is anybody out there?

Hey there!  Anybody out there still checking on my blog?  Boy have I missed you guys!  In 15 days I only got one five minute chance to check out the internet.  Can you believe that even in one of the biggest slums in Africa they still have an ‘internet cafe?’  I should have taken a picture.  Even on my bravest day in America I wouldn’t have dared to go in such a place.  Anyway, I couldn’t get through to my email, so I just left a quick comment on friend Jill’s blog.  More about Africa on another day.

For now, I just want to say how extraordinarily happy I was to see  Dale and Bev, (my pastor and his wife) waiting fro me at the airport.  At the time I said I was so happy to see people I knew.  And while that was true, I realized later that what was even better was seeing people who KNEW ME, and loved me.  What a blessing.  Something I won’t take for granted for a long time.

Another thing I won’t take for granted is my lovely little home.  Do you know how nice it is to come home to a clean house?  In the past I used to leave in a whirlwind, and then have to come home to something that looked like a tornado came through.  I opened the door and everything looked great.  Sophie and Monk were sleeping in their crates and didn’t even bark when I came in.

So.  You can see that I am just writing about drivel.  Its gonna take some time to process all that I saw and felt.  And I took one thousand and ninety-three photos!!!  Don’t worry, you won’t have to look at them all.

For now I just wanted to say hello, and its good to be home.  I stopped at the grocery store on my way home and stocked up on veggies and fruit and dairy.  All things that I sorely missed over the past two weeks.

Nothing much changes.  Here’s the scene tonight:

Mr.Monk looks like he's gained a few pounds on his vacay. Hmmm, one of those cases where the dog resembles his owner...

 

Sophie in her usual hopeful position on the bed. Its so cold here I might just let her cuddle with me for a while.

So yes.  If you read that caption, it does indeed appear that I gained weight while on mission to the slums of Africa.  Darned embarrassing if you ask me.  I’m hoping some of it is just general travel puffiness.  But I know I’ve got some damage control to take care of.

I guess I’ll try to go to bed and get back on schedule.  I know I am going to want to write more daily drivel.  But I will try to alternate it with fascinating tales from the dark continent.  Why is it called that?

20 thoughts on “is anybody out there?

  1. Hi. Welcome home.

    Waves madly.

    Can’t wait to hear ALL about it.

    Meantime cuddle up with your pets, get some rest, some walks, some of your favourite healthy food and enjoy being home …. back in the real comfort zone.

    Blessings

  2. I couldn’t remember how long you were going to be gone, so I, for one, checked in every single day. Mentally kept the dogs and your blog company. Very glad to have you back. Look forward to hearing all about it. And I see it WAS a mission trip. I couldn’t remember, after you left, where specifically you were going (safari or slums) and if it was more vacation or volunteer. Most of the world lives on carbs. So it is pretty hard to go anywhere (3rd world-ish) and not gain weight. Sounds good that you are immediately focused and stocked.

  3. Welcome back! I’ve been checking because I couldn’t remember how long you were gone for. Having experienced Africa myself, I know you have a lot to process. I look forward to the many posts and revelations we’ll get to share.

  4. YAY!! You’re home!!!! I’ve been thinking about you every day, hoping you were having some truly great experiences. I’m so thankful you are home safe and sound!! I’ll bet your goggies were happy to see you, even if they didn’t bark. 🙂

    You’re blog is pretty!! I love these colors – very serene.

    So so so happy that you are back!!

  5. HI Debby. I just found your site from Shelley’s blogroll, and had to say “hi” and tell you how much I like it. I LOVE the photos (your dogs are ADORABLE!) and will be bookmarking and visiting often. Have a great day!!!

  6. Whoa – I had to double-check to make sure I clicked on the right link! I like your new layout and colors!

    OK, first – WELCOME BACK!!! I missed you. I, too, checked periodically even though my blogroll would have updated had you posted. Just wanted to be sure, you know?

    Your kids don’t even look mad – gotta love that about dogs – you can leave them for how long and all they are is happy to see you when you finally return. Hope the Queen got some good snuggle/burrow time under the covers last night!

    Glad you are home. Looking forward to hearing all about your adventure. Oh, and didn’t you know – you are not supposed to step on the scale after a long trip, especially with air travel! I’ll bet everything is normal within a week on that front. 🙂

    • Hey Shelley! You better believe I am not going to step on the scale. I don’t know if it is true or not, but for almost the entire trip I felt (and looked, if pictures tell the truth) extremely ‘puffy’ (nice way of saying fat.) Then a day or two before we left, Iooked at my legs and they seemed back to normal.

      Anyway, my plan is to eat well for a whole week, exercise as usual, and then weigh myself probably next Sunday or Monday.

      And yes indeedy, me and the living hot water heater cuddled all night. It is deathly cold here!

  7. ((((((Debby!!!!!!)))))) <-Okay, so you'll just have to imagine that that's a ginormous, Amazon-Gal-of-the-Forest, haven't-seen-you-in-what-seems-a-gazillion-years hug! Welcome home, girlfriend!!!

    Er, yes, as a matter of fact, I did miss you. I'll embarrass myself further, and confess that I've been on an "I'm back!" Google reader vigil since Saturday, because Jill wrote that she'd heard from you and that you were coming back around then. 🙂 I'd been holding good thoughts for you and praying for you during your journey, and I'm so happy that you made it back safe & sound. I'm looking forward to reading about your pilgrimage, when you're ready to share it with us.

    And aw, the pups look as adorable as ever. They sure did miss you, didn't they?

    And this? "Do you know how nice it is to come home to a clean house?" Made me chuckle, because it's something that I used to not really care about much until Mr. H&H. (Sort of like the logical way of hanging the toilet paper so the loose end hangs in front, and not the back. Now I'm the one who's picky about it.) He always does a thorough tidying before we go on a trip; we've developed a printable and quite thorough pre-trip checklist. I've come to appreciate this habit very much…especially when we return.

    • Hi Pubsgal. Awww, your virtual hug was every bit as good as seeing people I knew and loved at the airport last night. It sure is good to be back in blogland, and so nice to see all my old friends are still here! I’ve been reading blogs for over two hours, no guilt and no apologies about it.

  8. Welcome home!!! Can’t wait to hear about your trip (no pressure intended there, however). I’m glad you are home safe and sound and that the pups are in good shape. Mr. Monk is looking *ahem* like there’s more of him to love… I see walks in your future, which will probably give you good processing time anyway. You have been missed! And I did check your page many times!

  9. Hooray! You’re home. Welcome back. I will wait patiently for you to process all that you took in, and to sort your photos. From your Christmas post, it was clear you left in the right frame of mind. I’m sure that Africa is better for you being there and you are better for your adventures.

Leave a Reply

