Weigh In

171.4!  Scale’s going in the right direction. I am really pleased with this.  I think I might be in the groove.

Not much to report.  Its been a busy few days.  Thursday we had the Spiritual Formation Salon that got cancelled due to snow the week before.  It was a wonderful gathering of women sharing their spiritual journeys with each other.  And my chicken taco soup was a winner.  It was a combination of different things I had seen on the web.  Just threw the chicken in the crockpot and cooked it for 8 hours.  Oh heck, I’ll post the recipe over on the other blog.  It was really really simple and very tasty.

Friday was work, another difficult day.  The dad of the baby I was taking care of brought in a homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookie for me at the end of the day.  And you better believe I ate that.

Then Saturday I spoke at a women’s luncheon at my church about my trip to Africa.  Surprisingly, I was very relaxed about it, and I was super happy that they had a salad potluck!  Very pleased with myself that I took 4 bites of dessert and then pushed the plate very far away from myself.  I really enjoyed talking about my trip again, and what it meant to me.  It reminded me that I never finished writing about the trip on this blog.  I might do one more blog entry because I do have a lot of really great pictures to share.

I am getting ready for a little trip to see my BFF (who is doing W.W.) so we have talked about how we are going to stay on the straight and narrow this time.  She eats a little differently than me, so I am going to take a cooler bag with some of my favorite lunch and breakfast stuff in it.  Dinner we do the same, and we will definitely have some popcorn in the evening (she is the best popcorn maker in the world) and we will probably have frozen yogurt one day.  I am really looking forward to this  trip.

Not a whole lot more to say tonight, so I’ll just share some pictures.  I have to work tomorrow, and then leave early Tuesday morning, so Noah is already at ‘camp.’  He LOVES it there.  I was sad to leave him, but he didn’t give me a backward glance.

Sophie and Monk are enjoying a little quiet time!

Here’s some of the food from this week.  Made a batch of my fried rice.  It really does well as leftovers.  It was really good with the broccoli in it.

Tonkght’s salad–romaine lettuce, shredded carrots and zucchini, and raisins and sunflower seeds.  Some avocado would have been a nice addition.

Over and out.  Have a great week!  I know I will.

14 thoughts on “Weigh In

  1. Congrats on your weight loss! You’re doing great Debby!

    I think it’s a great idea to seek a partner to keep you accountable, and even if you are using different nutrition plans, the basic premise of supporting each other will carry you both through.

    I love your adorable doggies, and that foods looks awesome too!

    Have a wonderful week ahead 🙂

    Georgie

  2. tuna and onion would have been good on that salad too.

    (fried rice looked very good too)

    congrats on your loss! (did you start at 174 or 175 range – trying to remember-?)

    is your ‘good buddy’ jill doing well too? fun for you two to have partners. I can see that would help a lot.

    • Onion was missing! ( I was trying to recreate a salad I had had in a restaurant.) Yes, I agree tuna too. I don’t think of it much muself, but its one of the favorite salads I buy from Vicky.

      I started at 174.

  3. It’s encouraging to me that several of us who struggled (not sure that’s the right word) towards the end of 2010 and into 2011 are back on the right track. Lots of different reasons for the slow-downs, but still helpful to me to have the support when the enthusiasm picks back up. You have always been a help to me!

  4. Good job on the less Debs!!! You are smokin!!

    I would love to see another post on Africa. I think it is so amazing that you went – I don’t think I would ever get tired of seeing photos of your trip.

    I now have two sticky notes on my computer reminding me to look up your chicken taco soup and to buy ingredients for your salad up there. I’m looking for new recipes and these look perfect!

    The dogs look like they are SO OVER the photo session. “Oh great mom’s taking pics again. Okay sit here nicely for one or two. Okay that’s enough mom. Sigh. Do you mind? I’m trying to nap here!” heehee!

    Have fun with your BFF!! 🙂

  5. Is the Queen wearing a diamond-studded collar?!? LOVE.

    Congrats on your downward-moving scale!!! Great job – and I love that you said “you better believe I ate it” with regard to that cookie…amen, sister! 🙂

    Enjoy the time with your BFF – there is nothing like that. 🙂

  6. Hi!
    I wanted to congratulate you on your weight loss, and determination! I also wanted to commend you on including links to books and sermons about God and spirituality. I know so many people that miss that step, and don’t realize that they can never fill that void on there own. I find that my clients have the greatest long term success when they realize there is something greater out there. That they have a greater purpose. I wish you all the luck with your weight loss, and keep up the fantastic attitude. I would love to read about your Africa trip!
    Barbara

  7. Yeay!!! Glad your plan is working for you!

    And that salad looks so tasty! I agree, avocado would be great on something like that.

    Love the doggie photos, especially Mr. Monk resting his chin on his paw. He looks so pensive.

    Hope you have a great time with your BFF!

Leave a Reply

