An Ordinary Everyday Kind of Post

Have I mentioned lately that I don’t like going to work?  Not that I don’t like work itself.  I like what I do.  I like most of my co-workers.  I just don’t like going to work any more.  I know.  Broken record.  I worked the last two days, and I have to work tomorrow.  Poor me.  My first day back from vacation I was only assigned to one baby.  She was kind of crabby, so I kinda slouched in the chair and held her on my lap while I was cruising Amazon for books on retirement.  I know.  Its really a hard job…

Okay enough about me.  On to the food chat.  Okay, that’s kind of about me too, but whatevs.  The first two pics are kind of  a new take on old favorites, at least for me.  One of my favorite treats going all the way back to when I was a kid was to have a canned peach half (floating in that heavy syrup) topped with a big glob of cream cheese mixed with walnuts.  This is just a fresh peach  that was very juicy, topped with one wedge of laughing cow lite and some chopped walnuts.  Divine!

And this next one is a re-do of a ‘recipe’ I used to make quite frequently when I started the weight loss process.  I called it ‘cherries in the snow.’  Old version:  couple tablespoons of cool whip lite mixed into a couple tablespoons of cottage cheese, topped with fresh cherries.  This version:  greek yogurt (sweetened w/splenda)  topped with cherries.  Just a bit healthier.  Yesterday I mixed a bit of greek yogurt and cottage cheese  and topped with cherries.  That was good too.  (You guys know about cherry pitters, right?  Life changing tool!)

Another relatively new thing I am trying:  smaller salads.  This was lunch one day.  A small roasted beet salad, with a small serving of cottage cheese and grapes.  Very satisfying, and it held me for quite a while.

ANOTHER salad.  And I had both of these in the same day!  This was fantabulous.   My version of BBQ chicken salad (thank you Lori.)  On a bed of chopped romaine and baby lettuce, I topped with avocado, carrots, bacon crumbles, grapes.  Then mixed a little chicken and chopped onion in some BBQ sauce and plopped that on top.  No other dressing necessary.  I practically licked the bowl out, it was so good.

And the ‘classic’ dessert lately.  Greek yogurt topped with a little muesli, chopped walnuts, and chocolate chips.

Whenever I come back from vacation, I seem to hit the veggies and fruit extra hard.  Not a bad habit I guess.  But sometimes I buy a little too much and then I want to eat a little too much.  For lunch today I made a batch of that fried rice (I LOVE this recipe) and at the same time made a batch of salsa so I could have a taco salad tonight.

Today Noah and I went to the group dog training class.  I could hardly believe how well behaved he was.  Very sociable with all the people and all the dogs.  Amazing.  I was very proud of him.

Its hot here.  It was hot here yesterday and the day before that.  Tomorrow its going to be hot.  Well, I told you it was going to be an ordinary everyday kind of post.  Maybe I will come up with something more inspiring in a day or two.  In the meantime, habanada, and be good little boys and girls!

19 thoughts on “An Ordinary Everyday Kind of Post

    • I like the muesli so much because it has bits of dried fruit in it. Plus its not as sweet as granola, although I think they have about the same amount of calories.

    • Its been over 100 degrees every day since I got home a week ago. According to the weather predictions, its supposed to cool down the end of the week. At least its not humid. I’m gonna go swim right now!

  1. Great idea with the BBQ chicken salad – no extra dressing required with the sauce. I will have to try that once I come back from Cali. And your cherries/yogurt combo looks gorgeous!

    Me three on the not wanting to work. At least my current job anyway, but I suspect any job just won’t hold my interest anymore.

  2. I second Suzanne’s mouth watering comment, and I’ve had my dinner. My mom did canned half peaches (heavy syrup, natch) and popped a marshmallow in the center and baked it just till the marshmallow got golden. I’m not sure marshmallows are on my plan, though. Maybe yours would make a good substitute. I bought two crates of gorgeous big yellow peaches at Costco today. I LOVE strawberries. Maybe it has something to do with my having been born in Georgia.

    I smiled to picture you holding a fussy baby while surfing on Amazon for retirement books. I loved the children and the teaching, but I was totally ready to quit when another opportunity (watching my grands, for free) presented itself.

    So glad to hear Noah is doing so well. I’m sure you’re a proud mama.

    Hope your weather chills out soon. Over 100 is way too hot even if it’s not humid.

  3. It’s been near or above 100 for what seems like forever, PLUS we have crazywicked humidity too. It’s just too hot to do anything right now.

    All your desserts sound scrumptious! And I have GOT to invest in a cherry pitter – I know I look so lovely and refined spitting the pits out as I eat cherry after cherry at work every day. 🙂

  4. I would’ve never thought to pair peaches with cheese. I’ll have to try that.

    It’s hot here, too, so I’ve been eating lots of fruits and veggies as cool treats. Yummy! But not as yummy as a banana split 🙂

  5. that looks amazing and tasty.
    Ive never been one to ever eat, say, cottage cheese and fruit or the fancy french desserty of fruit and cheese…but I think its time to try 🙂
    once.

  6. So glad Noah is doing well in class! Sorry that you are not enjoying work these days. Now that you are a famous best-selling quilter I guess you can afford to retire to the life of an artist! (pronounced ar-TEEST, all fancified like the french) 😛

  7. I’m coming off a pretty bad staycation and I STILL didn’t want to come back to work. I feel bad even mentioning it though because my poor husband looks at me very seriously and says, ‘I wish I could figure out a way to make that happen for you.’ The last thing I want him to feel is bad because he’s a pretty good guy. But I totally get what you are saying. Totally!

  8. Sigh…I suppose that’s why they call it “work” and not something else. For me, Monday always happens right when I’ve gotten comfortable with the home routine. We haven’t been up to much on the weekends lately, and once I get used to that, they’re so pleasant!

    Mmmm…cherries! I think I need to find a cherry pitter now. And the peaches and Laughing Cow Lite + walnuts looks pretty intriguing, too. I’ve gotten into a rut with fruit: pretty much just apples and blueberries lately.

    Glad Noah is doing well with the training!

  9. Your food looks scrumptious. I have not heard about cherry pitters. I could use one, because the cherries are wonderful right now and for me are a real treat. I also totally understand about the not wanting to go to work thing–it happened to me too, but I bet you are great with the babies.

Leave a Reply

