Just a Bit of This and That

Real quick this morning.  Yesterday I did a little cooking session that turned out great.  Thought I’d share.  I had 4 ears of corn from the farmer’s market that I didn’t want to go bad.  So I decided to make some taco soup, and then half-way through the process, decided to also make an edamame dish.  Here’s what I did:

Cut up one onion, add to 1 Tbsp oil in a pan.  Cook for 5-7 minutes on medium heat while you cut the kernels off the ears of corn.  Add the corn to the pan.  Cook another 3-4 minutes.  Divide the onion/corn mix into 2 pans.  For the edamame I added 2 servings of edamame, 1 tsp. sesame oil, and a little salt and pepper–that’s it.  If I want to embellish it, I can.  This made 3 servings at about 180 calories each.  Really a great satisfying snack, pretty high in protein.

To the other pan, to make the taco soup…well, you can do it however you want.  But I added snow peas (had a bunch in the frig., some home-grown tomatoes (the last for the year I am sure) some already cooked chicken, and some carrots that I had nuked in the microwave for a couple of minutes (I only did this because carrots take a longer time to cook, and I forgot to add them first.)  Added some water, chicken broth, and taco seasoning, and simmered for 20 minutes.  Yumm!  This came out to about 200 calories for a BIG serving.  I don’t feel the need to add extras to my taco soup anymore.  As long as I add lots of vegetables that I like, I find it very satisfying.  Guess what I’ll be eating the rest of the week!

I also had the urge for some ‘pumpkin custard.’  But no pumpkin.  I had 1/4 of an already cooked small butternut squash in the frig.  I put it in the blender with about 1/8 cup of egg beaters, 3/8 cup vanilla unsweetened almond breeze, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, dash of salt, and a bit of brown sugar.  Blended it all together and put in an individual serving dish, baked at 350 for about 50 minutes.  YUMM!  About 100-150 calories.  This was really an experiment because I just looked at my pumpkin custard recipe for a guideline, and estimated amounts.  This is something I will definitely be doing again.  I really like the idea of an individual serving instead of making a whole recipe for 4 servings and then eating them all ‘because they are there.’

Okay, after my ‘personal triathlon’ Sunday, I was REALLY sore Monday, especially across my upper chest.  I made it a rest day, and only took the doggies for a nice ‘Sophie-paced walk’ just before it got dark AT 5PM.

DSCN0967

Wanted to link to a couple of worthy blogs:  this gal is doing a really great series on ‘THE SCALE.”  You’ll have to scroll back to get the first two, and then I think she said she will do one once a week or once a month.  But they are worth looking for.  Thanks to Vickie for pointing her out.  This gal has some amazing healthy-looking recipes.  I found her through the Fitbloggin’ Conference website.  BTW, anyone going to that?  Sounds amazing and fun, but that is a LONG DISTANCE for me.  One of my favorite (and my first!) bloggers was on TV!!!  Lynn was on the Today Show.  It  was AMAZING to hear her story and see her before and after photos.  A-MA-ZING!  If you click to her blog, she has a link to this inspirational video segment on the Today show.  Definitely worthy.

Over and out.  Off to face the scale (have to weigh in for Vicky) and have a good workout–I bet she is going to make me do circuit training today.  BTW, she is offering some ‘deals’ if you sign up before the end of the year.  Any opinions out there about whether I should re-up or not?  It is very expensive, that’s my only reservation.  After the workout I get to have some of my favorite frozen yogurt!

3 thoughts on “Just a Bit of This and That

    • Vickie–THANK YOU so much for this recipe. I was really irritated when I made that taco soup that I was using that packaged stuff. And I knew I had all the ingredients in my house! I will be using this from now on.

  1. I would love to go to the fitblogging conference. Maybe I should, but not sure I can afford to go.

    I was so happy to see Lynn on TV! I clapped and got teary. It was so great to see her in motion, wasn’t it? Dang she is tiny….

Leave a Reply

