Weekend of Foodie Experiments

Harro everbody!  How was your weekend?  Mine was just fine, thank you very much.  I finally got to the grocery store and stocked up on regular supplies, as well as getting some specialty items I had been looking for.  We have a health food store in our little town that carries all kinds of interesting things.  Some are quite reasonable, and others are priced out of this world.

Anyway, on Friday I was in the mood for some real pasta (probably because my brother had mentioned it to me the night before.)  I rarely eat pasta any more, but I still had some Barilla Plus thin spaghetti in the cupboard.  This stuff looks and tastes like regular pasta but has 10g protein and 4g fiber per serving.  Anyway, I tried to make a simple mix of fresh tomatoes, spinach, garlic, and olive oil, along with a little mozarella.  This was okay, but didn’t taste as good as it looks–kinda bland.  Anybody have any ideas about what was missing?  I actually added about a teaspoon of the pizza sauce to 1/2 of it, and that actually perked it up a little.  Now that I’m thinking about it, just some italian seasonings would have been a good addition.

Mozzarella added in:

Mozzarella melted and mixed in:

So I picked up some of that vital wheat gluten and finally had all the ingredients to try Lori’s Magic Rolls.  Oh my goodness.  Those are quite magical.  Enough so that I ate two of them the first night.  Then they went in the freezer. I’m anxious to try one as a hamburger bun.  Its fascinating that they only have about 3g of carbs.  And like Lori said, they definitely have the taste and texture of cream puff pastry, or the other thing I thought of was that they tasted a bit like French Crullers (donuts.)  Only my very most favorite donuts in the world.  I never eat them, except maybe 3 or 4 times a year when I treat my dad to one.  Another interesting fact:  I looked up French Cruller recipes, and they only have 131 calories each.  That’s because they’re mostly air!  But the difference between the Magic Rolls and the French Cruller is that the Magic Rolls don’t have sugar, and they DO have protein.  A much better choice, IMO.

Next experiment.  I had an idea to use the Ginger Cookie recipe as a jumping off place for creating my own version of Vicky’s Fiber Doodles.  So I picked up some chia seeds and some psyllium fiber at the Health Food store and set about manipulating the recipe.  I halved the amount of sugar in the recipe, and used half the amount of flour, substituting chia seeds, psyllium fiber, and flaxseed meal for the other half of the flour.  I am very happy with the results.  Just mildly sweet, crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside.  The recipe is over on the other blog.

I didn’t even remember, but I took quite a few photos of the doggies this weekend.  I tried to get all of them in one shot, but something about the angle makes Noah look oddly smaller than the little ones.

Then I tried to just take pictures of Noah.  He gives me the funniest looks sometimes.  But as soon as I get the camera out he becomes a moving target.

Then, I tried to take a picture of Mr. Monk on his pillow.  But as soon as the camera comes out, the photog whore jumps in front!

Sometimes, Mr. Monk just tolerates Her Majesty.

My moods have been playing havoc with me.  Down one day, up the next.  I blame it on stress/being tired.  Maybe it is hormones making their last stand!  I’ve gotten in a decent amount of exercise–mostly walks with the dogs, but went to the gym on Thursday morning and this morning.  A few less-than-stellar food choices, including some trail crack mix on the way home from church.  We’ll just call that lunch…

17 thoughts on “Weekend of Foodie Experiments

  1. LOL and Noah. He looks like he is saying “OMG!!”

    I bet if you roasted those tomatoes to caramelize them a bit, that would have added a lot to the flavor.

  2. These pictures just made my night! I literally LOL’d at them – I swear, Sophie is staring into my eyes through the computer screen! Plus she is saying to you “Mom, you still like me best, right?” Noah is giving us the white eye, and I love how he’s resting his chin on Mr. Monk’s foot. Mr. Monk really is the tolerant gentleman of the bunch. Deep sigh…I needed these pictures – thank you!

    • Oh, I’m glad you liked them! You could get a full-time job as Her Majesty’s interpreter–you really understand her. She spends a lot of time worrying about whether or not I like her best. I don’t know why. Who spends every single morning and every single night on my lap???

  3. That pasta looks amazing. Ilove new and inventive ways to eat pasta so I will definitely try that the next time I make some. And your dogs are sooo cute. Wonderful post.

  4. Do you have one of those little Italian Herb Grinders put out by McCormick/Schilling? Find it in the herbs and spices section of the supermarket. Even non-adventurous pizzas made on 1-point English muffins with a little sauce and a little cheese are great. Takes the place of salt! Darling dawgs . . .

  5. Sounds like a fun weekend. I love pasta of any kind so try to eat it rarely. It could almost be a trigger food for me. What size plate is in your picture? Salad plate??

    • That’s a salad plate. I’m afraid my big stack of dinner plates don’t get much work around here any more. I like pasta, but I just decided it was something I could live without. Kind of decided that when I decided to minimize wheat in my diet.

  6. I would have caramelized the tomatoes and used Parmesan instead of mozzarella – or used smoked mozzarella, plus sprinkled Italian seasonings. A lot of the veggies flavors are bland so you need a little something to punch things up.

    How cute those doggies are. I bet sometimes just looking at them makes you happy!

    • Yes! I remember that parmesan was also the missing ingredient! I went to use it and it was all moldy, darn it! I did saute the onions, but caramelize?–just leave them in the pan longer?

  7. You’re so adventurous in your cooking! I’m terrible WITH a recipe, let alone without! I wish I could be the kind of cook that just whips things up and they turn out great. C’est la vie. *sigh*

    The goggies are cracking me up! Mr. Monk needs a top hat and a cane and he’d be all set! Of course Sophie needs a tiara, and Noah…well he just needs a stick! 🙂

    • You cracked me up with your doggie dressing comments. Don’t you think Mr. Monk needs a monacle too? Especially since I think he can’t see that well.

      And cooking? You could do it if you just spent a lot of time practicing it. Eliminate the husband and the three kids and the job and you’d have plenty of time to practice LOL!

  8. I’m so going to make those rolls, they look delicious and might be just the thing to help my carb cravings, thanks for posting.
    I make the exact same pasta, but I do use Parmesan cheese. Italian herb mixture might also help. Mine is a bit bland, but it does satisfy my pasta craving about once a month.

  9. I would add fresh basil to the pasta. I need to plant some more this summer.

    Love how the queen commands the camera!

    • Yum yum, fresh basil. I tend to think of it only in the summertime! Even some dried basil might add to it…

      p.s. glad to hear from you!

  10. I just bought vital wheat gluten! (LOL!) So I could try those rolls of Lori’s, of course. They sound yummier and yummier the more I read about them.

    Oh, the moods! Me too! I’m thinking I must be in some weird hormonal swirl myself. Ack!!! Lunchtime walks outdoors are helping me, though, especially when I can chat on the phone!

Leave a Reply

