I’m in Love

Its been quite an adventurous twenty-four hours!  Well, actually, its been quite a week, as you all know.  I hope you don’t think me fickle.  I miss Oliver still.  I think of him as a treasure that I only got to enjoy for a short time, if that makes sense.  At first I didn’t think I would get another dog right away, but living alone, I do feel safer having a big dog in the house.

So yesterday, I was thinking I would go check out the dogs at the local humane society (to break the evil spell of ‘looking at dogs on the internet.’)  And get a frozen yogurt and a couple of other little treats for the new year.  I know.  I’m a BIG party-er.  Well, first of all I called, and the humane society was closed.  Oh, well, I’ll get a copy of the local ‘Buy and Sell’ and see if there’s anything interesting in there.  To make a long story short, I LEFT MY PURSE AT HOME.  I never do that.  Its Sophie’s fault.  So the ONLY thing i could do was to get a copy of the Buy and Sell, which was free.

(BTW, since I didn’t get my frozen yogurt, I came up with a fabulous substitute!  Using Dietgirl’s idea, I blended some of that ‘frozen yogurt’ that didn’t turn out right with some frozen strawberries.  And topped it with a few chocolate chips, walnuts, and one crumbled cookie from the same recipe that didn’t turn out the way I wanted.  F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S.)

Back to my story.  After looking at THOUSANDS of dogs on the internet, there, in my own local paper, were 4 ads that definitely interested me.  I looked them over, and decided that I would actually like to go with the mixed breed dog, because of that hybrid vigor that I talked about. [Oh, I guess I didn’t talk about hybrid vigor with you.  Some folks think that when there is a complete outcross (like two different breeds,) the resulting animals are much healthier.]  So, even though it was New Year’s Eve, I decided to call.  The lady was very friendly, and said she wasn’t doing anything on New Years Day and I could come on out.

Well, what an adventure.  They have a real farm with lots of animals, and like a real farm in wet weather, it was pretty darn muddy.  To be honest, I almost turned around when I got there.  But so glad I didn’t.  As soon as the puppies came under the fence to see me, I knew I had found the right puppies.  I decided to take Buddy* because he was a little less ‘demanding’ than the girls.  And very beautiful, as you can see.  He is 1/4 Anatolian Shepherd and 3/4 Great Pyrenees.

After I made my decision, the lady invited me into her house.  All the flooring was in large tiles.  I LOVED it.  I have been thinking that this is the way for me to go (not that I have a problem with housebreaking dogs or anything) but this is the first time I have seen it.  And it looked very nice and homey, not cold at all.  We had such an interesting talk, and at some point she mentioned her cows and milk, and I said, DO YOU SELL RAW MILK?  (Did I tell you that I wanted to try this?)  Anyway, the way they do it to be legal is that you buy a ‘share’ of the animal, and then you can get the animal’s products legally.  She brought in some yogurt for me to try and it was UNBELIEVABLE.  Of course, it was made with whole milk.  But it was thick and creamy and not tart at all.  Then she brought in some homemade wild blackberry jam and shared that with me too.  Oh brother.

So, back to home to get that farm smell off of me and Buddy.  The introductions between Sophie and Buddy were the simplest doggie intros I have ever done.  I think I am finally starting to get the hang of the ‘calm assertive’ attitude that Cesar has been trying to teach me for so long.

I will try really hard not to turn this into the Buddy and Sophie blog.  But….squeeeee!!!!  I am so happy right now.

[I decided on the name Buddy just because, well, I like that name.  That’s what I called Oliver more often than not.]

On the food/exercise front.  I am so happy that on the way home with Buddy I stopped at the gym to get in a good workout.  And yesterday me and Sophie got in a real good run/walk.  (Run when I got my way, walk when Sophie got her way.)  Food choices have been great the past few days.  I’ve had some treats, so I still felt like I was celebrating, but they have been healthy, low or non-sugar types, .  At the gym today I tried the plie squats that Miz had demonstrated, and I really like them.  And I have to say, I liked the way my legs looked while I was doing them.  Somehow at that angle they looked leaner, and you didn’t see all the lumps and bumps…

And how much do I love it that he falls asleep underneath my ‘blogging chair?’

(included to keep Sophie from getting jealous.)  And never fear.  Sophie will continue to be the queen bee spoiled wench that she has always been.

13 thoughts on “I’m in Love

  1. SQUEEEE!!!! I’m so happy for you! 🙂 Buddy is a beautiful puppy! I look forward to hearing more about how he grows and adjusts to his new pack. My daughter likes him, too.

  2. Buddy! I love the name, and my gosh is he ever cute! Glad that you found a new friend AND that Sophie likes him! Please keep posting pics of your dogs – I love seeing them! Happy New Year, Debby!

  3. Oh Debby – he is the cutest thing ever! I just want to pick him up and bury my face in that fur!

    And tile, wood, or laminate floors are the way to go with pets. We did one floor in our house and the downstairs is next!

  4. I love him I love him I love him! Oh, and I love Cesar – we keep trying to use his techniques on our kids but so far it hasn’t worked.Don’t know why. 😉

    I have to say, Sophie doesn’t look convinced! Are they getting along okay? It’s probably a good thing that she wasn’t the only child for very long – she would have been VERY resentful if she got used to getting you all to herself and then you brought in a new kid!

    And just for the record, I totally wouldn’t mind seeing Buddy and Sophie on your blog everyday! Makes me feel like I need to put Shasta (my black Lab) on mine!

    Have a great day with your new baby!! 🙂

  5. Loved the quilt pictures in the post before this one! I do love hand dyed fabrics.

    Congrats on the new dog!

    and how to you handle the dogs training/potty/in general when you are gone on work days? Or when you travel? You may have said before and I just missed it.

    We never mind the dog pics – keep them coming! It snows a little here every day – but not much accumulation yet – under 4″ total.

  6. Oh my, oh my: Buddy is so cute! What a great dog. I’m happy for you Debby that you found Buddy. What a great way to start a new year.

    Happy new year!

  7. Oh, he’s lovely. Makes me want to cuddle up with him. We don’t have a dog but ‘borrow’ the neighbor’s dog Grace occasionally. Everytime I drive by their place, I stop to talk with her (Mr. Neighbor sometimes gets a little irritated that I stop to talk with Grace more than him!).

    Loved your hand-dyed quilt projects. I need to try something more artsy-fartsy and outside my comfort zone. Or at least pull out my fabric dyes and do some more playing. I have an old satin wedding dress that I am thinking to fabric paint/dye and then make into meditation eye bags and/or jewelry bags.

  8. Hi, I´m from Brazil, and I was looking for some american blogs because I really want to read more english stories to improve my english! I loved the storie, because I LOVE DOGS….they are so CUTE, regards from “BRASIL”, Lívia

Leave a Reply

