Zucchini + Oats = Winner!

Well, I did it.  And doggoned if I didn’t forget to take a picture.  AGAIN.  But here’s a visual for you.  Picture a BIG bowl of oatmeal with a browner than usual tinge, and little green flecks throughout, interspersed with the occasional yellow fleck.  This was a nummy and nutritious bowl of oatmeal, full of good-for-you foods, and guaranteed to keep you full for quite a while.

The idea did come from Christie, who was the originator of the green bean recipe that I shared yesterday.  (BTW check out her no-bake cookie oatmeal recipe–I am going to try that tomorrow morning.)  And she mentioned that the zucchini was crunchy, which did not appeal to me, so I made a plan to eliminate that.  After all, in zucchini bread or zucchini cake, it is not crunchy.

A couple of thoughts on this recipe.

  • The zucchini does add a liquid component, so you could probably start with a little less water.  Adding the zucchini halfway through the cooking process cooked them just right–still a nice texture, but not crunchy.  I am discovering that I am all about the texture in foods.
  • And I chickened out and added half the usual amount of egg whites that I usually add for the custard oats.  I think I would have liked it fine with the whole amount.
  • This recipe did make a large volume.  I think I would have been satisfied having 1/3 of the recipe instead of 1/2–I had them for dinner with an artichoke and I was quite full.
  • I might add more spice to it next time.
  • And of course if you are not a splenda lover, use your sweetener of choice.  Maple syrup might add to it.
  • When I used to eat that zucchini bread, I would spray it with a little butter spray–I did this on top of the oats and it was yummy.
  • I guess my main thought was that it was a little labor-intensive–more work than my standard custard oats, which I LOVE, so not sure I would do it that often.  But it is a very nice way to get some veggies in at breakfast time.  If that’s what you want to do.

ZUCCHINI CUSTARD OATS

2 cups water

1/2 cup of mostly irish oats, just a little quinoa

1 small zucchini, grated with a mandolin.  (if you grate with a regular grater, it is much more liquidy, so you could just drain it, or put on a paper towel for a bit.)

zest of one lemon

1/4 cup egg whites (could use 1/2 cup)

Put these dry ingredients in one container to be added at the same time:

2 Tbsp flaxseed meal

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 Tbsp splenda

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Cook irish oats/quinoa as usual.  After 15 minutes at a simmer, add the zucchini/lemon zest and continue to cook 10-15 minutes.  Add the dry ingredients and mix well.  Add the egg whites slowly, stirring the whole time, and continue to cook about 2 minutes.

Makes 2 servings, 300 calories each.  (or 3 servings, 200 calories each.)

A BIG congratulations to my friend, Shelley, who just completed her first duathlon!  I am amazed at her running progress in such a very short time.

Have a good Monday, everyone.  It is raining again today, and is predicted all day.  That means two walks in the rain with Noah.  Hopefully there will be a couple of breaks in the rain that I can take advantage of.  Its a major cleaning day around here.  My best friend is coming to visit next week!

Morning shot:  Sophie and Mr. Monk are very tired of my blogging activity and are competing for my attention.

5 thoughts on “Zucchini + Oats = Winner!

  1. Mmmm, that sounds yummy! I just bought some steel cut oats recently…now just need to get a zuccini and a lemon!

    How cute are those two?!? Mr. Monk looks pretty darn cheerful, there!

Leave a Reply

