise than was wise. 😉

  4. did you know that we are not supposed to be heating our olive oil??? I couldn’t tell from what you wrote – but you should be adding the oil AFTER it cooks. And we should all be buying COLD PRESS olive oil. So that no heat ruined it in process.

    girls made all 3 bars from your links the other day.

    their favorite is the banana protein with the choc chips in it. middle child put the batter in the pan and then pressed the choc chips IN to get them spaced evenly – worked really well.

    they agree that the brownies are only good after it is cold. and they did add cocoa powder like you did (and I did get the DARK choc chips and they added those too).

    they actually thought all three recipes were pretty good.

    I got the rice based protein powder. they get dairy, soy and egg white in their food on a regular basis – so rice seemed to be adding variety – numbers were all pretty close. I got unflavored that specifically said it could be used in smoothies or in baking.

    • Vickie–thanks for the olive oil reminder. I knew that but had forgotten.

      Also, the apricot oatmeal bars in my sidebar recipes is a version of one of Lori’s recipes–has the protein powder in it too. I love them as a breakfast snack OR dessert. I’ve made them with blueberries too.

Leave a Reply

