Moving Forward

Hey hey hey!  Today I applied for my passport!  That was a big deal for me.  Its been on my to-do list for months, and in my brain, August was the deadline to get it done. Relatively painless.  Had an appointment at our little local post office.  They made a big deal out of it though.  DO YOU HAVE AN APPOINTMENT?  WHERE’S THE CALENDAR?   Pretty funny.  And of course the thing I was most worried about was if these two post office guys took a good picture.  I had to ask to see it, and they acted like it was an imposition.  Whatever.   The color was bad, but it was a good pic of me.

And yesterday I called and made an appointment with the RETIREMENT COUNSELOR at work!!!  Of course, this doesn’t necessarily mean I will retire, but it will give me more concrete information to work with.  Unless the information is vastly different than what is listed online, I think I will go forward with it.   I’m a little nervous but a lot excited.  Looking forward to this next phase of my life.  I know a little of what it will hold, but am definitely open to God’s leading.  That’s how I got to be a nurse, which is still amazing to me, and has been an incredible privilege.  In talking over the advantages and disadvantages of retirement with ‘my counselor’ I came to the conclusion that I am done with this part of my life.  As far as it being classical retirement, that is not how I view it at all.  I am just retiring from this particular job.  I am not retiring from life or work.  Wow.  Writing all this down makes it seem more real.

Next.   The final frontier.  I need to make a doctor’s appointment.  I don’t go to the doctor.  I don’t like doctors.  Yuck.  But I need to get a physical at least once every decade or so (although I went almost 40 years without one…) and most of all I need to get vaccinations and/or medicine for my trip to Africa.  (That’s what the passport was for.)

I’ve got to say, this whole thing about the trip to Africa.  It is a step of faith or obedience or a combination of both.  I am not that adventurous.  I don’t like to fly.  When I read the CDC’s recommendations for all the diseases you need to prevent it almost made me sick to my stomach.  And if the money for the trip had not been almost miraculously provided (income tax return) there are just so many points at which I would have weaseled out of this trip.  But it seems I am just putting one foot in front of the other until the next thing you know, I will be stepping onto the continent of Africa.  And of that part I am certain.  It will be the adventure of a lifetime, and I believe a life-changing event for me.  And then I can come home to my safe little American cabin in the woods.

Hey, regarding the links I provided yesterday?  I don’t think City Slickers is on that list of movies.  And it is a goodie.  I know almost every line.  But I am enjoying watching the scenery and acting anyway.  And Billy Crystal looks SOOO young.  He looked pretty old at that Kennedy Center Honors.  Which reminds me.  Is Tom Hanks coming out with a new movie anytime soon?  I do love my comedians.

And the muffin recipe?  I couldn’t resist.  Woke up this morning, contemplated my favorite meal of the day, and decided to try it!  They were absolutely fantastic!  Of course I made a few changes.  Didn’t have dry milk or nonfat milk, so substituted my homemade yogurt.  And used blueberries instead of the apples and raisins.  I will definitely make these again, and am anxious to make the apple raisin variety.  That will be great for fall.  The orange in  the recipe adds a subtle taste, and makes the whole house smell delicious for hours.  (Which can be a problem, because I decided to have another one for my afternoon snack…)  Here’s a link to my version–its already on my sidebar!  At about 115 calories each, you can indulge in two for breakfast.  Or have one with something else (probably a better idea.)

I feel like I’m falling down on the doggie pics.  I could show you pictures of how Noah rearranges the yard each morning.  There may be no sticks on the road for him to find, but he is finding plenty in the yard.  Every night when I come home from work it is like an obstacle course out there.  This has been the summer of NO GARDENING.  That is going to have to wait until Noah grows up.  I just do my best to rotate watering the plants.   Somehow I missed one Japanese maple in the rotation and its leaves have completely dried up.  I am hopeful that there is still some life left in it and it might revive eventually.

Yesterday was such a good day.  You have to make it a priority if you are going to …well, whatever you are going to do.  If I want to quilt/sew, it has to be a priority.  Otherwise, I end up writing a blog post instead.  Not a bad option.  Just saying.  Maybe I’ll get in a few stitches after I finish this.  Today was an excellent exercise day.  Short (1 mile) run/walk with Noah this morning.  Went to the gym after the passport appointment and did a free weights workout (no machines at all!) and then swam for 25 minutes.  Only a couple people in the pool.  It was quite lovely.

Back to work tomorrow.  I’ll check in over the weekend.

11 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. Debby,

    It sounds like you’re “getting your ducks in a row.” Sometimes we have to do that–the future has a way of showing up sooner than we think. It all sounds exciting to me–all except the part about the doctor. Like you, I don’t go to the Dr. much at all–don’t like the whole thing! If I wouldn’t have had three children and a couple of employment physicals, I don’t know if I would have ever gone. It’s been so long that my Dr.’s office called a few days ago and asked if I was going to be coming in for an appointment soon. I said they could put me on the list for November. I have to admit that part of it is not wanting to get on the scale. Great post, Debby. I hope you have good news from your retirement counselor. Sometimes we just need a change.

    • Wow, a fellow non-doctor person! Glad to know you. Yes, I think for years it was partly not wanting to get on the scale, but then it developed into a little paranoia. Then I got over that, and now I just don’t want to go. More like a chore I don’t want to do than anything.

  2. Wow-o-wow!!! That is so exciting, both the retiring from nursing and going to Africa! (It’s not on my bucket list, per se, but I love it when people pursue their dreams.) Hope everything goes smoothly!

    And it sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful day, between exercise and baking and all. Those muffins look really tasty! I saw that they take spelt flour; how is that to bake with?

    • So far I have substituted spelt flour in my scones and in these muffins. I really like it a lot. At first I thought I was getting rid of the wheat in my diet, but I guess spelt is an ancient form of wheat. Still, I am enjoying it. Maybe its a little smoother than whole wheat flour?

  3. Ooh Debby, I’m so excited for you!!! What great steps you are taking – I love how you put it – that you are retiring just from one aspect of your life. So cool – and I can see you doing a myriad of things once you are free from that particular job.

    Glad you are moving forward with your Africa trip…funny how things align to make you see that yes, you do need to make this trip. Even though some of them may be a little unpleasant – shots, doctor visit – it will be so worth it. Love that you are following this dream!

    Now those bran muffins? Wow, they sound amazing! Wish I would stop being such a lazy person and make some – but we all know that ain’t happening, lol! I’ll just eat vicariously through your pictures. 🙂

    • Shelley, I think that is the first recipe I have used exactly from Cooking Light! Well, I guess it wasn’t exactly, but you know what I mean. Usually I am just inspired by it. Thanks again for that subscription.

  4. Wow – lookit you being all adventurous!!! Africa…that’s pretty amazing Debs. Any timetable for when this trip will happen? Send me a post card, k?

    Do you know how extremely envious I am of your impending retirement? I’ve been wanting to retire since I was 19 – honest Abe, ask my BFF she’ll tell you! That is really exciting to be starting a new chapter – I think you will like being free to do whatever you want.

    One of these days I’m going to just go down the list on your sidebar and make everyone of your recipes! You make everything sound so good!! 🙂

    • Yes, I am going to Africa right after Christmas. Seems a funny time, but for me it works well (as far as getting time off from work.)

      That’s funny you’ve wanted to retire since ?before you started working?? I did state from the time I started working here that I wanted to retire at 50, and then I re-timed it to 57, so in one way I made it 6 years longer than my original goal.

  5. Wow – I’m thrilled for you and for the bold steps you are taking. Retirement, Africa? Awesome. Can’t wait to read all about it!

    PS I brought some handstitching into work today (finishing up some of Chloe’s kerchiefs). It amuses me to no end to be stiching while talking on the phone with a candidate. 🙂

    • Laughing at you stitching while talking on the phone. I guess you’ve never dropped your needle or thread or stuck yourself, and let out some inadvertent comments that didn’t quite fit into the conversation like what happens to me almost every time I am talking to my dad on the phone while stitching?

Leave a Reply

