F-V Challenge, Day 6

Guess where I was tonight?  At a concert!!!  Went to see Michael W. Smith and Amy Grant in concert.  It was a blast from the past to be sure.  I saw them when Amy was really popular, and Michael was the ‘warm-up’ for her!  Probably about 1983…  I had a moment of panic when I realized I would be almost two hours from home at the time I was usually in bed…  But it was worth it.  Went with a friend from work, and it was so fun to talk to her without being interrupted by monitor alarms and such!

So it was another dinner out.  Had a DELICIOUS quesadilla–not diet fare to be sure.  Counting the lettuce, tomatoes, and guacamole that was served with it as one of my vegetables for the day, I came in at 4 vegetables for the day, and only 1 1/2 fruits.  I had a big pear salad for lunch, and estimate the baby greens to be at least 3 cups, so that is three servings of vegetables right there.  Salad is definitely one way to get a lot of veggies in.  But I am not going to become a salad fanatic.  I like them, but I would rather have a few less veggies while having more of a variety.  I think that’s healthier overall.  As in, you get a wider range of nutrients, and also you have a wider arsenal of food to choose from, rather than eating the same thing day after day  until you can’t eat it anymore.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that  (Seinfeld reference, anyone?)

Okay, now I’m just rambling.  Its very late, and I’m just trying to give the doggies some ‘quality time’ before I put them back in their crates for the night.

4 thoughts on “F-V Challenge, Day 6

  1. Oh wow, you’ve just seen my two favorites. Add Vince Gill into the mix and concerts don’t get much better. Another reason I am lucky to live in East TN is my proximity to Nashville. Amy and Michael almost always start or end their tours in Nashville and they both do frequent concerts (together or alone or with Vince) as charity events, so it’s easy to see them often. I do NOT take this for granted. Sounds like you had a great time.

    What major city are you closest to?

  2. Oh, fun! Glad you got to have a night out with your work friend and do something a little outside the box! And boy, was I surprised to read what time you commented this morning – now I know why! 🙂

    I love salads, although the “rom-tom-cel-cuke” combo gets a little old after awhile. Have you tried Roni’s broccoli salad on Green Light Bites? That one is pretty good, and a little different than the same ol’ lettuce. A local place here makes a chopped salad with apple, raw cauliflower, broccoli, raisins, and cheese in a peppercorn ranch dressing; it’s much better when everything is chopped up into little bits, one time they made it way too chunky. A light version of that would probably be pretty nutritious and tasty.

Leave a Reply

