Challenge and Food Update

I’m four for four in getting out for my first exercise of the day BEFORE COFFEE.  Four days when I wasn’t going to work, that is.  Because I can’t won’t walk or exercise at 4 in the morning.  Although I did talk to a girl at work who is doing that.  She’s twenty years younger than me.  That’s what I say about that.  Anyway, I’m fairly pleased with how this experiment/challenge/commitment is going.  I figured out I could put the coffee on and set the timer to start it in 30 or 40 minutes, and voila!  I have coffee awaiting me when I get home.  One of the days was Sunday, and I left really early for church, went to the gym and worked out, and then headed over to Starbucks for some coffee and a couple of my own breakfast bars.  That was FUN!  I practically had the gym to myself.

This morning I had a great time at the gym.  I had read Brooke’s triathlon report–I am always so inspired by these reports, so I was really motivated when I got to the gym.  I did my own ‘triathlon.’  Twenty minutes of weight lifting, 20 minutes of treadmill, and 10 minutes in the pool (would have been twenty, but I ran out of time and a friend was picking me up.)  It sure felt great though.  What I am doing on the treadmill is continuing to challenge myself to run faster/for longer intervals.  I usually go for 20 minutes, and then I can see that each time I go a little ‘farther’ in the 20 minutes.  This morning it was 1.3 miles.  Maybe I’ll get to 2 miles in 20 minutes.  Wouldn’t that be great.  Oh!  And then, on Sunday and today, there was NO ONE in the free weights room.  So I did some bench presses with the bar–woo hoo! Big girl!  AND today, I got really brave, and did some squats with the bar, because Lori explained that that thing was a squat cage.  I REALLY liked the free weights.  I think I might be making some more early morning trips to the gym.

Okay.  On to the important part of the blog.  FOOD!!!!!  Here’s a few things I’ve been eating the past few days.

This was a particularly delicious BBQ chicken salad.  Goat cheese, chopped apples, walnuts on a bed of romaine.  I make the topping by chopping about 3 ounces of pre-cooked chicken and a slice or two of onion, and then mixing them up with some BBQ sauce in a plastic baggy.

I tried again to make some frozen yogurt.  This was 1/2 banana, 4 strawberries, 1 Tbsp sugar, and 1 cup of my homemade ‘greek’ yogurt.  I’m no match for Pinkberry, let me tell you.  I also need to read the directions once in  a while.  I dumped all this stuff in the frozen bowl part of the ice cream maker, and then tried to hurry and get it put together.  You’re supposed to start the paddle moving and then dump the mixture in from the top.  So there was a lot of stuff stuck to the side that didn’t really get mixed in at all.  Oh well.

Here’s one of my old favorites:  grapes and cottage cheese.  BTW, did you all know cottage cheese is very high in sodium?  And did you know they make ‘no sodium added’ cottage cheese?  It tastes COMPLETELY different.  Its okay, and it could be useful in some dishes, but I prefer the regular cottage cheese with sodium added. So weird.  I didn’t think it tasted salty until I tried the no sodium added, and then I could really taste the salt.    Just like when I have a regular cookie now.  They taste salty.  In a good way…

Ooh.  Look what I found for dinner tonight.  I went to a little farmstand, and got a delicata squash for 29 cents!  Delicata squash is similar to butternut squash, but the skin is more ‘delicate’ so you can leave it on  and eat it.  These were really excellent.  I started out trying to make them in the toaster oven, but they didn’t seem to be browning up, so I switched to the regular oven.  I just used PAM and salt.   Oh , and I made another new taste discovery.  My whole life, I didn’t get the ‘ketchup on french fries.’  Never ever ate them that way.  But tonight I thought these ‘fries’ needed a little something.  I looked for my ketchup and it expired sometime in 2009.  So I got the idea to try a little cocktail sauce to dip these in.  Mmmm  mmmm.  That was tasty!

I had them along with a tomato from the farm stand.  I just sprinkled a little balsamic vinegar on it.

I was in the mood for vegetables tonight.  I went out for lunch with a friend and we split a hamburger.  But when I cut it and gave her half , it turned out I had only given myself a small third of the burger.  Oh, you know the foodie in me was wanting more of that burger!  Especially since I knew she wouldn’t eat all of what I gave her.  But actually, it was just enough, and it made me feel quite virtuous.

Gonna end and watch my internet quilt show (and have some popcorn and a little chocolate.)

7 thoughts on “Challenge and Food Update

  1. I’m laughing because Jeff and I split our burgers and sandwiches when we go out, and last weekend the sandwich was cut more like 2/3 to 1/3 and I was really mentally struggling to give him the bigger “half” – but I did and I lived through it! We are still so whack when it comes to food. Probably always will be?

    Congrats on doing so well with the exercise challenge – and woohoo on your “iron work” – nice job with the bench press and squats!!! You go, little Arnold! 🙂

  2. Love your gym triathlon! That’s so awesome that you tried out the squat cage. I’m still skirting the free weights section, and I need to cut that out.

    And mmmm, your food stuff looks great, especially the delicata squash. (I’ve done that with the ice cream maker, too! 😉

    Count me in as someone else who can relate to wanting the bigger half when splitting food. Or, sometimes I measure myself something, and the kids want to share. I know it’s supposed to be a knee-jerk mom reaction to give everything to one’s kids, but it’s something that doesn’t come naturally to me when it comes to food. Especially if I feel like I have to measure out some more stuff. Or if it’s bacon. And because it’s hard, it’s kind of a good exercise for me to catch myself and share.

    • Yes, I meant to add that I think fondly of Half Moon Bay (and now you) whenever I find a delicata squash because the first time I ever found one was a couple of years ago at the New Leaf Market in Half Moon Bay! Pretty sure I paid more than 29 cents a pound, though!

      And you’re right. That was a really excellent exercise for me. Hope I can do it again and ‘strengthen’ that muscle.

  3. LOL at wanting the bigger half. I try so very hard to split things equally because if I don’t, I usually take the bigger piece. I just love food LOL!

    Hooray for big girl squats and bench presses! You will be a badass in no time 😀

    John is the coffee maker in the mornings most times as I go to the gym while he is still sleeping and he usually has it made by the time I get home. The times he is *still* sleeping when I get back are so disappointing because I love a cup of cafe au lait as soon as I get home. Habits, habits…

Leave a Reply

