Holy Moly! Who Knew Pumpkin Seeds Could Be So Good!

Yikes.  I can’t keep these things around too much, that’s for sure.  This morning I baked another ‘sugar pumpkin’ (gonna try to make pumpkin custard with it tomorrow.)  I started to throw the seeds out, and then thought, maybe I’ll try roasting them.  Somewhere or other I had seen a blogger write about making sweet and spicy pumpkin seeds.  First I googled ‘how to clean pumpkin seeds,’ and they suggested immersing them in a big bowl of water and rubbing them between your hands.  This actually worked pretty well, and it wasn’t that hard to get all of the stringy junk off.  (BTW, I bake the pumpkin by just cutting the stem off and putting the whole thing in the oven.  Seeds are easy to scrape off when it cools.)  I rinsed the seeds and left them to dry while I investigated various ‘sweet and spicy pumpkin seed recipes.’  I finally went back to this blogger’s site to see if that is where I saw the original recipe.  I don’t think it is, but I liked hers the best–least amount of work, least amount of sugar, and no oil.  We have a winner.  Of course, I adjusted the recipe, mostly because I didn’t have all the ingredients, and only wanted to do pumpkin seeds.  I used some of the spices I had seen in some of the other recipes, and added one of my own.  I followed her prep and baking instructions.  These are the spices I added:  2 tsp sugar, 2 tsp splenda, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp chili powder.

Okay.  I have never eaten pumpkin seeds before.  So those of you who are experts at eating pumpkin seeds can laugh at me one way or the other.  At first I was trying to eat them like sunflower seeds, which I have become quite proficient at.  But I ended up with a mealy mess in my mouth, and I was not sure I was spitting out the seed along with the shell.  I almost gave up, and then thought, well, just try eating the whole thing.  Bingo.  (But is this how other people eat them?)  Anyway, about 150 calories for 1 ounce, which would be okay, but since you eat the whole seed, they go down rather quickly…one ounce of sunflower seeds can last me an hour and a half!

I fixed a really great small salad for lunch.  I will do this one again.  I roasted one beet and let it cool.  Added baby lettuce greens to dressing in bowl and mixed.  Topped with the beet chopped up, one laughing cow wedge chopped up, and tossed in a few of the sweet and spicy pumpkin seeds.  Youza.  This is a winner.  Sorry I didn’t take a picture because it was kind of pretty.  And only 80-100 calories!  I can’t take complete credit for it because Vicky had this for sale and I had tried hers.  She used goat cheese and almonds, I think.  I actually liked mine better.  Laughing cow cheese wedges–people have been trying to get me to eat this stuff for 5 years.  I finally get it.  I think I’m in love, actually.

Well, its been another good food day.  I am enjoying having a good cup of coffee for my afternoon snack, and I can finally drink coffee without having to have ‘baked goods’ with it!  Dinner tonight is 2 chicken tenders, and am going to top them with sauteed mushrooms and onions, and a tiny bit of asiago cheese.  And a side of plain ol’ zucchini, one of my favorite veggies!

So far the only exercise was a pretty vigorous walk with the doggies.  Sophie has decided that she can run on the way home.  Because she thinks she will eat when she gets home.  Nevertheless, it challenges me to try running uphill.

Sophie cannot believe I am blogging while she waits for her dinner.

9 thoughts on “Holy Moly! Who Knew Pumpkin Seeds Could Be So Good!

  1. I had a dream about you last night!! I dreamt that you came to visit me and we went to Sam’s and just looked around and I think we almost got into a fight with a snotty stockboy.

    I don’t have any idea where that dream came from. I think I need therapy for more than my finger! 😉

    • That is funny. A dream about me. It must have been me trying to give you the message to write another blog post to amuse me. I LOVE looking around Sam’s and Costco.

  2. Feed that poor baby! Yes, I am a sucker for the “hungry dog” look, lol!

    I love pumpkin seeds – have eaten them since I was a kid, when we used to carve pumpkins? You never did this? I thought everyone did! Glad you’ve joined the club!

    I like LC cheese, but never thought to cut it up and put it in a salad – great idea!

  3. I love Laughing Cow cheese! I like to spread it on these no salt crackers I have. I also gave a shout-out to you on Vickie’s blog. I said your blog was one of the ones that I really enjoyed reading!

  4. Thanks for the pumpkin seed inspiration. Sounds awesome, and like something I’d have to have kept in a lock box with a sentry guard to limit my consumption! I may have to try it. And great idea about the LC cheese in a salad. There is no end to LC usage and deliciousness.

Leave a Reply

