I’m Tired

This is somewhat amusing to me, because a couple of months ago, I got tired of telling people I was tired, and I saw this book

at Barnes and Noble, and ordered it online to see if it would help me.  I looked at it a bit, and there was quite a bit about diet and exercise in it, which was interesting, because I am already doing that.  Anyway, then it sat around, in a very visible place, and the last couple of weeks I have gone by and noticed it and said, hmmm, I’m not tired any more.  I wonder why I thought I needed that book?  Well, this weekend I have been tired.  Pretty much all day, both days.  Oh well.  Fortunately I have the luxury of doing pretty much what I want to do.  I just couldn’t make myself go to the gym, although I planned for it both days.  So the only exercise that got  done was a couple of walks with Noah.  He seemed a little tired too, LOL.   Which is really good.  Because when he has a lot of energy and I don’t.  Well, worlds collide.  He seemed pretty happy to lay around the house with me.  My little boy is growing up.

So movies.  There’s been a bit more movie watching going on around here.  A new season of The Dog Whisperer came out on DVD and I’ve enjoyed watching that.  Its good to see that there are dogs worse behaved than mine.

Today I decided to lay on the couch and watch ‘Marley and Me.’  Sophie was so excited.  I NEVER lay on the couch any more.  She promptly took her place on my lap underneath the quilt I was working on.  You all know that movie, right?  Yeah.  I know.  I’ve been doing ‘Noah and Me’ for months.  But then when I saw how bad Marley was, it made Noah seem like a saint.  And then, of  course, you know what happens at the end.  And I am just laying there crying my eyes out.  And Sophie poked her little head out from under the quilt to see if I was okay.  It was so cute.

When the movie was done, I let Noah back in the house.  OMGosh!  It was like he had taken Marley lessons.  Getting into everything.  Jumping on furniture, counter surfing.  And then I couldn’t find him.  I looked in the closet, one of his favorite off-limits spots to explore.  Then I heard something.  He was UNDER my quilting table, which is clearly too small a place for him to fit into.  I don’t know how he got in there.  I’m not even sure how he got out.

Hey, I did do one blogworthy thing this weekend.  I made up a new recipe.  I had some blackberries that I had picked myself (did I tell you they’re growing by the gym pool?) and I knew they were not going to last much longer.  So I had the idea of making some Blackberry  Oatmeal Crumble Bars, healthy style.  I am pretty darn pleased with the recipe.  Not too sweet, which is the direction I am trying to go in with my ‘baked goods.’  And a little protein added in.  I looked around on the internet for ideas, and then decided to start from my Apricot Oatmeal Bar recipe and adjust it from there.   Here’s what they look like.  The recipe is over there on my sidebar.  Which, BTW, I know I need to organize and clean up.  Eventually.

18 thoughts on “I’m Tired

  1. Hi Debby, I love your Noah stories. I really like that dog, and I’ve never met him.

    In terms of your “tired weekend,” we sometimes need a day or two to just “veg out” and catch up with ourselves and a movie or two. I always find that I’m better off for taking care of myself when I’m low on energy, and I think we have to take those rare opportunities when they present themselves. By the way, your Blackberry Oatmeal bars look delicious!

  2. Good for you for taking a break. I was tired of my exercise-eating regimen. Tired of doing it and having it rule me. This weekend I didn’t exercise at all, I slept later, I did fun things-book stores, movies, shopping,and watched movies too. I took a nap. I enjoyed vacationing from my rigid control. I ate pizza-3 slices and gave the rest of my pizza away to utility workers. Sometimes we just have to be.

    ??How do you deal with fleas? We are having a problem despite all the efforts we are putting in.

    • Hi PJ, Believe it or not, we don’t have fleas here. I guess they don’t live at this elevation?? We have seasonal ticks, but that is all.

      When I used to be a dog groomer, I would recommend that people take care of everything at the same time, otherwise it is a vicious cycle. So you need to ‘dip’ or whatever other prevention you use on all your cats and dogs at the same time, and then ‘bomb’ your house and/or whereever the dogs and cats are. And wash all their bedding. Otherwise there are ‘flea larvae’ in the carpet and furniture, etc. and they just keep coming.

  3. Fatigue just comes and goes. I definitely do not get enough sleep, so I understand when I get fatigued. Or if I forget to take a rest day from exercise.

    Has it been hot out? That really saps the energy.

    Those bars look so yummy.

    • It is nice to hear the ‘younger folk’ say that fatigue just shows up. It actually has been a very nice August for these parts. Up to 90’s during the day, but very cool in the evening and early morning. Nice.

  4. Noah…what is it about the bad boys that make us just love them all the more? I heart his furry little face!

    Marley and Me, oh gosh. That movie brings out the ugly cry, ya know what I mean? Great movie. Sophie is too cute with her little head poking out! What a sweetie.

    Tired. I really am tired all the time, especially this morning because my daughter woke me up at 11:30 last saying she couldn’t sleep. I gave her my standard answer of “read a book until you get sleepy again” and then guess what happened? I couldn’t go back to sleep, so I got up and read a magazine for 1.5 hours. Needless to say, getting up this morning was not a pretty sight. And I’m pretty sure coffee is proof that God loves us.

    • Yes, Noah is just enough of a bad boy right now that I love him more. Much better than the ‘impossible boy’ he used to be.

      I’ve been meaning to tell you that he is not soft and fluffy–not pillow material at all. The only soft hair on him is that fluff of hair around his ears, and that will probably be gone soon. I just think it is interesting because I keep thinking about these dogs being out in the field guarding sheep, and there would be no one there to pick the burrs out of them. Well, his hair is so harsh and thick, that I have not found one sticker or foxtail penetrating his skin.

      “And I’m pretty sure coffee is proof that God loves us.” Amen.

  5. Chloe and Sophie, twins separated at birth. C also loves to get underneath any large fabric project I’m working on. And she lives for times when I’m actually sitting down on the sofa (doesn’t happen often!). She loves to snuggle.

    I haven’t watched Marley yet, but I did read the book. Sounds like I need to watch it.

    • Oh, I love the idea of our dogs being twinsies. I am making Chloe an honorary dachshund. She can’t help it if her legs came out extra long! Or is it that Sophie’s legs came out too short?

      Yes. You MUST watch Marley. But be warned, you will cry about every single dog you have ever owned and loved. I think its a good movie apart from the dog story.

  6. I bet some cooler weather will put a little zip in your energy level. I get lethargic on really hot awful days. Your poochies are so cute. Love the empathetic Sophie. I remember our Sunshine coming over to lick my face after I fell down a couple of stairs and sprained my ankle. No-one else was home, but Sunny knew she had to show me that she cared. Your crumble looks yummy. You’re a smartie to find and pick your own b-berries.

  7. I was all sad, thinking about Marley and Me, and then scrolled down to see that first picture of Noah and burst out laughing! I sure do love that dog!!!

    My younger son and I saw M&M in the theater – sobbed our way through it, especially as our Jackie had died not too long beforehand. We made it out of the theater w/o tears, not looking at each other, but as soon as we were in the car we both lost it. Shoot, I’m crying now. How can a movie (and book – oh, that book killed me even more) wring such emotions from you?!?

    I have to go now. Need Kleenex.

    • Its because dogs are so perfect. They don’t hold a grudge. They always love us no matter what. They are always joyful. And, they are with us 24/7, more than most people in our lives.

      I have that book. Must read.

  8. I never saw M&M, and now I’m not sure I want to. And oh, Lord, I’m glad I didn’t take my kids to the showing of M&M in the park in Lompoc this past weekend! (It was the parks & recreation choice for kids movie in the park, with games and refreshments, can you believe it?)

    That picture of Sophie is too sweet! She reminds me a lot of our Bela, with those big soulful doggie eyes. *sniff*.

    Maybe I should pick up a copy of that book from the library for Mr. H&H…he’s always talking about how tired he is. (Of course, he’s home with the kids, so he definitely has a reason!)

Leave a Reply

