What’s a Girl to Do?

Yesterday was a tough day at work.   Busy busy, frustrating.  FRUSTRATING.  So at the end of the day when I went by the breakroom and there was a box of donuts on the table, guess what I had.  Oh, that was a good donut.  Unfortunately it didn’t stop there.  I ate the ‘healthy’ brownie that I had brought with me on the way home in the car.  Then I stopped and got a small bowl of frozen yogurt before I got home.  THEN I took the little bowl of walnuts, chocolate chips, and raisins to bed with me.  Dad gummit.  Up until 6:30 pm I had had more than three days of perfect food choices.

So what’s a girl to do?  Encouraged my those two stalwart bloggers and long time maintainers, Miz and Lynn, I got up this morning, pulled my leggings up over my lumpy legs and headed out for a four mile walk with Noah.  Onward and upward.  Made good food choices one meal, one snack at a time today.  That’s how you maintain for life, they say.

Mizfit says: Top Tip: Consistency. The secret is to move a little, day in and day out, week in and week out, year in and year out. The same goes for eating. No matter what approach to food you take, simply aim to be as consistent as you can with your plan. Deviating from our healthy paths every now and then isn’t what packs the pounds back on. It’s when we lose sight of our path entirely.

The past couple of days have been some of the most fun I’ve had in the blog world.  Ever since Pubsgal brought up the Proper Ollie video, we have had more fun playing around with words and phrases from it.  The thing that’s so funny is that he used someone announcing what he eats as insignificant information.  Really, that’s pretty much what we’re all about around these parts.  To a lot of us, it really is significant.
As a follow up to yesterday’s soup entry, I doctored up some more soup today.  I thawed out the Pubsfolk Especial soup (scroll down for recipe,) and added some boiled potato chunks, and yes, I had a can of green beans that I added to it.  Most satisfying.
And, I broke my no-baking rule, and made a delicious batch of my blueberry scones.  Again, sacrificing for the sake of the new recipe blog.  Got some good pics to add to the recipe.  Of course, I had to sample one, to make sure they were still the ‘best new blueberry scones.

200 calories of most worthy deliciousness.
P.s. I don’t know what happens when the blog changes font and/or format midstream.  Sorry ’bout that.
12 thoughts on “What’s a Girl to Do?

  1. I swear, sugar begets sugar. I try so hard to not even get started because I GO THERE so easily once I do. At least you got up and walked a good portion of those snacks off…that says a lot to how you look at this whole food thing.

    Isn’t it funny when our blogs take on a mind of their own and change fonts midstream? So baffling!

    I wish you were here for Saturday’s Wiener Fest – a huge event all about dachshunds! I will be going by myself, but let’s face it, you’re never really alone when wiener dogs are around. 🙂

    • Yup. I have the ‘limited sugar’ thing down pretty good most days. And life sure is more peaceful that way.

      Oh I wish I could be there. That would be SO FUN to go to a ‘wiener fest’ with you!

  2. Oh, I loved that quote from Mizfit. I see she takes a more relaxed view than I did, but is consistent in the long run.

    I guess I need to follow her philosophy, and don’t sweat the small once-in-a-blue-moon deviations (well, I am HOPING that is as often as I can keep it down to!!).

    Loretta
    =^..^=

  3. I too love her quote.

    And yours:” And life sure is more peaceful that way.”

    that is the truth for sure. Peaceful is exactly the word for it.

    And you are right – pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and on the path again.

    have not yet made soup – but thinking about it.

  4. I have so been there, done that (just this past Wednesday as a matter of fact). Not just with sugary things either. Thankfully, those episodes are few and far between these days.

    My biggest issue, I think, is to overcome the negative thinking the next day. After my awful episode on Wednesday, it took everything I had to either continue the behavior or fast to “make up” the calories. Using sheer will power I forced myself to eat and exercise normally yesterday and of course, feel great today.

    Have a great weekend!

  5. I saw an ad in the paper today for Pugs on Parade this weekend and I thought of you and Mr. Monk. Too bad you weren’t out here to do that! They all get dressed up in costume and go down the street.

    Sugar does beget sugar. I find if I can get control after the first bit of sugar I am okay, but that can really be a herculean effort and sometimes I just don’t bother. At least now I don’t beat myself up about it anymore.

    I have been yelling out “I just ate soup!” for no reason a lot lately and then laughing. That bit has found a home in my funny bone 😀

    • Wow, Pugs in NY, Dachshunds in TX, I am really missing it. That’s one of the reasons that I was attracted to both Dachshunds and Pugs. Their owners love them beyond reason, so I figured there had to be something good about them.

      Yes, as I told Pubsgal, I really wish we could tell Mr. Ollie how very much we have enjoyed his bit of humor. (or did I say that in my own post?)

  6. I’m glad the Proper Ollie video made you laugh! All the posts about it are making *me* laugh. Laughter is so contagious!

    And oh, frustration. Gets the better of me more than I’d like to admit. I’d been doing pretty well with sticking to dinner only lately, then late evening + frustration with the homework watch got me good yesterday. (And it wasn’t even a sugar thing…just a “too much” thing. Although sugar can sure beget sugar.)

    P.S. Hurray for your AWESOME legs! They carried you 4 miles!!!

    • That was the only good thing I could find about my sugarfest. I wasn’t stuffing myself at all.

      And yeah, I am enjoying the longer walks. Feels great, the weather is wonderful, and Noah enjoys too. When the walks increase, gym visits decrease. But its all good, as Mr. Monk would say.

  7. Sounds like you did a good job of regrouping the next day. Celebrate the small victories! And I too have been chuckling at odd moments thinking of Proper Ollie and poor Little Emo Boy.

    I just ate soup!

Leave a Reply

