A Coupla Normal Days

Hey, is this what life is going to be like when I retire?  I was scheduled to work on Monday, but they asked if I wanted to stay home.  What do you think the answer was?  Although I have a few regrets over missing that overtime pay.  Anyway, that left me with seven days in a row off.  I’ve gotten to the gym every other day for a few days now, and I really like that routine.   Sunday I finally remembered to write down my exercises just in case any of you were interested in what I do.  I change it up a bit, but this is pretty normal for what I do.  I like to switch back and forth between back/arm exercises  and leg exercises.  Here’s the list:

  • I like to start out in the studio with lighter weights to get warmed up.  I stand on the bosu ball (flat side on the ground) to work on my balance and do 3 sets of 10 on each arm of bicep curls alternating with 3 sets of 10 on each arm of overhead press.  I use 10 pound weights for these  (because that’s what’s in the studio.)   I had to look these up on the internet because I can’t remember the names of any exercises I do.
  • 3 sets of 20-25 crunches on the ball.
  • 3 sets of 10 each leg lunges with rear leg elevated on a step (holding the same 2 10 pound dumbells.)
  • 3 sets of 10 squats (same dumbells)

Then I go out to the room with the weight machines.

  • 3 assisted weight  pull  up (90 pound offset)  I usually go back 2 or 3 times between other exercises to do these if the machine is available)
  • lat pull down–1 set  of 15 at 80#, 2 sets of 8 at 100#.
  • Super set:   hamstring curl 3 sets of 10 at 60# alternating with leg extension 3 sets of 10 at 50#.
  • Super set:  pec/deltoid machine 3 sets of 8-10 at 40# alternating with deadlift 3 sets of 10 at 40#.

My new routine, that I am liking very much, is to then go to the treadmill for at least 20 minutes, followed by 20 minutes in the pool.   So, adding this to the mandatory twice daily walks with Noah, I am getting quite a bit of exercise.  My most recent tactic has been to just walk/hike superfast and not attempt to run with Noah.  Then  on the treadmill, which might be a bit easier on my joints, I am planning to run a bit more.  The treadmill is definitely a different type of exercise than walking outdoors.  Watching TV while I’m on the treadmill keeps me motivated to keep going sometimes.  Guess what was on the tv today?  Dr. Oz talking about colonoscopies.  Oh joy.  I got the instructions for the prep in  the mail today.  You all know what I’m dreading the most, right?  Yes.  A day and a half WITH NO FOOD.  Please don’t try to tell me clear liquids are food.  Oh well.  Maybe I’ll finally lose some weight.

Speaking of which.  Oh, never mind I don’t want to talk about that right now.  I’ll have to write a whole post about my bizzarro opposite world of weight  loss.  Hint:  has anybody noticed that its a very short walk from ‘mindful’ eating to ‘mindless’ eating?

Changing the topic skillfully to something I am more comfortable with, here are some of the good things I’ve been eating the past few days.

Homegrown tomato with fresh mozzarella, and BBQ chicken salad, with some chopped apple, walnuts, and laughing cow.

Delicious protein pancake with walnuts baked in, and topped with mashed banana with about a teaspoon of maple syrup. (My mashed bananas are super sweet because I wait until they are very ripe and then mash and freeze them.

You all know how easily influenced I am by what I read/see in the blogs.  Well, over there on Pubsgal Eats , she keeps showing pictures of what she calls her spackle.  I have to admit.  The pictures did not grab me.  The name spackle did not grab me.  I was interested in the amount of flax seed meal in the recipe because I really like flax seed, but I don’t use it that much.  But when she called it ‘her comfort food,’ she got my attention.  I don’t like peanut butter that much, but it seems to be an essential ingredient.  So I went to get some peanut butter at the grocery store, and look what I found!

Same stats as regular peanut butter.

So.  The spackle was absolutely excellent.  Reminiscent of the breakfast cookie. A wee bit costly in the calorie arena, but it held me very well all morning–no snack needed.  Very much like eating a bowl of cookie dough.  Quick and easy to fix for breakfast or lunch.

Tonight’s dinner.  Man, I was hungry after that workout.

Same BBQ chicken salad, with an ear of corn and a pluot.

Its late.  Must get to bed immediately.  See you all tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “A Coupla Normal Days

  1. Debby,

    The dark chocolate PB looks like something I may need to run from……where did you find it?

    Loved your VIM post you mentioned on my blog. I’ve got Willard’s “Divine Conspiracy” on hold at the library and can’t wait to read it.

    You asked about purchasing the sunrise pic on my post form last week. I did not take the pic and the friend who did is just an amateur with a Kodak Easy Share camera who got lucky with a great shot. So it’s not for sale, but there’s certainly no problem with you using it. Just don’t enter it in any contests or anything. ha ha ha

    Thought about you while I was in my small group last night. Our leader for this series is not real strong and I was thankful for his courage in trying. I know it isn’t easy to find good Small Group leaders, so unless you see a clear reason not to, I encourage you to go for it.

    Have a great day!

    Sharon

  2. Glad you got an extra day off! And also glad you enjoyed the spackle. The oatmeal PB is a MizFit recipe (and she so aptly named it) that I adapted to use oat bran and flax seed meal instead of regular oatmeal. (I used to use the regular oatmeal, but I now like the oat bran better…I think it was Lori who inspired that.) I love your variation with the PB and dark chocolate stuff! I’m almost afraid to ask where you found that.

    And thanks for sharing your gym routine! It sounds super effective – and oh, for a gym pool! 🙂

  3. I purposely shield my eyes away from that Peanut Butter when I’m buying PB because I can totally see myself hiding in my closet with that jar and a spoon and hissing at anyone who tries to come within 5 feet of me and my “precious”. It’s probably not as good as it sounds, is it. IS IT?!? Just lie to me and tell me it tastes like rubber cement or something, okay? 😉

  4. I’m with the others – that peanut butter and me would be baddd news!

    Your workout routine sounds great – I am really impressed with your weight routine! You ARE getting a lot of exercise, and then you walk Noah? Dang.

  5. I’m there too. We’ll stay tuned to find out how it goes with the diabolical peanut butter find. I admire your courage in bringing it into your home! Your gym routine sounds great–for now I’m doing all resistance machines, except for the kettle bell workouts. I love good tomatoes with fresh mozzarella. Comes from our time in Rome. My love to the pooches.

Leave a Reply

