The Waterfalls

But first.  The tale of the tat. You guys.  I post a literary masterpiece like that last post (LOL) and all you want to know about is  my tattoo.  Harrumph.  I bet you all had me pegged as one of those narrow-minded people who think there is something very wrong with tattooing your body.  Well, you wouldn’t be too far off.  And then I met some people I really liked and respected (waves to Miz) and I started thinking differently about tattoos and the people who had them.  And then one day a couple of years ago, my BFF gave me a temporary tattoo with a message I liked.


I put it  on, and I grew quite fond of my little tattoo.  I was actually very sad when the time came for it to come off.   Sorry guys, this is just another temporary tattoo.  They were selling them at the quilt show to commemorate the 35th anniversary of the show.  But it sure was fun to put that picture on my blog and pretend it was a real tattoo for a day.  Too bad it wasn’t April 1.

On to the story of my travel day home.  (sorry, Sybil, I’ll try to get quilt pictures up tomorrow.)

I had the idea to travel home a different way because I wanted to see this waterfall that Loretta described as one of her favorites. I was enamored of the picture that her husband had taken, but I really wanted to see it for myself.  So I did a mapquest and set off on an excellent adventure.  Its funny to me that such beautiful sights are not really that well-marked.  Seems like there  should be a flashing neon sign announcing the way.  But I found a turnout that said Mill Creek Falls, and  on the little map that was posted there were simple directions to Pearsonny Falls, which was what I was really looking for.  The map had something called ‘giant boulders’ as a signpost along the way.

I walked for quite a ways and began to wonder if I had missed the ‘giant boulders.’  Then I came to the GIANT BOULDERS. Pictures do not do an adequate job of showing the size of the boulders in this whole area.  That sign says ‘<-Avenue of the Giant Boulders’ and ‘-> To the River.’

According to the map, you were supposed to go left to Pearsonny Falls and right to Mill Creek Falls.  I was a little reluctant to try the Avenue of the Giant Boulders, so I went right to the river.  And this is what I found.  Again, pictures do not do an adequate job of showing the majesty and grandeur of this place.  The river was full of these giant boulders with seemingly hundreds of waterfalls cascading over them.  Because of the giant boulders and a less than adventurous spirit (I was alone, and had visions of falling and never being found.  No one I knew even knew I was stopping here,) it was difficult to get a good angle on the pictures.

I even tried to climb down these stairs that were disintegrating and had a railing that wasn’t exactly attached, but again, I chickened out halfway down .

I found these stone walls that looked like they must have been part of the mill for which these falls are named.  How was someone even able to build something out here?

Evidently I didn’t actually see Mills Creek Falls, because I just googled it, and came up with this image.

I headed back to the sign to see if I could go left to find Pearsonny Falls.  Evidently you have to walk across the TOPs of the GIANT BOULDERS.  Again, just not quite adventurous enough.  And I had to go to the bathroom.  So I went back to the map, where I remembered they had shown bathrooms.  And guess what?  According to the map, Pearsonny Falls was right outside the bathrooms!  Excellent.  I drove down to where the bathrooms were, about a half mile away, and then followed the path that had a nice sign announcing Pearsonny Falls.  And THIS is what I found.  This is one of those places that makes me burst into tears at the majesty and glory of God.  Again , pictures do not do this justice.  I think you have to have a really good camera to get great pictures of swiftly moving water.

This is a close-up of the upper right corner of that rock formation in the middle of the falls.

It was a glorious adventure, and a time of real worship.  And to think that I might have missed it because I wanted to cut one hour off of my drive home time.  Thank you, Loretta, for sharing that with us.


17 thoughts on “The Waterfalls

  1. LOL and loverly! About the tat; I’m old school. Temporaries seem an excellent way to go. And what a rise you got out of your loyal fans (Big Time Blogger that you are!)
    I totally agree about the sparsity of signage for awesome sights. Maybe if they were neon-signed, though, the majesty of the sight would be lost in a rush of uncaring, litter-tossing, tourists. Welcome back.

  2. I know I’ve said it before, but you are so lucky to live in an area of such beauty!!! What a fun place to go and be alone with God!

    I’m sort of sad that your tattoo isn’t real. I think you should get a real one!!! How fun (and painful) would that be?! 😉

    • Yes on both points Jill. I would love to live close by and be able to sit and read, or worship, or just be still. And yes, I am a little sad that my tattoo is not real. But Yes also on the pain. Just not into that.

  3. Ha ha ha! Oh, you had us all big time with the temporary tat!

    I love waterfalls! These look like especially nice ones. It’s probably out of your way for your Oregon trips, but I have fond memories of going to McArthur Burney Falls Memorial State Park when I was a kid. http://www.burney-falls.com/

  4. I know what you mean about trying to capture the awesomeness. Our photos of Burney Falls don’t do justice either. Another must see place. The list grows longer by the dozen everyday.

  5. Oh, your photos are wonderful! I’m so glad you got to see the Falls in person. My husband always has his best “prayer walks” in nature.
    And I loved the video of the falls, I hadn’t seen that before. The roar is majestic along with the images. 🙂
    Loretta
    =^..^=

  6. maan late to the soiree (life has thrown me curveballs like that) but giggled at the tattoo and long for it to be permanent 😉
    you know me…

  7. You are such a kidder! Sure had us going!!! It is a pretty tattoo…not too late to go to a shop and have it inked over for realz!

    OK, on to your waterfall pictures – what a gorgeous place – that rock in the middle is just so fantastic. Glad you took the time to stop, shoot and share.

    Oh…did the Nike+ arrive?

  8. I have a tattoo on my foot that I *wish* was temporary….at the time a seahorse seemed like a perfect fit but now…. Oh well!! Reminds me of a fun time in my life.

    Those falls are beyond words for beautiful.

  9. I totally fell for your temp tat! And the falls look gorgeous. Glad you were able to take the lesser-traveled path. 🙂

Leave a Reply

