Crazy Day

Okay.  First off, DARN IT!!!  I didn’t have my camera with me this morning.  Because I got up bright and early,  (only it wasn’t very bright yet) and let the little guys out first thing  and thought, what’s that on the ground?  SNOW????  Yep, it snowed during the night, and it continued to snow for a couple of hours.  On the day that I was FINALLY going to go visit my dad.  Our plans had gotten mucked up a couple of times.

Anyway, after a couple of hours it started warming up and the snow started melting so I felt safe to go ahead and drive on down.  Before I left I took Noah out for a walk.  That boy LOVES the snow!  Its really fun to watch him.  I thought my hands were going to fall off from frostbite though.  Does anybody else that has lost a lot of weight have perennially cold hands?  I am almost used to it, but it really bugs me sometimes.

It was a gorgeous drive across the state.  Sometimes it seems weird to me that we are so mobile in current times.  In the olden days no one would have thought of driving from the eastern side of California to the Pacific Ocean and back in one day.  Well, I don’t do it too often.  But overall it is easier than packing an overnight bag and all the other stuff I would need to bring and making arrangements for the dogs, etc.

Okay, here’s the only interesting thing to tell you.  My dad and I went out for dinner, and after looking the menu over carefully, looking at all the choices they had, and then checking the nutritionals in the back of the menu (love it when these are included,) we decided to share a cup of soup and an appetizer.  SCORE!!!  It was just the right size meal, really.  I kept thinking about the posts I have written in the past despairing of ever being able to make good choices at restaurants, and Miz telling me it was more about someone else preparing the food, and Vicky mentioning eating an appetizer as a main dish.  I’m telling you, it felt so good to make that choice, and to have that be the food that I actually wanted, not that I was giving up what I really wanted and just making do.  It was just the right amount of food, and we went back to Dad’s apartment and had a delicious bowl of strawberries with some homemade greek yogurt topping.

Back in the car for the drive over the hills and through the valley and on up into the mountains to home sweet home.  I’m off to my own lovely bed.  Goodnight all!

7 thoughts on “Crazy Day

  1. Yes, I suffer from cold hands and feet. All the time. I never attributed it to weight loss, always something more sinister, so maybe I’ll just change that tune.

    It does feel like such a score when you can leave a restaurant feeling good about the choices. I’m not perfect at it, but it sounds like you were this time. I’ve got to try making homemade yogurt. I’m very, very late to that whole craze, but I’m loving it.

    Have a wonderful day! Glad Noah got to enjoy the snow.

  2. yes, hands and feet are always an issue. I use a foot warmer (sticks on the bottom of your sock) if I am going to be immobile for a good part of the day (driving long distance, going to see a play or movie). I have cherry pit (like a rice bag, only cherry pits which hold the heat better) that I use at night when I am winding down for the day. It greatly helps with my sleep (cold feet were a real issue in past sleep problems). Fleece sheets also made a huge difference. But starting the night with WARM feet is a biggie.

    The rest of me (freezing) is sometimes an issue – the days I exercise I am better/warmer than days ‘off’. Definite difference.

  3. I’m definitely feeling the cold after losing 100 lbs–feet and hands. I love cold weather and used to run around without a coat or gloves. Now I’m wrapped in fleece most of the winter. I bought several pairs of those cheapie $1 gloves and wear those when I walk the dogs..When It’s really cold I double glove. I’m sitting here with it at 63 degrees out with a fleece sweatshirt on and a robe over my legs. brrrr

  4. My husband just can’t understand why my feet are ALWAYS cold. I don’t understand it either, I just usually wear socks to bed. Works for me! I have a cheap pair of gloves that I cut the fingertips out of so I can wear them when I’m typing at work. Works great!

    I can just imagine Noah in the snow! How fun!! 🙂

  5. Great job on the choice!

    My hands get cold sometimes, although my husband often refers to them as the ‘icy cold hands of death,’ particularly if I stick them down his shirt 😛

    I find what is worse for me is just whole body chill when it is cold and damp. I cannot get warm on those days.

  6. I have problems in the winter with chronically cold feet – they turn yellow! Wool socks (instead of cotton or rayon) make a BIG difference. And my doctor told me to take a baby aspirin on very cold days to thin my blood (thin blood being easier to get to extremities).

  7. I’m always cold – flannel sheets were my lifesaver this winter – that, along with wool socks, a long-sleeved t-shirt, full on pajamas and a polar fleece pullover. Yes, my husband was thrilled – but hey, I was finally warm!

    At first I though your snow was an April Fool’s joke, but reading about how Noah enjoyed it made a believer out of me.

Leave a Reply

