I Don’t Know

Surprising admission from someone who has an opinion on everything, eh?  Well, I don’t know everything.  I don’t even know if I should write this blog.  If you’re having a down kind of day, just move along to the next blog.  But what I don’t know about today is dogs.  Rescue dogs.  Did I ever tell you that I have been seriously crazy about dogs practically my whole life?  I actually raised and showed dogs for many years, and had some top winning dogs back in the 70’s–man that seems weird to say that.  Anyway, the only reason I mention that is that I used to know a lot about dogs.  Any more, I am just confused.  I don’t really think it is right any more to spend a fortune on dogs.  And so I started getting rescue dogs.  I like the idea of helping out and giving dogs a second chance.  But rescue dogs are a crap shoot.  I really think that a lot of dogs are in rescue because their owners just don’t know what to do with them.  They have behavior problems that are caused by their owners.  And then I think their owners lie about them because if they told the truth, no one would take that dog.  Rindy was one of those dogs.  She was not exactly as described.  I don’t think her owners EVER said no to her.  So she wanted what she wanted and she wanted it now.  And she was a dachshund, and they are pretty stubborn.  Unfortunately for Rindy, she ended up with an owner with a German name who was even more stubborn than her.  All this to say that Rindy and I have worked really hard at our relationship for the last 6 years.  Rindy tried really hard to be a good girl.  And I tried really hard to be a good owner.  And really it was just the past year or so that we understood each other and were able to relax and enjoy one another.  Finally.

DSCN0425

And that is why the disaster that happened just a few days ago was so difficult.  Rindy had that dachshund thing happen to her. When I mentioned the disaster a couple of days ago, I was still hoping the problem would resolve.  But within a few hours Rindy went from being the world’s greatest alligator-lizard hunter to being completely paralyzed in her hind end.  And for a dog whose whole life is about patrolling the yard, keeping it clear of varmints, and being in charge of walks, that is not a good thing. I did get her into the vet right away, and we started steroids, but she only got worse.  It put a little kink in my yard cleaning plans, but I didn’t mind slowing down for a few days.  Rindy, who had been extraordinarily independent, now wanted to be right next to me.  So I moved her from place to place depending on what I was doing or where I was working.  A lot of non-exercise lifting and toting.  (Another ‘lie’–Rindy was supposed to be a miniature dachshund, but she weighs 21 pounds.  Of course, I knew that when I saw her in person and adopted her .)  Rindy got to lick my face more in the past 72 hours than in all the other years we were together.

DSCN0843Rindy and Sophie this morning. Sophie was being uncharacteristically charitable and keeping Rindy company. **

I usually try to learn a lesson from these types of events in my life.  I’m not sure what I’m supposed to learn from this.  If I think of what its supposed to be, I’ll let you know.

And can you believe, I haven’t stress eaten yet?  There’s some frozen yogurt in the plans for tomorrow, though.  AFTER my weigh in and workout.  I did eat kind of weird today.  But I’ll tell you about that tomorrow.
**Edited 9/15, 6:25am–I left out that I had to make that decision that no one wants to make–to put Rindy to sleep yesterday afternoon.  A dog can’t really live paralyzed (body functions paralyzed too,) and for sure it would not have been the life an active dog like Rindy would have wanted.

8 thoughts on “I Don’t Know

  1. man, I dont know what the lesson is supposed to be here either. beyond the fact you are, indeed, as strong as WE KNEW and perhaps stronger than YOU REALIZED .

    hope youre still patting yourself on the back for not stress eating, Debby!

  2. so sorry that this happened to you! and the dog of course – but mostly you. and what in the heck are you going to do with a paralyzed dog on the days that you work? what do you do on the normal days that you work about letting them out?

  3. Sorry bout that guys. Guess I wasn’t very clear last night. I edited the post to say that I had to have Rindy put to sleep. The steroids usually work (if they are going to work at all) in less than 48 hours, and they didn’t help her at all.

    And Vickie, that is a good question about what I do on the days I work. It is an ongoing worry for me to be gone so long. But I have a ‘dog room’ (8′ X 10′) with an attached chain link run (10′ X 20′) and I have doggie beds in there for them. That’s where they stay while I am at work. If something comes up, or they need closer supervision during the day, I have my long-time ‘babysitter,’ a friend who lives on my road, and I pay her to come check on them.

  4. Oh Debby – I am so, so sorry about Rindy. You did a wonderful thing bringing Rindy into your home. There are a lot of rescue animals that are wonderful pets who had bad owners or clueless owners. It takes a special person to be willing to work with an inherited problem and make it right.

    Just know that you gave her love and a good home in return for her unconditional love.

  5. Debby, I’m so sorry to hear about Rindy. I’m not sure what the lesson there is, either, except perhaps that loving sometimes means knowing when to let go. What a difficult decision to have made. It sounds like she did have a wonderful life with you, even though you’ve described the earlier years as a lot of work. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts today.

  6. Debby, so sorry to hear this sad news. I’m sure Rindy is in heaven now running everywhere! It just stinks that we have to make these decision. I pray that you will be comforted in the days to come.

    PS I think it is wonderful that you take in rescue dogs! The world needs more people like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

