Happy Saturday

Golly, I’m so cheerful its sickening!  Today was another 6 hour shift, and I do love these days.  I get up 2 hours later than my normal days, and I get done with work in plenty of time to do a bit of shopping if need be, get in a nice walk with Noah, and then cook a good dinner, and eat while reading my favorite blogs.  And then I still have enough energy to write a blog post.  As compared to the 12 hour shifts, where I get up at 4 am, and arrive home at 9pm feeling sad, depressed, and exhausted.  Okay, I know I sound like a broken record about this.

Anyway, today was a good day.  My sewing machine needed to go in for some repair work, and since the repair place is in Sacramento where I work, the 6 hour days are the perfect opportunity to drop it off and pick it up.  Most sewing machine repair guys are pretty gruff, and this guy was no exception, but as I talked with him about what was wrong, and asked a few questions, he started to lighten up, and was nice enough to give me a lesson in sewing machine maintenance so, in his words, I ‘wouldn’t have to pay $85.00 to have it fixed up.’  Sweet, huh?  I will be so glad to have it back though.  I have a little old-fashioned sewing machine (Singer Featherweight) that actually works great, but it ONLY does straight stitch.  In the meantime I am doing some hand sewing which I actually enjoy very much.

Okay, the only real thing I wanted to write about tonight was another new and very tasty recipe that I tried–Sweet and Spicy Garlic Green Beans.  Found it over on this gal’s blog when she commented on my IE posts.  The flavor combo was absolutely delicious.  You could vary it a couple of different ways–add a little sesame oil for a more asian flavor.  You could also cut the oil and butter in half and I think it would be fine.  Quite decadent this way though.  Again with the no pictures.  Sorry bout that.  I have leftovers of the fried rice and the green beans so maybe I’ll get some pictures yet.

I was going to have some custard oats for dessert, but I was too full (paying attention to my hunger!)  I have a new idea to try, so I’ll have them for breakfast tomorrow.  Its pretty simple really, but it just came to me that I love that flavor combo from my Sugar and Spice Zucchini Bread recipe (that I never make any more…)  So I am going to add lemon zest, cinnamon, and nutmeg to my custard oats tomorrow morning.  I even read on some blog that they added shredded zucchini to their oatmeal to make it like Zucchini bread or cake.  I would try that but I don’t have a zucchini.  Good way to get veggies in at breakfast though.

11 thoughts on “Happy Saturday

  1. Shredded zuccini in oatmeal? That is probably the most genius oatmeal idea I’ve heard since nut butter in oatmeal! You’ve got me excited to try it. Especially since I’m always looking for healthy, lower carb ways to bulk up my bowl (I usually cook equal parts oats and milled flax seed when I do oatmeal.)

    Glad you had a great day!!!

  2. Zucchini in oats sounds intriguing…. I’ve been wondering about mashing up cooked carrots and putting them in oats as well. Kind of a carrot cake oatmeal, if you will. Now I have my thinking cap on!

    I have to so agree with you about the shorter work days. Those days where I finish up in 6 hours are perfect because it is just that little extra time left over so you don’t have to feel so rushed or pressured.

    • Oh yumm!!! Carrot cake oats. That will be my next experiment–gotta add shredded carrots, crushed pineapple, and walnuts to it. Oh, and top with some type of cream cheese thingy–maybe laughing cow? Haha–by the time we get done embellishing our oats, the calorie count is close to the cake. But its more nutritious, right?

  3. I just figured out (two weeks ago, after all this time!) that I can make my egg white omelet in one pan and then make veggies in another pan and then put the veggies ON the omelet rather than IN the omelet. IN just never worked well.

    So every day I am getting
    spinach or asparagus
    and onion, mushrooms, roma tomato.

    REALLY helps up my veggie intake for the day.

    Zucchini is a good idea!!!

    • YUMM YUMM! Your omlette is making my mouth water. But I will probably have it for dinner or lunch. Can’t seem to make myself eat eggs in the morning.

  4. Isn’t it amazing what working a shorter day can do for your spirits? I know I’m late in commenting, but just wanted to say that I know how you feel, and I’m glad you had such a great day!

Leave a Reply

