Please Excuse Me While I Am Creative

Boy, you never know what’s going to appeal to people.  Thanks so much for all the nice comments on the last post.  I wish I could write something meaningful every time I sit down at the computer.

Today I spent a lot of time working on finishing a quilt that I had started quite a while ago.  After a couple of concentrated hours, I was really slowing down.  My brain was tired.  So I decided to quit and go to the gym to wear my body out.  I notice my exercise is often motivated by outside forces.  The long walks–Noah looks quite energetic when I might think about quitting, so I continue on.  The gym today–Vicky had fixed me some turkey bread (man, is this stuff good!) and I wanted it for dinner, so I went on down and worked out.  Neither here nor there.  Glad I have the outside motivators for the times when my inside motivators are on the blink.

Anyway, thought I’d just make this a picture blog.

Not a great picture, I took it through the window.  But I was so impressed  by all these little birds out in the rain.  They looked so happy.  Another reminder of my favorite verse “consider the birds of the air…they don’t worry…”

This deer was about 15 feet from Noah and I on our walk the other morning, and he didn’t seem at all concerned about moving away.  I forgot I had a camera until he moved into the bushes.  Buddy, not all humans are going to whip out a camera to shoot you!

One of my usual ‘unusual’ dinners:

Brussel sprouts with bacon and cranberries, and a bowl of cottage cheese and grapes.

No introductions necessary. I just like it when they act like they like each other.

I made chili the other night for the first time!  I used the recipe in my new cookbook “Nourishing Traditions.”

Topped with avocado, cilantro, green onions, greek yogurt, and a little cheese.

New fuzzy slippers!  I checked Cabela’s when Juice showed her neat hiking boots from them, but I found new slippers.

 

Made my quinoa breakfast (fabulous lol) and added 1/2 cup of pumpkin–even more fabulous!  And I laughed at myself this morning, Lori, as this recipe has quite a few ingredients…

I laugh every time I post a picture like this because it looks like, well, my brother said it best:  “Oh, barf in a bowl.”  There’s no accounting for some people’s taste LOL!

QUILT SHOW!

I believe this quilter spent seven years working on this quilt.  All hand applique and machine quilted.

Worked yesterday and work tomorrow.  Today was a very good day off!  Hope to see you all on the weekend!

Sophie says its time for bed around here.

8 thoughts on “Please Excuse Me While I Am Creative

  1. That deer picture is great – love your nature walks!

    Is it wrong that I want to eat all the toppings on your chili?

    Thanks for the pictures of your kids – they just make my night!

    • Today’s walk would have been great–a flock of young turkeys, a trio of tom turkeys, a couple of deer, and a squirrel close-up. Of course I didn’t have my camera with me.

      Ha ha on the toppings. Sometimes I think, no, I know, that that is why I want to eat something…

  2. I really want to learn to quilt. That is gorgeous!!!

    I need to post new pics of my K9 units. I have a 3rd. He’s pretty cool.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

