I Just Ate Soup

Evidently there’s been a lot of talk around the blogs about cliques and cliquishness, and such.  I never heard anything about it until Miz brought it up this morning.  But then Pubsgal brought it up again.  I don’t really have anything to say about it that Miz and PG haven’t already said better.  But Pubsgal linked to a hilarious video about proper etiquette in social networking. There was a guy who had been ‘unfriended’ and it showed how irritating he was in real life situations that imitated internet situations.

All that to say, one of the last bits of advice on proper etiquette was “Limit insignificant posts.” And I’m thinking to myself, there goes 90% of my blog.  And then the irritating guy comes out with the example, “I just ate soup.” I rest my case.

That was the main point of my blog today.  I made my taco soup because when I transferred the recipes I remembered how good it was, and also, I needed a picture for the blog.

22 thoughts on “I Just Ate Soup

  1. That’s so funny because I just told Helen today to make Taco Soup. Cue Rod Sterling…

    Oh, and please…why let someone dictate how we should blog? Now, more dog pictures, stat! 😉

  2. Oh, Debby! I think the video was meant more as a commentary on things like Facebook and Twitter, where you get everything pushed to you from people you “friend.” Whereas with blogging, people who know your blog and come here to read it really *do* want to read about your soup for dinner. (Heck, I still can’t believe people want to look at my daily omelets!)

  3. Hey you guys, I just thought this was funny. I should have inserted a lot of LOL’s in that post so you’d know I was just kidding around. But I was trying to have proper blog etiquette and not irritate certain parties LOL. JK!!!!

  4. Since I already inflicted a ridiculously long comment on Mizfit’s post about this, I’ll spare you by not repeating it here, LOL!! Let’s just say, I’m opinionated on the topic. 🙂

    And I LOVE your pics of goggies, in case anyone has the audacity to think they fall into the insignificant category. 😀

    Oh! Did I just hear Noah bark in agreement? Or was that Sophie??

    Loretta
    =^..^=

    • You have such a good imagination Loretta. I’m SURE that was Noah you heard barking. I swear, on a good day you really could hear him all the way to Oregon!

  5. Oh gosh! Now I have to read Mizfit’s Blog.

    For insignificant posts my latest is a doozy. *haha*

    I;m so glad I decided to get rid of facebook. Just not my style.

    I’m in transition from soup to salad, by the way.

    • Thanks Vickie. I was thinking about how to make this seasoning mix yesterday. I still have some of the giant jug of taco seasoning that I bought at Costco, but I would like to make my own (without some of the junk that they put in the processed stuff.) Got it bookmarked now!

  6. Yummo. I love me some taco soup (which looks like my tortilla soup) and now your photo has convinced me to make a batch this weekend. See, this post wasn’t insignificant!

    • Wait, Helen…are you SURE it wasn’t my email that convinced you about the Taco Soup? 😉 I think it’s funny that my sister Debby and I are on the same wavelength!

  7. I never think your posts are insignificant!! And you have answered my question of “what should I fix for dinner tonight?” Taco soup, it is!!!

    See? Very significant!! 🙂

  8. That video still makes me laugh. Obnoxious little emo boy… And I was just commenting that soup weather is upon us. Hmmm, taco soup would be a perfect vehicle for venison!

  9. Funny how we both picked out the soup line from that video. I laughed so hard at that!

    I blog every day, so a good bunch of my posts are just fluff, but I am okay with that. I mean, how many times does one need to see oatmeal anyway, but I still blog about it.

    • Yes, that is funny! I saw your comment over on Pubsgal’s and thought you had picked up on that soup line before I posted. Its still making me laugh.

      WHO KNEW a post about soup would be so SIGNIFICANT? I think I ought to send a link to ‘Proper Ollie’ so he can change his little video. I’ll be sure to tell him not to use oatmeal as an example either. Because, if anything, oatmeal is MORE significant than soup.

  10. Now I made sure to read this because of your title and because I LOVE soup (especially when it’s chilly out like now) ! [and because I always like your posts] Your soup looks fantastic. I’m going to scrounge around for the recipe in your sidebar after I post this. Sure hope it’s there.

  11. 😛 All i have is insignificant posts. LOL! LOve the soup picture. Looks yummy! We are gonna live off of soup this winter i think. Give my crockpot a good work out. I’ve got so many soup recipes waiting in the wings to try out plus the good ole trusty ones we love.

  12. Pingback: What’s a Girl to Do? « debby weighs in

Leave a Reply

