Here’s to a NORMAL New Year!

I’ve been thinking about that phrase ‘Back to Normal’ ever since Lori wrote her post the day after Christmas.  I JUST LOVE IT!  Almost gone is the anxiety that ‘it could all disappear,’ or ‘I might revert to my old habits,’ or ‘I might regain it all plus some.’  It feels so good to have some confidence that I can continue to live this way.  This way that is relatively pain free, and full of more energy than I’ve had in years.  I smile so much more (which I used to resent people saying) and I think its just because everything doesn’t hurt.  Today I did a boatload of laundry (my favorite chore) and I was thinking about how much I liked it and how I used to hate it.  And I realized it was because I could get those clothes out of the dryer and get them folded before they got wrinkled and the whole time I was standing and MY BACK DIDN’T HURT.

I have been thinking for a couple of days about what I should post for this last day of the year.  So many have done great reviews of their past year, and goals for the new year.  I just didn’t have it in me to put that much work into it.  But what I am looking forward to is this ‘new normal.’  Where I plan exercise into the days because I want to.  Where I can go out to eat with friends without agonizing over my choices.  Where I can choose NOT to go out to eat because I’d just rather have something healthier and tastier at home.  Where I can walk into just about any store and find something cute to wear.  Where I choose to drink water instead of diet coke most times just because I WANT water.  I like the way it makes me feel.  Where I can know with certainty that there will be days that I overeat and/or make poor choices and then go right back to NORMAL the next hour or the next day.

I do have a couple of non-weight related goals for the next year.  Actually for the next week, if I don’t run out of time.  I have been toying with the idea of starting an online Christian spiritual formation group for mutual accountability and encouragement in our spiritual walks, and I want to work on getting that set up and going.  And, I want to list a few of my quilts on Etsy and see what happens.  Both of these things are new territory for me, and so I have been procrastinating like crazy over them.  Maybe putting them down in writing will be the push I need.

Here is the start of two little quilts that I have been working on the last two days.  Just a collection of hand-painted fabric scraps that I had bought. The first one will have a lot more threadwork, and maybe more patches or embellishment added.  The second one will have little odd-shaped squares hand sewn on in a haphazard way.  I have seen two aerial views of slums recently that were quite beautiful, and I want to recreate that.

Tomorrow I just might be going to look at a new puppy!!  You guys will be the first to know if anything happens.

This blog world has been a wonderful blessing in my life this year.  I am grateful for each and every one of you.  You have inspired me, encouraged me, given good suggestions and insights, and most of all, you have been FUN!  I look forward to another year of deepening friendships among the fit and healthy!

9 thoughts on “Here’s to a NORMAL New Year!

  1. I love that quilt. Go for the selling, you never know where it will take you!

    I’m learning like you that maybe we can do this without fear. It’s like free falling. There was always the weight loss and losing weight for years, and now that is almost finished, it is a totally different thing going in our minds, don’t you think?

  2. Hi Debby,

    Wonderful post about enjoying the new normal. I look forward to having that confidence about knowing I can sustain my lifestyle because it’s become deeply ingrained and satisfying. You said it very well.

    I love the quilts also, and find your inspiration of the aerial view of slums interesting. When we flew into the Dominican Republic back in November, the rooftops absolutely captivated me – many are made of zinc because it’s an available resource. After a time, the zinc rusts, so the aerial view reveals a panorama of totally rusted rooves (roofs?), some partially rusted and partially oxidizing metal, and of course concrete and tile ones as well. Between the rooftops are bursts of palm fronds and giant plaintain leaves. The vision of that has stayed in my minds eye, and was refocused from your quilts.

    Happy New Year!

  3. You can’t start selling quilts on Etsy because that will negatively impact my goal of getting my finances in order!!

    I’m kidding – I think that is a brilliant idea! And I really like your idea of the spiritual accountability group – you’re so ambitious!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Debby, that quilt is beautiful! I love your use of color. Awesome! I say go for Etsy! I love Etsy. I got some custom boutique Disney dresses for my little girl there over the summer.

    I also wanted to say that if you decide to set up a Christian spiritual formation group online, I would be very interested in joining, although I still think I need to seek out a home church and get connected. I’m online ALL the time as my business is online, so something like that would work well for me!

    Did you visit any puppies today??? huh huh huh?

Leave a Reply

