Finished Quilts

A week or so ago, I contemplated doing a blog titled ‘Parade of Unfinished Quilts.’  Because I am good at starting new quilts, but not as good at putting the finishing touches on quilts.  But thanks to this stay at home vacation, I have been able to finish 3 little quilts.

I really like these little quilts.  What I do is take a small stack of fabrics that I like with me on my little trips, and then just start hand-sewing pieces of fabric together.  That is all I was doing–just sewing random pieces of fabric together, while sitting in a rocking chair on the deck outside my bedroom in Mendocino–when the idea to make a little memory quilt came to me.  I never finish these quilts on the trips, but I do get a good start, and then they are often finished on the machine at home.

These are scenes that remind me of that trip: the old fashioned room with a window-view of the ocean that I stayed in, a fire that startled us as we returned home one night–we thought it was the bed and breakfast we were staying at, the sheep on the hill outside the farmhouse, and the beautiful and wild flower garden outside the main house.

 

Memories of Mendocino

Memories of Mendocino

The next two quilts were started and mostly completed during the many trips I took to the Bay Area while helping my dad and his wife, starting this past January.  I took 2 pieces of fabric to use as background because I couldn’t decide which one I liked the best.  And then I decided to use both of them because they were indicative of ‘Good Mood’ and ‘Bad Mood,’ both of which I tended to experience at any given moment during this time.  At the end I thought the thing I learned was that there could be beauty during both the good and the bad times.

 

"Bad Mood"

"Bad Mood"

   

 

Close-up of 'Bad Mood'

Close-up of 'Bad Mood'

 

 

"Good Mood"

"Good Mood"

A couple of days ago, we had a little disaster here in the Schnabel household (remember, the Schnabel household consists only of me and the dogs, and the disaster was not me.)  So it has changed up my routine a wee bit.  Not a stitch of gym time or planned exercise for two days.  But plenty of lifting and toting and outdoor clean up work.  The surprising thing to me was that there was absolutely NO stress eating.  I even gave myself permission to do it, but decided I would rather have MORE food that was healthy.  Who would’ve thunk it?  It doesn’t mean that the next time disaster strikes that I won’t eat, but I can celebrate this victory this time.

When the disaster happened, I had been planning to start a new quilt.  I had my stack of chosen fabrics all laid out (and the reject fabrics put away–yay for me!)  But I came home and stared at the fabrics and realized that all creativity had been drained from me.  So I just watched a movie and continued to put the bindings on some of these little quilts.  Yesterday I decided that I could just follow a simple pattern that I wanted to try out.  And I was so happy with the results.  I love colors, and I am always so happy and surprised that I DO like the color combinations that I have chosen.  Here are the 16″ blocks that I have done so far.  I think they are pretty all on their own, but you are supposed to chop them in 4 and then sew them back together!  Hey, Juice, THANKS for the link to this quilter, who had a tutorial on making this quilt on her blog!  The best part about this way of quilting is that there are minimal decisions after the fabrics have been chosen (less stressful.)  But then I will have the ‘leftover’ fabric (I cut extra on purpose) to play with and create my own ‘art quilts.’  This seems to work really well for me.

 

Quilt blocks for 'bento box' quilt

Quilt blocks for 'bento box' quilt

5 thoughts on “Finished Quilts

  1. Those quilts are just stunning. You are so talented.

    My new shoes are the Saucony Grid Cohesion NX and they were on sale for about $40 at Dicks. I love them

  2. Beautiful work! Can’t wait to see how the bento box quilt turns out too. You are one multitalented dynamo.

    Hope the home emergency turned out ok…

Leave a Reply

