And snow.

What a crazy mixed up day!  In review, it was a pretty terrific day, but for a while there…

I’ve been planning a special evening for women, a ‘spiritual formation salon,’ for a long time.  Tonight was the night for it.  I was going to fix a simple dinner and we would spend time talking about our journey as Christians.  I was nervous, but I was ready.  So this morning (in the rain) I headed down to get a few groceries for the dinner I planned to fix.  With a stop at the gym on the way.  Oh, it was a good day at the gym.  NO ONE was in the free weights room.  Woo hoo!  I had fun.

Back home I got busy.  I had seen Helen’s baked egg cup that she named Green, Eggs, and Ham. Clever name, and it looked simple, no fail, and very tasty.  Decided it would be just perfect for the main dish.  With a little consult from Helen, I made a large dish in a 9X12 pan.  It came out perfect.  I followed Helen’s recipe, except I used spinach, and added a few bits of red bell pepper, and baked it for 45 minutes instead of 35.  Thanks for the assist, Helen!

I wanted to try her version with the broccoli, so I made a couple of individual servings with the broccoli.  I tasted this one–DELISH!

As soon as I popped those in the oven, I got busy putting together the ingredients for the bran muffins. This is one of my most labor-intensive recipes, with the most ingredients, but they are so delicious that they are worth it.  This batch has the original recipe’s chopped apples and raisins.

Then I hustled around doing a little bit of last minute paperwork.  I got dressed and was all ready to leave and the phone started ringing.  Long story short, we had to cancel the evening because it was snowing.  My friends on the east coast must really laugh at us Californians.  A wee bit of snow and we close down.  I guess we just aren’t as prepared for the snow out here.  I was REALLY bummed out.   Basically the whole day shot.  So I went for a walk in the snow.

Here’s my new secret weapon I got just the other day at the thrift store.  I was VERY excited about this purchase! I am very tired of taking Noah for walks in the rain and the snow and coming home with sopping wet tennis shoes.  These worked great.  I think they’re actually supposed to be pulled on OVER your shoes, but I didn’t know that when I bought them.  Next time I’ll wear a couple pair of socks inside.  They had very good traction.

This is the typical scene the whole time it is raining or snowing outside.  Sophie and Monk standing right by the front door doing their very best to look miserable so I will let them back inside.

The daffodils have about had it with all the rain and snow.

Only one member of this family is happy that it is snowing.  Basically Noah is happy any old time.

So we headed out.  It was quite outstanding.  About four inches of snow was dumped in about 15 minutes.  Leaving the house,  no one had walked or driven on the road yet.

Noah and I left tracks in the snow.

I had an umbrella, but Noah looked like this after only 10 minutes of walking in the snow.

I love this shot–he had snowflakes sticking to his eyebrows.

So after I got over my disappointment, it actually was a pretty terrific day in review.  Another day of pristine eating.  I will take the egg dish to work tomorrow (I don’t think egg dishes freeze well, do they?) and of course the muffins are in the freezer already for my own enjoyment.  We rescheduled for next week.  I checked the weather and it is supposed to be 65 degrees and sunny.   Do you suppose we all might be able to make it out?

8 thoughts on “And snow.

  1. Noah looks like he has snow dreadlocks in that first snowy picture! I like your rubber boots – it sounds like with all the rain and snow you’ve had, they are a definite necessity!

    Your (and Helen’s) egg dish looks so good! Too bad the get-together didn’t work out (funny, I thought Texas was the only state that canceled everything because of snow!), but I know your co-workers will be happy to see such a good meal come in. 🙂

  2. Aw, sorry you had to cancel your evening. I’ll bet your coworkers will be happy to take care of that egg dish for you!

    We haven’t had any snow here in a while, but it’s been cloudy and cool. I’m ready for warmer temps. Bring it on, Spring!!

  3. Crazy ups and downs here too. We had been predicted for 4-7 inches and very thankfully we got only about 1 1/2 and it was melted by the end of the day. So ready for spring on the right coast.

    The 9×13 pan looks great! Love the pop of color provided by the red pepper. I am sure you will be quite popular at work today.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Yeah – that weather looks like around here. I am tired of seeing it LOL!

    I bet Noah really likes the snow. He seems built for cold weather 😀

  5. Our cold weather came back and I am glad!! It had gotten too hot, too soon. Everything was green with the dreaded pollen and the dogwoods were about to be long gone before the festival was even on the radar!

    I’m just trying to make you feel better! Love the pics!

  6. Aw, sorry you had to postpone your get-together! But gosh, that casserole looks hea-ven-ly! I bet your coworkers were so happy to help you eat it. 🙂 I know I sure would have grabbed a fork and done my part!

    If that’s Mr. Monk trying to look miserable, he’s not doing a great job of it. Poor Sophie is much more convincing. (Not to mention your poor daffodils!)

    That one photo looks like you’re in a snow globe! Thing 1 would exclaim how it looks like a “winter wonderland!” Yes, even at age 9, he still says stuff like that. 🙂

    • You are right. Mr. Monk is a much better sport about cold weather than Sophie. However, he is not really a fan of going outside at all. He much prefers it when I let him out of his crate in the morning and he can toddle across to the big chair without stopping to go outside at all.

      Love the snow globe thought!

Leave a Reply

