Indecisive

I don’t know what to do today.  Have I mentioned before that I have a hard time making decisions?

My brother is in town from Texas.  (In town means he is in the Bay Area with my dad.)  He is going home Saturday.  I already got to see him a couple of days ago.  But we have tickets for the new Disney Museum in San Francisco for tomorrow.  Yesterday I thought I had the flu.  Even left work early and came home and sat on the couch, and slept.  Today I feel better, but not perfect.  I actually called last night and cancelled my workout with Vicky today, which is a bummer.  But I didn’t want to give the flu to her and everyone in the gym if that is what it is.

What is the hardest for me to decide is actually the decision to leave home. I like it here.  I like my routines.  It is easiest to eat right when I am at home.  I like my bed.  I miss my dogs, and I worry about them when I have to leave for too long.  Blah, blah, blah.  I sound like a broken record, even to myself.  So I think, even as I type this, that I will just get up VERY EARLY tomorrow morning, and go down to the bay area for the day, and drive home the same night.  Unless I feel really great today, and drive down this afternoon, and spend the night.  Or I could stay overnight Friday, and get up early Saturday and drive home.  I think you can see my problem.  In my brain, it is tied up with the fact that I have to work Monday and Tuesday (unusual for me) and then I am on vacation, and am planning to leave for TEN DAYS!  I don’t know if I will really leave for that long.  I’m re-thinking that trip too.

Okay, on to something at least a little more interesting.  I have to admit that since hitting that 100 pound mark, I have struggled just a bit with keeping my food intake down.  Just a bit extra here and there.  It all adds up.  In addition, I haven’t been able to get in quite as much exercise, d/t work schedule, and my brother’s visit, and now this flu thingy.  But we (my dad, my sister, my brother, and I) went up to Tahoe on Sunday and Monday, and it was really great.  We drove up through the Sierras and there was snow everywhere.  Gorgeous.  Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures.  My brother and I wanted to take a hike, and after we checked into the hotel, we left my dad and sister in the room (they were going to go shopping,) and we went out to get the car and drive to a place to hike, and it was snowing HARD!  Gorgeous big flakes.  We finally decided that we were too wimpy to try to hike in such weather, but we went for a run from there.  It was great—so much fun.  Ran down to where the lake was (couldn’t even see it, it was so cloudy and snowing so much) and checked out the restaurant we wanted to go to for dinner, and then ran over to where my dad and sister were shopping, and then ran back to the hotel.  When it was dinner time, we opted to run over to the restaurant again, instead of driving.  Everything was close, but we got in over 4 miles (my pedometer battery ran out.)

The next day was bright and sunny, just like the weather guys predicted.  The views were fantastic–Christmas post cards everywhere you looked.  And we headed up around the lake.  There is a place called Taylor Creek that I thought my dad would enjoy, and it turned out that this is the time the salmon were there spawning!  I let my dad sit in his walker and I pushed him around, and he thoroughly enjoyed himself.  I got a great workout pushing him, probably one mile.  And it was amazing to see all the salmon in this little stream that I have visited in the summer.  I have to say that it really made me sad when someone commented that ‘they are probably dying now.’  I know that it is the way of nature, but I can’t help it.  It just really makes me sad.

So that’s it.  That’s where I”ve been.  Work, Tahoe trip, work, sick.  I have to say that I really think my immune system is pretty good right now.  Because whatever this ‘sickness’ is, its not nearly as bad as I think it would be if I was not eating as healthily as I tend to eat now.  I will try to get back with a more interesting post in a day or two or three.  Here is a picture of all of us up at Tahoe–I think you can see the snow on the mountains in the background.

DSCN0858

6 thoughts on “Indecisive

  1. great picture of you all!

    I know how you feel about being away from home. For me it is whatever is the ‘norm’. If daily life involved being on the go and sleeping at a different hotel each and every night (or switching every couple days) it wouldn’t bother me in the slightest – because that would be my life. It is when I just occassionally go some where – that it is hard. I suspect this probably has a great deal to do with your dogs – because they are your babies.

    • You are right, Vickie. Even though I am determined, intellectually, to treat my dogs as dogs, and to not let my life ‘be limited’ by having them, I still worry about leaving them.

  2. Home is usually the safe haven, so I totally understand. Of course you worry about leaving your dogs – they are a responsibility and you love them! Pets really can be like children 😀

    Hope you aren’t getting sick. Your coffee should arrive soon, so that will help you get better.

  3. I totally understand as well.
    We lost both of our dogs over the past 2 years but PRIOR? I was more worried about leaving my bullmastiff than some friends were about their kids 🙂

  4. Hi Debby! Thanks so much for introducing yourself on my blog! It’s so nice to meet you. CONGRATS on your 100 pound loss! I hope you are feeling better. Looking forward to getting to know you.

  5. I can relate to this. I struggled with the same “to go or not to go” a couple of weekends ago when I finally decided not to go to Florida to see my folks. I get too caught up in what other people think I should do (bosslady thought I should suck it up and see my parents, plus my mom was bummed that I didn’t get to visit). In hindsight, I’m glad I had that quiet weekend.

    And don’t get me started on leaving the dog. I’m seriously contemplating having my Christmas in Baltimore because Cecilia’s tumor keeps growing and I don’t trust a dog sitter to really take care of her the way I would. Fortunately Mom and Dad are coming up at the end of October to visit. Once Mom sees how big the tumor is, she’ll probably better understand my reluctance to leave Cecilia.

    My next dog will be small enough to fly Southwest Air with me.

Leave a Reply

