I Tried Something New Today

Okay, confession first.  I have fallen prey to the breakroom again.  And once you start in on those deadly sugar/fat/salt combos called COOKIES, its hard to stop.  No wonder they call those dangerous internet viruses COOKIES.  It all makes me very sympathetic to drug addicts and alcoholics.  I even took that book ‘The End of Overeating’ with me to work to try to ward off the siren call of the breakroom.  I’m disappointed in myself.  But it is what it is. I only have two more days of work before Christmas, and one of those days will be Christmas Eve.   And on my days off I am working extra hard to try to make good food choices, and to continue to exercise.  Exercise reminds me of my goal to be a healthy fit person.

Today I went to a brunch at a friend’s house, and then had a couple of chores to do before going home.  So by the time I got home I was pretty hungry, and not in the mood to spend any time cooking.  I had decided before I got home to try something new.  For quite a while I have been thinking about that ‘raw diet’ thing where they spiralize zucchini and use that instead of pasta.  Part of me just likes the idea of a new toy.  Anyway, I had that good spaghetti sauce in the freezer, and I figured I could try the raw zucchini thing and it would hardly take any time to ‘cook’–just heat up the sauce in the microwave.  I don’t have a spiralizer but I realized I could shred the zucchini the long way on my mandolin, and get the same effect.  I ended up putting the sauce on the zucchini and putting both in the microwave for a little while, so the zucchini was not really raw.

Now.  This is what I recommend.  When you are trying something new, especially something that might not at first be as satisfying as what it is substituting for, you should try it when you are hungry and tired.  Because I took one bite and thought, ‘oh no, that is too VEGETABLY TASTING.  That won’t do at all.  I need to toss it and make some real pasta.’  But because I was hungry and tired, I thought, ‘give it another try.  You won’t have to do any more work, and you will at least be filled.’   And that is exactly what I did.  And sure enough, it tasted good enough.  And if I will eat it a few more times, it will become my new norm.  And pretty soon I will start to CRAVE the zucchini with the spaghetti sauce.  And by the way, that is some darn good spaghetti sauce.  So for a nice plate of spaghetti, only about 135 calories!

I made my second batch of yogurt this morning, and left it to incubate while I was gone, and it came out beautifully.  After my zucchini spaghetti, I got my second wind, and made a batch of blackberry-pear spread, and then made a batch of ‘apple butter’ for the first time.  I looked at some recipes, and called my friend who makes it all the time to get her input.  But basically, it is just apples and spices that I cooked and cooked and cooked.  I mashed it a bit with a potato masher.  So I guess it is not traditional apple butter, but it will be VERY TASTY on top of my oatmeal or yogurt.

All in all, I guess I am doing okay this holiday season.  Its funny that I can control myself at home where there is no one watching me, but I can’t seem to control myself at work.

Hope you all are taking time to enjoy the peace and joy that should surround this time of year.  Remember…Joy to the World.  The Prince of Peace has come.  Peace on Earth, Good will to men.  And all that jazz, as Schroeder would say.

10 thoughts on “I Tried Something New Today

  1. I have the same problem – my eating while at home is great (most of the time) but do struggle when I work – those stupid cookies and crap in our kitchen mess with my mind! You have a great attitude about eating the cookies. It’s over and done with…no use flogging yourself. I do like that you use exercise as a reminder of who you are now – I’ll have to remember that!

    Glad you liked your zucchini spaghetti. I want a mandolin so I can make mounds of it, I love julienned zucchini THAT much!

    • Shelley, I love my mandolin. My BF got it for me. I tried to find a picture of it to link to–it is a simple one that looks like a grater, but my ‘pink-tinged pears’ attest to the fact that it is a LOT sharper! I think it only cost $15.

  2. Usually I am really good about not snacking myself into oblivion at home, or when I’m at work (that’s the good thing about working will guys – they don’t bring food to work to share!), but when I am with my sister…snack foods beware! She is a snacker, and when she’s in a snacking mood I mindlessly snack away with her. Okay, that sounds like I’m making excuses, so I will just say that my resolve goes way down when I see her snacking to her heart’s content! My 12 year old son even noticed the last time we were all together. Someone made the comment about how J and I were nibbling and nibbling and my son said, “yeah, mom only does that when J is around.” That shook me awake immediately! So I’m hoping that now that I’m aware of it, I won’t be so tempted to nosh mindlessly this weekend (because J and I will be together for 3 days!!).

  3. The freshly made, deliciously iced with creamy dark homemade chocolate frosting, moist brownies pan at work yesterday found me. And forced me back for 4-5 total mini slivers of it.

    my bad. :l

  4. Too “vegetably tasting”. That’s not something I’ve ever heard before 🙂 Try “frying” the shredded zucchini next time first. Just in a pan sprayed with Pam. Browning it, like I do shredded butternut squash, takes that watery, “vegetably” taste away and gives it some oomph. Just a thought 🙂

    Only a few more days, babe. And like you said, it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

