Delicioso!

This combination was simply one of the best things I’ve had to eat in recent memory.  That includes the delicious frozen yogurt I had today!

Baked yam topped with onions, mushrooms, and spinach.

Bake a yam at 400 degrees until it is VERY soft.  Probably 45 minutes to an hour.  While it is cooking, slice some brown mushrooms, some onion, and chop some fresh spinach.  Put about 1/2 Tbsp olive oil in a pan, and add the onions.  Cook for about 5 minutes and add the mushrooms.  Cook for about 5 minutes more and add the spinach and cook until wilted (3 minutes?)  Split the yam and spray with butter spray.  Top with veggie mix and enjoy.

Back to the frozen yogurt I had today.  Blush is one of my most favorite froyo places.  Their yogurt actually tastes like it comes from milk.  Unfortunately for most of you, they are only located in the bay area (check them out Pubsgal!)  I had a small cup to celebrate a wonderful day with my dad.  His health crisis the other day was a flair up of his congestive heart failure.  I went back down to the Bay Area today to take him to his doctor’s appointment.  He was feeling so much better, and the weather was gorgeous, instead of raining like had been predicted.  We had a cup of soup afterward, and I treated him to half of a Krispy Kreme donut.  Oh, he was in seventh heaven!

Thanks for all your nice comments yesterday.  It is very wonderful to have so many BIF’s!!!

11 thoughts on “Delicioso!

  1. Hurray for your dad feeling better!

    That potato looks divine. Exactly the type of idea I need to add some pizzaz to my lunches.

    Here’s to sunshine filling your weekend!

    • I think your wish for sunshine came true!! The sun is gloriously bright this morning–heading out for a walk with the doggies!

  2. So glad you had a good day with your dad! I thought about you all day yesterday.

    Okay, I love sweet potatoes. And I love onions and mushrooms. And I love spinach. I never in a million years would have thought of putting them all together!! I am definitely going to try that this weekend – I’m enjoying my new-found love of veggies and this recipe is definitely one that I want to try asap!! 🙂

  3. Glad your dad is doing better and you had a good day together. If I had 1/2 a fresh Krispy Kreme, I would probably be in heaven, too. I kinda miss KK as there aren’t any around here.

    • LOL’ing at your comment about KK. I was explaining to Dad how they started out on the east coast, and when they first opened out here, there were lines around the block waiting for their donuts.

  4. Debby, I’m fairly new to your blog, but want you to know I thoroughly enjoy your posts.
    So glad to hear your dad is on the mend.

    Thanks for posting this recipe…sweet potatoes and spinach are probably my two favorite things out there, I eat them A LOT. That looks delicious, I never thought about merging them together like that.

  5. Hi. Congestive heart failure is so scary. I am extremely grateful Mum hasn’t had an attack in more than 3 years. The first time we thought we’d definitely lost Mum as after a period of gasping and heaving for air, she turned blue and her breathing so faint as to be barely detectable. Then the medics arrived and furosemide, (sp. Diuretic), and morphine injected into her. She was sent to hospital but next day discharged. Happened several times until we got some decent advice. First important thing was for her to sleep propped up-right at night and the 2nd was the addition of a small dose of morphine before going to bed.

    It is amazing for us to see her more well now than 18 months ago. She has even had digoxin reduced and stopped taking blood thinner. In New Zealand most Drs. prescribe wararfin which is also the most common ingredient in rat killer. I always questioned the use of this particular, nasty, drug. Her BP is still almost off the scale but that, we’re told, is not uncommon in older folk.

    It felt as though we were watching her die by degrees. I prayed, telling God this wasn’t right. Whether that is part of the equation I or not I’m sure it has helped.

    I can imagine how awful your day was and the drive into The Bay Area must have been dreadful. We live in dread of another episode and hope it never happens.

    We have scary pictures to deter people from smoking but heart disease remains the greater threat and a major cause of heart disease is overweight and high BP. I know seeing Mum should have scared me into losing weight but somehow it hasn’t worked that way.

    Do hope you don’t have any more scary days like that.

    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

