Good morning. For real.

Good morning.  Although by the time I actually get this video loaded, it might be evening!

Here is the award I got from Jill:

And just like all awards, there are strings attached. Here be the strings:

1. Get really excited that you got the coolest award EVER!
2. Choose ONE of the following options of accepting the OMB award:
(a) Get really drunk and blog for 15 minutes straight, or for as long as you can focus.
(b) Write about your most embarrassing moment.
(c) Write a “Soundtrack of your childhood” post.
(d) Make your next blog a ‘vlog’/video blog. Basically, you’re talking to the camera about whatever.
(e) Take a picture of yourself first thing in the morning, before you do anything else (hair, make up, etc)and post it.
3. Pass the award on to at least three, but preferably more, awesome bloggers as yourself. Don’t forget to tell them.

I think I will pass this award on to these three lucky bloggers:

  1. Pubsgal.  Because she is one of the cleverest writers around, and if I can get her to write a little more, that is a good thing.
  2. Jane.  Because she is just starting out blogging, but I like her already.
  3. Shelley and Lori.  Because they are my fellow travelers on the short, fit, food-loving, 100 pound weight loss journey!

Here are a few of the links I mentioned:

    Disclaimer:  I do not look nearly as old in person as I look on the video.  I’ve heard that home videos add 10 years to the person’s actual age.  And I am sticking by that story.  Also, does anybody know how to edit videos so you don’t get that horrible picture of me plopping into my chair at the beginning of the video?  There is a place to edit on my flip video thingy but I can’t seem to get it to work.  Also, the whole co-dependent relationship between me and Sophie–her licking me, and me constantly stroking her–a little embarrassing.  I am not even aware at the time that this is happening…

    Food plan for the day (since I am having trouble eating a little too much, thought I’d be accountable):

    • Banana custard oats.  Done.
    • Snack:  Chile Reyeno Casserole (egg dish)
    • Lunch:  Edemame Tofu salad
    • Snack:  New ‘raw vegan protein bar recipe’ I tried.  Of course I adjusted the recipe a tiny bit.  And also I forgot the mashed banana.  Youza, the dough on these was good.  But a little ‘pricy’ at 185 calories per bar if I divide the recipe into 15 servings.
    • Dinner:  Some kind of green salad  (which I really wanted when I first wrote this, but now it is cold and rainy, so this option might change.)

    New shortened recipe idea:  The other day I was quite intrigued with Christie’s homemade fish taco recipe.  Last night I was in the mood for fish, but no tacos on hand.  I just grilled a couple of small red snapper fillets on med-high heat in a pan sprayed with pam, squeezed lime juice over them when they were done, and topped with some store-bought peach-mango salsa.  Quite delicious, and very satisfying with a side of veggies.

    10 thoughts on “Good morning. For real.

    1. Love seeing Sophie leap into your lap as soon as you sit down! (In fact, I had to rewind the video just to see her do it again…so cute!) “Who are you talking to, Mom?” – love it when they look up at you, kinda confused, but paying attention nonetheless!

      You don’t look old at all in the video! I admire you for doing the vlogs – luckily I don’t have a video camera or that would be one more thing for me to have angst over, lol!

      Congrats on your new daughter! I swear, this is the way to have kids!

      Thank you for the award…but you may be sorry when you see my first thing in the morning look!

    2. Awww, that’s why you’re my bloggie friend. I don’t feel old at all. Well, except for my back. And sometimes my knees… I was thinking about what I would write to Shanza, and I thought, well, I could tell her I’m old enough to be her grandmother, but then I’d have to tell her I don’t think I’m that old at all. It seems inconceivable to me. Even though all of my friends are happily ensconced in grandmotherdom.

    3. Thanks for the video. That was so cool. I am not going there. Get growled at for spending too much time on my computer as it is and it would take me forever to set something like that up. You are very clever.

      I finally have my photos of Sutters Creek, taken last June, on my computer but I seem to have messed up a lot of settings, not sure what I did, so can’t post them yet.

    4. Loved your vlog today! And congrats on your sponsoring the kids; that is so cool for all of you! And Lori did what I just did, looked up Tanzania on the map. 🙂

      Aw, thanks, Debbie! While option 2A sounds tempting, I’ll probably go with something a little tamer, like my most embarrassing moment. Or perhaps if I combine ALL of the #2 options, it would result in a *new* most embarrassing moment. Nah, I don’t think I’ll be going there….

    5. I loved your video, Debby! You are as nice as I thought you would be, and it’s obvious that Sophie loves you dearly! I am also lucky enough to have a Sophie who is an adorable, attention seeking Cairn Terrier.

      Gosh, Debby, I don’t know what to say about the award. What a nice gesture, but I will have to think about what to do. At least you have given us lots of choices. By the way, your quilt is beautiful!

      • Oh, Cairn Terriers are so cute! Put some pictures of her on your blog! Thanks for the compliment on the quilt. Are you a quilter?

    6. How cool and brave to do a video post. I’ve been wanting to do one for a long while but like you said I always come up with some excuse that I don’t look good or I don’t have time (that one’s a reality). Maybe someday I’ll get around to it. You did great and seemed very comfortable and relaxed on camera. Oh and I love Sophie. It was so cute how excited she was to jump up on your lap.

    Leave a Reply

    