Good Morning. And A Finished Quilt.

First of all, I wanted to give a shout-out to a couple of bloggers.  First, Shelley, whose blog got a prominent mention in Woman’s Day magazine!  It is the Dec. 1 issue, and is supposed to be in stores by Nov. 23.  Next, Miz and Shauna are doing an AMAZING thing–a joint podcast ‘across the pond.’ I am SO enjoying these episodes.  Good for a morning or afternoon break, or while I am eating my lunch, or quilting…anytime, actually.  I really enjoyed their discussion of feeling down, personal motivation, etc.  When I have a down day (like this past Sunday,) I am lucky.  It is usually ONE DAY.  It makes me much more sensitive to people who suffer with long-term or chronic depression.  Nevertheless, the feelings I have are real.  And it was really helpful to me personally to hear them discussing this.  I also liked Miz’s reminder that we should not allow our actions to be motivated by ‘what other people think.’  This is something I am dealing with currently, and this was a VERY helpful reminder.  Thanks, girls!  Last, but not least, Lori had an absolutely excellent blog entry this morning about ‘plateaus,’ along with her personal story of a HUGE plateau, and how she got over it.

I was making my bed last night, and putting on my winter/Christmas quilt, and thought I would take a picture to show you that I DO indeed finish projects.  This quilt was so fun to make.  I collected ‘pine needle’ fabric of all different styles during a few shopping trips with my friend.  And I had 1/2 yard of each of the two bird fabrics, which had to be ‘fussy cut’–cut out to get the ‘pictures’ just the way you want them, which usually wastes a lot of fabric.  This was a pretty big quilt for me, and I hand-quilted the entire thing.  I always enjoy hand-quilting, but by the time you get to the end of a project, you are SICK of it.  When it is completely finished and bound, and you can throw it in the washer and dryer and have a brand-new bed covering, well, that is a great feeling.  And I enjoy it every time I use it.

The name of the quilt is ‘Yes, I Live in Pine Grove.’

DSCN0995

DSCN0992

DSCN0991

DSCN0993

Even the back is a beautiful pine needle fabric.

DSCN0996

9 thoughts on “Good Morning. And A Finished Quilt.

  1. Ooooo, that quilt is some kind of gorgeous!!! Thanks for sharing the photos of it.

    Oh, and I meant to tell you that we tried your Pumpkin Custard recipe this weekend, and it was SO good! (With a few tweaks that I don’t think made much of a difference: half batch, 2 eggs, and a different sugar substitute instead of the sugar/splenda.) Definitely a keeper! (Unlike the pumpkin + fat free and sugar free Jello cheesecake pudding, which tasted bitter to me…maybe vanilla would have worked better.)

  2. What a beautiful quilt – love the theme! I have a huge appreciation for handmade quilts as I have neither the skill nor the patience to learn said skills for them.

    Thanks so much for the shout out – it has just been so amazing to me!

  3. Jill – that’s eye candy – for many quilters – the colors of the fabric are very much like food (far less calories!).

    Lovely quilt.

    I added Lori’s Plateau link to the collection on my side bar. Thanks for mentioning it.

  4. Your quilts are so great. I’m actually inspired enough to want to try it myself, it looks like a great way to express creativity. Did you take a class or did someone teach you?

  5. I love the idea of a theme quilt! But then I’m obsessed with your quilting in general and live vicariously through you and film in the fridge. One day…

Leave a Reply

