We Are Far Too Easily Pleased

With apologies to the great C.S. Lewis, the phrase we are far too easily pleased has been running through my mind ever since Halloween.  While Lewis is speaking of  infinitely more important topics than food, I think it does apply very well to the way many of us view food.

(I was thinking about this topic on a recent walk.  I ‘noticed’ this majestic oak for the first time.  Even though I had been on  this road multiple times, I was always too busy watching the road–never looked up to see what was right in front of me.)

Why do we succumb to the junk food around us–the mini candy bars,  the ‘tv dinners’ with a list of non-food ingredients a mile long, the artery-clogging fast food on every corner?

When you are mourning your loss of these ‘treasures,’ do you stop to consider the wonderful bounty of food that IS available to you?  Is a mini snickers  bar really as tasty as a fresh date topped with a walnut half?  Does a donut really compare to a freshly made ‘protein pancake’ topped with a mashed banana?

Some of the other luxuries I thought about when I said I was going to eat well for the next six days:  Vickie’s wonderful mixture of cottage cheese, crushed pineapple, and walnuts, Pubsgal’s spackle, homemade yogurt with fruit and muesli, wonderful salads, pumpkin custard made with pumpkin that I roasted myself, almond joy oatmeal, banana smoothie, roasted veggies…oh you know I could go on and on about food.

Here is the bounty that I brought home from the store today:

Fresh veggies!

Fresh fruit!

Okay, not from the store today, but had to represent some of my favorite grains and nuts: Oats, quinoa, flax, and walnuts.

Here is the full C.S. Lewis quote:

We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.


 

Next time you are tempted to ‘go on making mud pies in a slum’ think about some of your favorite healthy foods.  If nothing healthy can compare, maybe you need to spend some time cultivating new food choices.  Experiment with new recipes, new food combinations.  Allow yourself to have some higher calorie healthy foods like an avocado, or some walnuts, or whatever your version of a ‘holiday at the sea’ might be.

Doesn’t it feel wonderful in every which way to eat delicious healthy wholesome foods?

17 thoughts on “We Are Far Too Easily Pleased

  1. I was just telling someone today that “I really like the food on my weight loss plan.” And I truly meant it. I never thought I would say that even a few weeks ago, but the way in which my body responds to healthy foods, is almost immediate and quite amazing.

    This is a wonderful post, Debby, and a very timely reminder for me that old habits die hard (chocolate, cola, dips, restaurant food), but it’s never to late to make new habits and develop a taste for that which “does a body good.” I have been one of the most chocolate, sugar, fat addicted people for most of my life, but I am doing it and liking it!

    • Good for you Jane! I’m pretty sure I could rival you at your description “have been one of the most chocolate, sugar, fat addicted people for most of my life, but I am doing it and liking it!”

  2. Don’t apologize to C.S.!! He’s written so much with such great depth and strikes me as having been a humble man. I think he’d be surprised people were still reading his stuff, much less quoting it in blogs in such a useful way. Bravo for your life application analogy. Now I need to stop playing in the mud!

  3. What a beautiful tree! I’m a softie for oak trees. 🙂

    I differ from a lot of folks in that I see the beauty and lusciousness of both the mini-Snickers AND a ripe, juicy pear. I’m fortunate in that I also know the nutritional values of both and recognize that one gets selected and consumed MUCH more frequently. And aren’t I also fortunate to have a choice between them?

  4. I have to say that I believe I can get great satisfaction from many different types of food. I also have to say though, that if I have certain things, like a Milky Way candy bar or a scoop of Ben & Jerry’s, as a treat or an occasional “indulgence” I enjoy it so much more than if I try to make my daily diet out of foods like that.

  5. I go through periods where I am totally happy with my healthy food and prefer. Then I go through times where I crave the not-so-healthy stuff. Sometimes I allow, but I find if I give myself too much slack, it is harder to tighten up again. That sugar monster and all. He’s a beast at times 😀

    • Yup. I really do believe that for me, the sugar monster is not worth fighting with most of the time. Yep, I had to add that most of the time. Because I am pretty sure I am not going to live in this world and never have another decadent cookie or piece of cake.

  6. You are so right on this, and how funny, I came home from the grocery store today with a haul much like yours – asparagus, broccoli, mushrooms, fresh spinach, romaine, clementines, cantaloupe, bananas, ground turkey and ground chicken, Greek yogurt, eggs (you DID want my entire list, right? ;))…I feel so much better when I eat these naturally good foods…and it doesn’t take that much more time to prepare a meal than getting in my car and going through a drive thru. That said, I still have my Dove dark chocolate Promises almost every evening…

      • A couple of weeks ago I made spaghetti sauce using ground turkey and my half Italian husband thought it was the best thing ever…it did taste really good, I’ll admit. 😉 For the chicken, I’m finally going to make Biz’s Buffalo Chicken Chili – I’ll let you know how that turns out.

  7. Oh, nicely written! I’m a sucker for a good quote, and it sure ties in nicely with food choices. I’ll be looking at my husband’s leftover (storebought) chocolate birthday cake with new eyes.

    And I’m laughing, because I just ate spackle for lunch yesterday! The boys were out, and it was just me and Thing 2, and I really felt like a hot bowl of spackle for lunch. I remember being so happy, because it was ALL MY choice and I didn’t have to do the frugal thing and choose leftovers instead.

    • Mmm Mmmm. That spackle is good stuff. Almost like eating a bowl of cookie dough GUILT FREE! And I love how it keeps me full for a LONG time. Did you really eat it hot?

Leave a Reply

