Food

Ha–I’ll bet you were really surprised to check out Debby’s blog and find a post about food!  (I need to figure out how to put some of those funny faces on here that Lori uses.)

Anyways, I was just settling down to watch the movie Julie and Julia–already watched the special feature about the making of the movie–and I thought, I need to write a blog post about food.  As you all know, I have eaten a bit too much this week.  It has gotten better the past two days at work, actually, and today was a stellar day.  But there were some times in there where I really was worried that I was sliding down a very slippery slope.  I wanted to eat everything.  I didn’t particularly care if it was ‘worthy.’  On the one hand, I was upset because I knew I would gain weight, and on the other hand, I just didn’t care.  I KNOW.  It was very close.  I thought today was going to be another bad one.  But somewhere in the middle of the day, something changed.  I’m not sure what it was.  I did go to the gym after church and had a short, but intense workout.  And I had picked up one of Vicky’s excellent small meals.  At the last minute, I decided to warm it up in the microwave in the gym and eat it on the way home so I wouldn’t have to waste time cooking when I got home.  And her food is small, but very satisfying.

I started working on some quilting stuff when I got home.  Sometimes I forget about food when I am quilting (not all the time, unfortunately.  If that worked all the time I would weigh 100 pounds!)  So whatever caused the ‘click,’ I am relieved and happy about that.  Tomorrow will be my workout with Vicky, and then meeting my sister in Stockton for lunch.  I have already pre-planned what I am going to eat, so that will be okay.  And then my four week food plan with Vicky starts.  It was important to me that I had a good day on my own before being ‘forced’ to control my food choices.

Other food topics of interest.  I watched Food Inc. last week.  Very sobering views of food.  Reminded me again that I want to buy meat that is free range, grass fed–whatever I can do to make sure the animals have been treated kindly during their life.  Old habits die hard, though.  I still buy food that is a bargain at the store without thinking about where it came from.

I also read a book a while ago that I never mentioned.  This guy lost a LOT of weight eating whole local farm-fresh foods, and he did not particularly limit his fat intake.  He is where I got the idea of buying and using raw milk to make my homemade yogurt.  And interestingly enough, I first read about him on Polyface Farm’s website.  I don’t know how I first happened on their website, but they are prominently featured in the movie Food, Inc.

Back to Julie and Julia, Meryl Streep mentioned that she gained 15 pounds making the movie, and it took her a year and a half to get it off.  That made me feel good, for some reason.  And watching this movie does not particularly make me want to eat too much or the wrong food.  A movie like this just motivates me to live my best life, and to be passionate about what I am doing.  It makes me want to quilt beautiful quilts, and work out more, and travel!  Oh, and to write a better blog.  Check back tomorrow–I’ll try to do better…

5 thoughts on “Food

  1. I confess I buy cheap meat for my husband sometimes, too, forgetting my commitment to buying free-range. I do the same thingi with organic veggies. Old habits, as you said. But awareness takes time. At least we’re mindful of our habit, right?

    As for writing a better blog, while I appreciate your commitment to giving things your all, you do write a very good blog already. I heart it and you!

  2. You might enjoy a new book coming out titled The Butcher and the Vegetarian by Tara Austen Weaver. The author, raised vegetarian, is advised by a doctor to eat a little meat for her health’s sake. This is her story — very funny! — of dancing with the devil. She has some good chapters on why it’s smart to avoid cheap meat.

  3. There is another great book I have been reading called the Compassionate Carnivore. I eat meat and don’t really feel bad about it, but I do try to make sure that the animals that I do eat were treated with respect and that I don’t ever waste meat.

    There are times when I know that I will gain weight and I don’t care either, *but* I am at that point where I know it will come off again and don’t sweat too much about it. (case in point of post cruise LOL).

  4. “A movie like this just motivates me to live my best life, and to be passionate about what I am doing.”

    The best words I’ve read lately. Isn’t living your best life and doing what you are passionate about simply the best way to spend each day?

    And, I’m with you…..I don’t know what it is about the ‘click’ or the ‘switch’ but when it’s in the OFF position – it scares the heck out of me.

Leave a Reply

