Noah Speaks

RRRRRRUUUUFFFFF!!!! Harro everbody!  So great to get this chance to talk to you.  I’ve got so much to tell you. RRRUUUFFF!!!  RRRUUUFFF!!!

Ooh, I love to bark!

Ruff! Ruff! Ruff! Ruff!

Loud and long and clear!

I love to Bark!

Ruff! Ruff!  Ruff! Ruff!

So everbody can hear!   (editor’s note:  sung to the tune of ‘I Love to Laugh’ from the movie Mary Poppins)

You all know me as Noah.  The lady named me that because  she thought it sounded noble and dignified and all that.  She didn’t know that my birth name was ‘Barko the Magnificent!’ Yes indeedy!  My birth momma knew what she was doing when she christened me with that name.

Okay, enough about the barking. RRRRUUUUFFF!! So.  Things around here, they have been a’changing.  First of all, I managed to clear the entire mile and a half road of all sticks.  Its slim pickings out there right now.  I guess I got it done just in time, because the lady decided to send me to BOOT CAMP.    Yikes-a-daisies.  That was an experience and a half.  You’ve heard the expression ‘walks softly and carries a big stick?’  Well, that pretty much describes the colonel (editor’s note:  dog trainer Margaret.) Only she didn’t need a big stick (more for me–haha!)  She is so quiet, but somehow I was mysteriously drawn to pay attention to her.  And now I know lots of new tricks that seem to make the lady very happy when I do them.   Of course, once in a while I don’t do them on purpose, just to let her know that “Great Pyrenees are highly intelligent.  They can think and make decisions independent of human direction.”  (editor’s note:  Noah is quoting an article from the magazine, Dog Fancy.)

I know how to sit.

Most of the time  I look away so I can pretend I don’t see that STUPID stupid hand signal that  the colonel told the lady that I knew.  Yes, I know that hand signal means down, but HELLO–“They can think and make decisions independent of human direction.”  I think I’m capable of deciding when and where its a good idea to lay down.

And yes. I can do a ‘down stay.’  Whatever.

The recall:

I think the lady feels sorry for me and tries to find sticks for me.  I appreciate her efforts, but honestly, they are just pitiful.  I don’t think she understands stick technology.  (editor’s note:  Noah likes big heavy sticks with a little branch sticking out for a ‘handle.’)

Sometimes on our evening walks I lag behind and act like I am so tired I can hardly take another step. RRRRRUUUUFFFFF!!!!  MUST.  CONSERVE.  ENERGY. There are marauders out there to guard against.  LIke those two pesky dogs up the way.  Or those other two neighbor dogs who take a walk at 7am. RRRRRUUUUUJFFFFF!!!! Who do they think they are, disturbing the morning peace like that?

But you know, folks.  Life is good here.  And even though I keep up this tough facade, I RRRUUUUVVV my mommy!

(editor’s note:  and even though I complain a lot about Noah’s barking, I love him too.  I was SOOOO proud of him today at dog training.  He was friendly with dogs and people, and he was one of the most accurate, most well-behaved dogs in the class.  Then we went to town and he was well -behaved and friendly again.  Tonight he worked on his beloved ‘toothpick’ [small nylabone that he can only chew on when I am with him] the whole time I was transcribing this post.  That is a new record for being able to work uninterrupted with Noah in the house.)


13 thoughts on “Noah Speaks

  1. I’m so glad things are working out with Noah. You had me worried there for a while. He’s such a big beautiful loveable boy. Your doing a great job with him! ((HUGS)) deb

  2. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Hope you saw something you liked and will come back.

    I’ve fallen in love with Noah, but sounds like he’s already taken!! Have gone back and read some of your posts from the very beginning and several of the more recent working backwards. Will enjoy reading about your journey and coming back to your blog. Can’t wait to look over the recipes on your side bar.

  3. Wow, Noah! You sure grew up fast! Congrats on doing so well in class.

    And that is my favorite Mary Poppins song! (Well, the human version, not the canine! 😉

  4. okay.
    I HAVE TO ASK: did you really mean to get me singing MARTHA SPEAKS as soon as I read the title?
    or have I been spending too much time with the four year old crowd??

  5. Thing 2 says Hi, Noah! (When I opened the page, Debby, she said, “There’s the dog that likes sticks!”) Although she doesn’t believe me when I told her you weren’t a girl doggie, must be that lovely fluffy coat of yours.

  6. Dear Noah,
    I must give my sincerest apologies for making the assumption that you were a golden retriever (oh, the horrors, I know!) In these photos I can clearly see that I made a mistake. You look like the regal Pyrenees/Shepherd mix that you are! So glad to get to know you. Thank you Mom for introducing us properly 🙂

    Big scratches behind the ears,

    Ellen

Leave a Reply

