Building a Better Brownie

After I gave away and finished eating the last of the ‘beet brownies,’  I saw this new recipe on Georgie’s site.  The nutritional stats were really impressive, and her description made me want to try them. They were supposed to be moist and very chocolaty.  These brownies are MOST impressive!  At 207 calories, they only have 8 grams of fat, 16 grams of carbs, and 16 grams of protein!!

Here’s a picture showing you how big they are compared to my hand:

They had a dark chocolate flavor and were very moist.  If you look at the recipe, you will notice that they have no flour, and only 1/2 cup of oatmeal in the whole recipe.  The  high protein ratio comes from egg whites, greek yogurt, and whey protein powder.  When I tasted these, my expectation was not a full fat ‘Mrs. Field’s’ type of brownie.  I wanted to see if there was something that could actually taste good, as compared to some of the high protein energy bars  that look good, but taste bad.  These protein brownies exceeded my expectations!  You’ve done it again, Georgie!

The only changes I made to the recipe was using the vanilla whey protein powder that I had on hand, and adding 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder to compensate for that.  Oh, and of course, I added some chopped walnuts to the top of the brownies.

I wrapped them in saran wrap like Georgie suggested and put them in the freezer.  Today I brought one with me to work, and I am happy to report that they were just as good the second day.  A very satisfying treat.  These are a decadent brownie that can be eaten without guilt!

9 thoughts on “Building a Better Brownie

  1. *squeee!* You tried this recipe! And you answered my question about the whey protein powder substitution. Oh, I can’t wait to try making these! (Dang, that Georgie can whip up a recipe, no?)

  2. aaaugh! Did I ever choose the wrong thing to ban from my life until New Years! It could just as easily have been potatoes or Starbucks coffee, but nooooo, I had to ban chocolate. Oh, well, from the looks of things, you’ll probably still know the recipe in January and, believe me, I’ll be back!

  3. Do you think Soy Protein Powder could be used in place of the Whey Protein Powder? I have it on hand for other recipes and google says you probably can interchange the two. Any thought?

    • Yes! In another recipe, I substituted the other way around–it called for soy, and I used whey, and the recipe came out COMPLETELY wrong. You could go over and ask Georgie–she is very good about answering questions, but my amateur opinion is, no, do not make that substitution.

Leave a Reply

