Food Again

Howdy folks!  I’ve got a whole post about all my wonderful food adventures, and hardly any pictures!  You’ll just have to use your imaginations.

Yesterday I started the day off with Lori’s wonderful protein pancakes.  Well, for me, its just one big pancake.  I have it the same way every time.  Bake in about 3-4 walnut halves, chopped.  And top with two ‘banana cubes’  thawed of course.  These are the mashed extra ripe bananas that I freeze in ice cube trays.  They are more than sweet enough to top these pancakes.

I had some chores to do, and knew I would be gone during lunch time, so I made a plan.  One of my ‘chores’ was going to the gym, so decided I would pick up one of Vicky’s creations for lunch.  Edemame tofu salad–just edemame, corn, tofu, sesame oil and sesame seeds.  A very delicious and filling combination.

On to Walmart, where they finally had some of these back in stock.

I LOVE these boxes!  They were in the hardware department, but were labeled ‘Stanley–Barbara’s Way.’  I think designed by a woman FOR women.  I love how the thread spools fit almost exactly in each little compartment.  Each compartment comes out of the box. I love that the spools are sideways so you can see exactly what you’ve got, and best of all, you can pick these up and carry them around, put them upside down even, and the spools cannot move.  And yes, as a matter of fact, I DO need all that thread.

Next stop Starbuck’s.  I wasn’t actually in a very good mood this day, so I actually gave myself permission to get a treat from their case.  But after reviewing all the options, I decided I would rather stick with my planned nutty nibby cookies (from Vicky.) I do love it when I make good choices.  Progress is slow, but its there.

Which reminds me, I wanted to be sure to mention Lynn’s post about her weight loss (and gain) history.  Her history is similar to so many of us who have lost a lot of weight.  Numerous attempts.  But the most fascinating thing to me was the chart that she included.  It was such a graphic illustration of how the weight comes on, and how it comes off.  The weight usually accumulates over a number of years (14 in Lynn’s case, and I think over 20 in my case),   and then we lose the weight in a couple of years, which seems like forever.  But when you see it on the chart, you see that that is a very short period of time compared to the time we took gaining and maintaining our top weight.  I just think we should keep that in mind when we are bemoaning the fact that it takes a lot of time to learn to maintain a weight loss.  Here’s my comment from her post:

You know what impressed me the most? That weight chart. It took you 14 years to gain from 140 up to 300. And then only two years to lose that weight. Doesn’t it make sense that it would take (us) the same amount of time to learn to live with (maintain) the smaller body? But we’re usually so impatient with ourselves.

Back to the food.  I love my microwave popcorn popper. I discovered that I could put the quarter cup of popcorn in there along with a teaspoon of butter and some salt, and it comes out exactly the way I like it.

I’ve had a couple of failed batches of homemade yogurt.  So the last stop after Starbuck’s was to run into Safeway and get a little container of their plain Lucerne yogurt to use as a starter.  I swear by this stuff.  The yogurt comes out absolutely perfect with it every time!

When I came home I decided to make some walnut butter.  I had an excess of walnuts in the house.  I made one batch of plain walnut butter and another batch of chocolate walnut butter.  Most excellent!  (Just add in a couple of Tbsp of cocoa powder, a little agave nectar, and some salt.  I think I also added a little olive oil.)

For dinner that night I made a Veggie stir-fry (onion, mushroom, carrots, zucchini, spinach)  and topped it with some spaghetti sauce that I had left over.  This combination of vegetables is so very delicious to me.  I use a vegetable peeler to make long peels of the carrots and zucchini.  Cook the onion for at least 5 minutes first, then add the mushrooms, carrot and zucchini peels, and lastly add the fresh chopped spinach.  LOVE.

THEN I made some rice pudding for dessert.  I got that new Trader Joe’s cookbook (which BTW, I love.  Pretty pictures, simple delicious recipes, and all the nutritionals are included ,) and the first thing I saw was their recipe for rice pudding.  So simple.  I did  really think about whether or not I was going to use the packaged pudding mix, since I just don’t eat packaged foods much any more.  This was so delicious and so simple.  I used one of those microwave bowls of brown rice from Costco (2 servings of rice), instant sugar free vanilla pudding, 2 cups milk, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.  Oh, and I added some raisins.  SOOOO yummy.  I will probably take it to work tomorrow to share.

Today I was going to meet a friend for lunch.  I seem to be on a nicely controlled eating spree lately, and was trying to think where we could eat that wouldn’t be too ‘pricey’ (calorie-wise.)  And I came up with eating at the gym!  Vicky always has some good food available.  My friend agreed.  That was great.  I knew exactly what I was getting.  350 calories instead of ‘hoping’ something was 500.   It was nice enough that we could sit outside at the nice tables they have set up.  This could become a very good healthy habit.

Tonight I had a special dinner.  Have been wanting to try local grass fed beef for forever.  Finally decided to pick up a steak (prompted by Lori’s blog about beef!)  Oh my goodness, this was most enjoyable.  And the fresh asparagus wasn’t bad, either!

That’s a salad plate, BTW.

And in honor of Saint Patrick’s Day, I’ll show you the only reason I even remember this holiday…

A See’s Spud!!  Made only at this time of year.  I used to buy these by the score…  I’m actually not going to eat this one tonight–too full.  Half of a spud is 170 most worthy calories.

Here’s the scene today in the little by-the-sewing machine-doggie bed.

I think Sophie is mildly disturbed that Monk discovered her secret.

And here’s how I finished off that little ‘fans’ quilt.

And now its back to work.  26 shifts left.

 

13 thoughts on “Food Again

  1. I have the exact same popcorn popper! Never tried putting any butter in it – geez, then I’d have to wash the thing. Hopefully my laziness will overcome a buttery indulgence – that is a slippery slope for me, butter.

    Love how appealing your thread looks in those cases…what a great idea!

    I had grass-fed beef for the first time when I was in Oregon and boy, was it good. I could really taste a difference. We don’t eat beef very often, so when we do, I’m thinking of switching to the good stuff – why not, right?

    Mr. Monk looks like he could sleep anywhere. Whereas Sophie looks like she must make things to her liking before she can fall asleep.

    • Sophie was sound asleep when I noticed them. But of course she leaped up when I went to get the camera. And I had to wait a long time before she even relaxed that much. She does not want to miss out on ANYTHING. I like to see them cuddling because I leave them together when I go to work and I always imagine them in opposite corners of the blanket saying “MINE!”

      The guy who sold me the beef said the trick was to cook it for less time than regular beef.

  2. “A See’s Spud!!”

    is that a muffin? spud makes me think potato – is that a potato with massive cinnamon on it?

    I too just love veggies with spaghetti sauce – seriously love it.

    • Oh you gave me a good laugh this morning. I hesitated to include that because it might be a ‘trigger food’ for someone. But as long as people think its a potato with massive amounts of cinnamon, I don’t think it will trigger anyone.

      The spud is candy. See’s is the most famous chocolates company in California And the best, IMO…

      • I couldn’t quite imagine how you would be thrilled with a cinnamon/baked potato. I eat a lot of cinnamon (persian food) in dishes, but that was a bit much to consider.

  3. I don’t even use thread that much but I want one of those cases!

    All your food sounds absolutely delicious. You’re right, it feels good (better) when we make good choices.

    Never heard of nor tasted a See’s Spud. Now I wonder what I’m missing.

  4. I really like your comment about Lori’s chart. We are so impatient! (and by we, I really mean me).

    I know it’s called a Spud, but my Spidey sense is telling me it’s candy! Don’t tell me what it’s made of – let me imagine it in my wildest dreams. 🙂 Was it as worthy as you remembered?

    Sophie looks a little irked that Mr. Monk is invading her personal space!! I love it!

    I love how your fan quilt turned out – vary nice! 🙂

  5. I did like your comment to Lynn. I still have strange issues with what I really look like and what I do look like. It’s getting better, but I wonder if it will be another 15 years before I get it.

    See’s spud looks very intriguing to me…

  6. Hi Debby, wow you had a productive day filled with good choices! Big AWWWW for the dog photo, and big OOOOH for the thread case AND the fan quilt. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • Hi Liz, here’s the link to detailed directions on how I make my own yogurt. I love it so much, and I was not a big fan of commercial yogurt prior to this. http://debbycooks.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/homemade-yogurt/

      Not sure if I’ll do call or not. I am determined to never work another 12 hour shift. But I kind of hope they might want me to work some 6 or 8 hour shifts. Of course, I also would like to try living without any ‘work’ at all. We’ll see.

  7. Great post. I love the variety in your posts. Even though all those spools of thread will last me for a loooong time, I’m going to try to get one (shhh! don’t tell my decluttering me). I’m glad to see you have that popcorn popper–I love mine. I’ll have to try your recipe. Thanks for your kind comment on my post, all prayers are welcome.

  8. Great post, Debby, with lots of good information! I’m with Vickie–I didn’t know what a “See’s spud” is.

    I’m also going to try the grass-fed beef. We don’t eat much beef, so the cost will even itself out in our food expenses.

    I love the dynamics between Sophie and Mr. Monk. Sophie appears to be “long suffering,” but yet very tolerant of Mr. Monk–like one would be tolerant of a pesky brother. Very cute pair!

Leave a Reply

