Ten Things I Love

Hello all!  Again, thank you all so much for your kind comments.  It sure is good to have pals all over the country!

Today I am just going to show some photos that have been adding up.  Maybe I will combine these photos with another blog award I got from PJ.  Thank you for the award, PJ!  I’m supposed to share 10 things I love. Let’s see if the photos can fit the bill!

1.  The  blog award qualifies for one thing I LOVE–Color!

2. How could I not love this guy?

3. God’s creation: a perfect bouquet in the middle of nowhere:

4. Ooh, this next one is a strange one, but I love it!   When I was at my heaviest, you could not see any veins in my hands or my arms.  If I had to get blood drawn, there was one tiny vein in my hand that I would always instruct them to use, because if they tried for a vein in my arm, they NEVER got it.  When I started to lose weight, the veins started to appear.  Now, they look gigantic.  I like to think it is because I am lifting weights and exercising in general.  But it could possibly be because I am getting older.  (I actually used to have nightmares about an old lady with big veins chasing me everywhere…) Anyway, I get a kick out of the the veins in my hand and arm.  No more worries about a difficult blood draw!

Okay, this next picture doesn’t count as something I love.  It is a set-up for the next picture.  On Friday I took my dad out for Father’s day.  We went to Coyote Point (was that a recommendation I read on your blog, Pubsgal?)  It was a delightful day.  Mostly it was geared toward educating kids.  But my dad really enjoyed it.  We watched the bobcat feeding.

I told Dad he was the oldest kid there.

5.  I love my Dad!

6.  I love  nature, I love waterfalls, and I love my little ‘private’ waterfall.

7.  Oh, y’all knew this one was coming.  I LOVE food!

That delicious balsamic honey chicken on my simple salad, with a side of ripe cherries!

Tonight's dinner: brussel sprouts with a sprinkle of walnuts, cranberries, and bacon. Yumm!

Tonight's dessert--that lovely concoction of my homemade greek yogurt, muesli, and chocolate chips.

Ruh Roh.  Ran out of pictures before I named 10 things I love.   Gotta dig into the archives.

8.  I love Tofini  (don’t ask me how I come up with these nicknames.)

9.  I love Monkey Man.

10.  And of course, I love quilting!

Well, again it is late, and I must bid you a fond adieu!  And again  I have more to say.  Come back tomorrow for my musings on ‘The Journey.’

13 thoughts on “Ten Things I Love

  1. Hello 🙂 I’m glad to have found your blog. I love nature and food too! I like your list of ten things. I’m hiking my way to fitness and am planning to try some of your great recipes out.

  2. Oooohhhh, I love my Daddy, too. You are so blessed. My dad died in 2004, and I miss him so much. Treasure these days! And I love quilts and have a deep need to quilt. But I don’t know how to do it. I know there are places to learn. We only moved here in March 2. When I saw your quilt it jogged my memory. We are so immersed in health problems from the past 3 months, that I tend to forget things that I love/d. Thanks. I’m always so glad to read your blogs.

  3. I’d like to know what Greek yogurt is! I’ve heard you mention it before. I’m assuming that your recipe is in your blog. I’ll look for it.

    • greek yogurt is just yogurt that has been strained of some of the whey liquid. Fage is the best commercial greek yogurt. I use cheese cloth, paper towels, or coffee filters to strain mine. And I keep the whey liquild and use it in smoothies sometimes.

  4. Adore the photos and LOVE that you are eeeeking out of the funk, Debby.
    life can be a challenge some days (and today by LIFE I, too, mean work :))

  5. loved all the pics – that must be your dad’s new walker!

    (oldest was swimming, put favorite swim trunks on trunk
    of car to dry and drove off without them. he was very sad.)

  6. I enjoyed your list of “loves.” You’re a clever boots to use pix to illustrate. I, too, loved your account of your day with your dad and the picture of him in the youthful crowd.

  7. I love this post! Really uplifting. Your Dad looks like a sweetheart…you’re so lucky to still have him. I’m also a “nicknamer”…all my kids, friends and animals have been dubbed with whatever came to mind!

    I’m a nurse who used to draw blood a lot, so I enjoyed you loving your prominent veins, too!

  8. I *love* this list! And I’m so glad you & your dad enjoyed Coyote Point! (I think I did recommend that one to you.) It’s fun to see their animals, and not quite so huge a haul as the SF Zoo.

    Hee hee, pet nicknames! We call our cat “Furry Purry” sometimes. Which reminds me, I need to do the Jill award post and the Elsie the Wondercat post.

Leave a Reply

