Where I Was

No, this is not my look back at where I was a year ago.  Just a post about where I was the past two days.  Before I start, I want to thank all of you for your kind, heartfelt comments about Oliver.  There is something very special about this community of bloggers.  I think it is partly because we are all writers.  And maybe we find it easier to express ourselves in writing, and so share more here than we do ‘in person.’  And so when we have a loss, or a victory, or a tragedy, or a celebration, we get it better than some of our other friends do.  Anyway, thank you again.  Your comments have been REALLY really helpful.

So, before Christmas, I decided to give my mom a special present.  Christmas is always difficult for me to find time to spend separately with mom and dad.  Mom is usually a ‘grinch’ at Christmastime–she used to cheer for the Grinch on the Christmas special–it was part of our tradition.  Anyway, I decided to give her a trip to San Francisco, and it was scheduled for Monday/Tuesday.  I decided not to cancel out, and to just go ahead as planned.  The hotel was paid for and all that.  Overall, it was a successful trip.  But time with my mom is always difficult for me.  She wants things the way she wants them.  And, surprise, I want things the way I want them…the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…

Anyway, here is a little pictorial of what we did and where we went.

Of course, we had to go to a fabric store! This store is very famous, and has FOUR FLOORS of fabric and everything ever associated with fabric.  If you can believe it, I left without buying a thing!  There was just so much to see, and I really didn’t want to spend a lot of money without having something in mind.  So there you go.

Everything was still decorated for Christmas, so it was quite festive.  Macy’s, Neiman’s (which used to be City of Paris when we were kids) and Union Square all looked so pretty.

We checked into our hotel, which was pretty fancy (meaning they charge for everything, including $6 for 15 minutes on the internet…) and then spent some quality time at the bookstore across the street.  I got the new Susan Boyle CD, which from the little bits that I listened to last night seems fantastic, a new ‘cows’ calendar ( I don’t know why I love these cows so much) and of course, the requisite magazine.

Then we ate here.

This was not my choice of restaurants.  I had picked out a fancy foo foo place that served organic, fresh food.  But my mom saw this place and it brought back good memories for her, so we went there.  Well, it saved me a few bucks anyways.

The next morning, we had some extra time before the Asian Art Museum opened (sorry no pics, couldn’t figure out how to turn my flash off…) and I really wanted to exercise.  They had an excellent fitness room in the hotel, and I had it all to myself!  I got a really good workout in, between the free weights, the treadmill, and the exercise bike.  Oh, and they even had a ball that I used for some back stretches and crunches.  Excellent!  I probably wouldn’t have been as adventurous if anybody else had been there.  Maybe I’ll get over my ‘exercise shyness’ someday.  Oh yeah, I had stuck my pedometer in my pocket, and I got in 2.5 miles the first day, and 4.5 miles the next!

I had packed a bunch of snack stuff that didn’t require refrigeration, and all of it came in pretty handy.  In the morning, I walked across the street to the Walgreen’s and bought a couple of yogurts, and served them with the muesli that I had brought along!  I even remembered two plastic spoons.  It really doesn’t take much time or planning to bring healthy food along on a trip once you get into the habit of it.

Across from the museum is the opera house, which I think is really beautiful.

And that was the end of our trip to San Francisco.  It is funny now, but it wasn’t at the time.  I had also planned on eating lunch (and dessert) at a place called Citizen Cake. I saw this place years ago on Martha Stewart, and then I saw it again a few years ago when we took my niece to the opera.  I REALLY really wanted to eat at this place.  At the same time a tiny part of me was thinking, you are really done with the high sugar stuff.  But I was determined to go there.  So when my mom said it was too far to walk, I was VERY disappointed.

Before I took my mom home we ate at a little Chinese restaurant that she likes (only so-so.)  I did pretty good with my choices–green beans and chicken.  All the way home, I thought about all the places I could stop to get a really good dessert since I didn’t get to go to Citizen Cake.  I finally decided that I could eat all three of the chocolate nibby cookies that Vicky puts in a package, and it still would be 1/4 of the calories in one rich chocolate dessert, would be more satisfying, and I would not have the problem of the TOO MUCH SUGAR thing going on again.  I brewed some of my really good coffee, and thoroughly enjoyed my treat, sans guilt, while I looked at dogs on Petfinder again…

9 thoughts on “Where I Was

  1. Great photos! I love to travel and had a trip to New York planned for the day after Christmas. It’s been put on hold because of a family illness. We’re hoping to get up there in late February.

  2. Love the photos – that check jacket is very cute, too! Are you sure you weren’t in NYC? Cause it looks like it LOL

    That Citizen Cake incident is funny. I get that way, too, when I really want something and I get stopped from having it. Good for you on saving the calories. I probably would have laced up my running shoes and gone there by myself 😀

    Not sure if you ever look at Craig’s list for pets, but there are a lot of people trying to rehome there.

  3. Dangit! If I had known you were going to Macy’s I would have given you the hideous shirt my MIL gave me for Christmas so you could return it for me!! 🙂

    Sounds like a pretty fun trip! I sense some tension in the mom area, but I think it was nice of you to try! Great pics btw – you look really good!

    Let us know if you find another goggie!

  4. How sweet of you to take your mom on a S.F. trip! I’ve heard of that Britex place, and Union Square is lovely during the holidays. I’ve always wanted to see ballet at the Opera House, but it’s pricey, so I think we’ll be putting that off for awhile. Re: Citizen Cake, read some of the Yelp! reviews, and maybe that will reduce the sting. 😉 But I know what you mean about being denied something you’ve got your heart set on, food-wise…I still am a bit, but luckily that’s channeled away from desserts. Mostly.

  5. Just found your blog..love it! Congrats on your weight loss. Girl, we must be kindred spirits..BRITEX!!! A few years ago I went to San Francisco all the way from New Hampshire to spend a week sewing with Sandra Betzina and I visited that store several times along with some other amazing fabric stores in SF. I was in fabric heaven! I love to sew, quilt and am a machine embroidery digitizer.

    Sounds like you had a wonderful trip!

  6. WOW on the store’s Christmas decorations! We have such a tiny, crappy Macy’s that I forget how fabulous a good one is. Sorry you didn’t get your yummy dessert – I would have been more pissy about it, but you handled it very well.

  7. Love seeing you in theh pics – you look great! Glad you made the effort to spend time with your mom.

    Great new blog design too!

Leave a Reply

