A Perfect Birthday’s Eve

Hi all!  Here’s a few photos I’ve been meaning to stick into a blog.  First one is another of the great turkey salads I’ve been enjoying.  I added avocado to this one.  It’s really a pretty, festive salad.

This next picture might seem a little strange, but this is actually a dinner that I really enjoy.  It is quite a departure from the way I used to eat dinner.  Maybe it will inspire someone to try a simpler approach to dinner.  Just 2 chicken tenders–I cook on medium high heat, spray pam in pan, and season with salt and pepper.  Only 100 calories.  And some roasted brussel sprouts.  They look burned, but they are just right.  You can spray them with pam, or toss with a little olive oil, season with salt and pepper.  I don’t think that much about it any more, but I pretty routinely use a salad plate for my dinner.

Next pic. is of that fabulous snack I mentioned in the video.  This was so delicious, it seemed better than cake to me!   Half an apple, peeled and cored, spread with one wedge Laughing Cow lite, and 4 walnut halves, broken into pieces.  About 135 calories for the whole thing.

Bloggers mentioned in the video:  Vickie, my super organized blog friend, and Shelley, who inspired me with her Christmas cleaning and decorating blog!

Last picture is a picture of my ‘Christmas corner,’ the furniture rearranging that I talked about in the video.  It is my new favorite spot to sit.

9 thoughts on “A Perfect Birthday’s Eve

  1. my girls will LOVE the apple/cheese/walnuts! thanks for a very good idea!

    I’ll have to pop back and watch your video later as 2 out of the 4 of us are still sleeping. . .

  2. DEBS!!! HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!

    If one day you come home to find Oliver missing, he’s with me. I’m going to kidnap him and bring him home and sleep on him like a pillow. I’m falling in love with your dog!

    Can I just say that I am so proud of you and proud to call you my friend!

    The vidoes are great – it’s so fun to see you in action. Maybe Santa will bring me a Flip video camera and I can do vids too! 🙂

    I hope you have a wonderful birthday – you deserve every happiness today! 🙂

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    That apple dessert sounds delish! I’m going to try to remember to try it! Can’t get behind the brussel sprouts, though. Those things are nastay! LOL

  4. That is so cute. Those dogs are too funny. Oliver looks like he wants more pets. And the dog on your lap keeps licking you. I don’t know how it is not driving you crazy!

    Have a fantastic birthday.

  5. Happy Birthday, Debby! You give me such inspiration and hope – to know that you lost 100 pounds and have kept them off for five years is freaking amazing!!!

    So much to love about the video – your Christmas corner is great! So cozy – and I get such a warm feeling watching you in the chair with Sophie…she makes me miss my Jackie so much! Love how Oliver is so calm – he just wants to be near his mama! Glad I could inspire you to do some decorating!

    Your salad looks so good and I actually took out my grocery list and wrote all the ingredients on it – can’t wait to have it for dinner next week!

    Hope you have a wonderful birthday and may this be your best year yet!

  6. Happy happy birthday! I just love how Oliver “posed” in profile for a little bit there. What a ham. And all those food pics made me hungry. 🙂

  7. Whew! I’m not the only one who’s late! Hope you’re enjoying a wonderful birthday season! 🙂 I’m glad you’re here and sharing your wisdom and experience through your blog; I’m continually inspired by you. (And love that your doggies are in the videos! Sophie is adorable, and I also noticed Oliver “posing” and showing us his handsome profile.)

    I love apples and cheese, but I hadn’t thought to try them with the laughing cow light cheeses! Probably because I so rarely get the plain ones, I gravitate toward the garlic and herb ones…probably not so good with apples. So I’ll have to get plain next time and save myself some cheese calories. And yum, your Brussels sprouts look so tasty! It’s one of my favorite veggies.

Leave a Reply

