Whatsup?

Man I want to blog.  I want to say something.  But nothing comes to mind.

Last week was pretty darn stressful, if you want to know.  Everything went as well as it possibly could have really.  We had the memorial service for my dad on Saturday afternoon.  And I drove home Sunday morning, arriving to SNOW and no electricity!  Come on!  Anyway, the electricity came back on pretty fast.  I unloaded a boatload of stuff out of my car, and then took off to pick up Noah.

Amazingly, I didn’t gain any weight while I was gone.  I think its because I ate my own stuff every single day for breakfast and lunch.  Dinner and evening snackage was pretty much a crapshoot.  The word crap seems to have wormed its way back into my daily, no, hourly conversation.  Sorry ’bout that.

And then Monday morning, right back on track with my eating.  I amaze myself.  I’m trying something new, which does not involve movement, thank goodness, to get some of this weight off.  I’ll let you know in a week if its working.

‘Which does not involve movement’–yeah, not a lot of movement going on around here.  Between the rain and my general malaise, not a lot of activity going on.  Maybe I’ll make myself go to the gym tomorrow.  Cammy wrote a really good blog about motivation.  And  Loretta  wrote a wonderful blog comparing the seasons to our weight loss journey.  Even in the dead of winter, when it seems nothing is going on, there is still a chance that things will come back to life in the spring.

I’m still catching up on blog reading.  I’m trying to finish quilt projects.  And actually, I am preparing to put some of my quilts in two different shows.  I can’t remember what I told you before.  But back in March I went to a wonderful conference called Intersection of Art and Faith.  So I met some fellow Christian artists, and that’s how I’ve gotten invited to show my quilts. Who knew?  Another of those ‘hidden worlds.’

Did I tell you I’m retiring LOL?  Well, the paperwork has been done, and I actually wrote a letter of resignation to my boss.  Yikes.  That letter made it seem more real than all the papers I had signed the week before.  June 28 is my last day of work!  I won’t be a neonatal intensive care nurse anymore!  It seems so strange, but it also seems like the only thing to do.

Changing the subject to topics much more familiar to me… here’s my eats for the day.

This morning I tried something new–almond meal pancakes.  VERY low carb, but kind of costly calorie-wise.  I enjoyed these.  Not nearly as good as my regular protein pancakes.  But they did hold me until noon.  That is a good breakfast.  The recipe made 5 pancakes–2 1/2 was a nice sized serving at 350 calories.  Topped with mashed banana from my freezer, mixed with a little sugar-free syrup.  There are a lot of almond meal pancake recipes out there.  This is the one I tried.  Only I left the agave nectar out.  Not really necessary in pancakes.

Strawberries and cottage cheese.  How can you improve on that?  Oh, you can add some chopped walnuts, that’s how!

Does everything taste better with sauteed onions?  And to think that I didn’t eat onions until I was in my late 20’s!  That’s just some cut up zucchini along with the onions, and a nice piece of sirloin roast on the side.

Not pictured was my afternoon snack of Spackle 2.0 (I’m still not tired of this stuff.  I ate it every single morning in my hotel room last week!)  And tonight’s snack is still in the oven.  I’m making some of those Crispy Pecans.

I thought I’d end by sharing a little quilt I made a few years ago for my dad.  He liked bears a lot.  I labeled this “An Old Bear Dreams of Paradise.”

(this quilt is a Ryan McKenna design.)

13 thoughts on “Whatsup?

  1. Glad you’re home – and things went as well as could be expected. I hope you find some peace and serenity now. That quilt you made for your dad is so beautiful…what a lovely gift that I’m sure he cherished.

    How wonderful that you didn’t gain any weight last week – that sure says a lot to eating some basic meals…even if you go all off for a couple, it must keep things even. Good to know, right?!?

    I can’t believe your retirement date is almost here. That sure came fast (I know you wanna smack me for saying that, lol)! How very exciting to be approaching the ending of one big part of your life and the beginning of another. Can’t wait to see what you end up doing. 🙂

  2. I had dry pan fried onions and zucchini and mushrooms myself last night. added chicken. I never get tired of that combination.

    glad things are settling back into normal for you. can’t believe you are still dealing with snow. . .

  3. I’ve really missed your posts! Thought of you when we passed a sign to the National Quilt Museum in Paducah, KY. We’ve been wanting to explore Paducah and may stop for a night on our way back home.

    Can’t believe your retirement date is almost here. It’ll be a challenge getting used to answering the question, “what do you do?” But remember, Debby is many different things and neonatal intensive care nurse was only one of those.

    • Sharon–stop if you can! The quilts in that museum are unbelievable! And I’ve only seen pictures of them. I have wanted to go to Paducah for the show for a few years now.

  4. Most of us totally understand that “I don’t know what to write” thing and it’s very understandable with what you’ve been dealing with. I hope you are finding peace in your soul as you go through the valley of grief.

    Well I knew you were a nurse but had no idea it was neonatal… as I’ve experienced that part of the hospital personally with 2 nieces, I have a whole new appreciation for your work Debby! Whatever will you do with yourself upon retirement? Perhaps make some more gorgeous quilts…. I’d buy one to support your retirement!

  5. That quilt is so gorgeous!! I love it!! I want to be that bear.

    I’m going to have to break down and make the Spackle. You know what I’ve noticed about you and the way you eat? It’s all very simple. For some reason I think I have to make these elaborate dinners with 5 different items, so that there will be something for everyone. I guess that’s because I want everyone to be happy, and really one of the times I feel the most successful is when I cook a dinner that EVERYONE likes. Those times are rare! 🙂 Simplicity is good though, so maybe that should be my goal for the summer – to simplify our dinners. 🙂

    • I grew up eating that way too Jill (the five items.) And for a while while I was losing weight, I used to like to set out a buffet–5 or six different things to eat. But you’re right, now its one bowl or two things. And lots of times its stuff that’s already made so its REALLY simple.

      It might take a while to convert your family. But if they really like what you’re serving, maybe they’ll be okay with one or two things.

      I never thought about it before, but a lot of my food is kind of like a casserole–everything you need all in one bowl. Hey, less dishes to wash too!

  6. Glad to hear you are doing as well as can be expected (well actually better than expected considering you didn’t fall into bad habits while your life has been topsy turvy!). That quilt you made for your father is gorgeous. I’m sure he cherished it. Be kind to yourself these days. Write when you can, but don’t feel obligated if you just aren’t up for it. We’ll still be here.

    Sending love from Maryland. Juice and Chloe.

  7. That quilt is so beautiful! I am sure it reminded your dad of you whenever he looked at it.

    You are so civilized using the word ‘crap’. That is not the word I use in my hourly conversation LOL!

  8. Debby, I’m catching up on blogs too. Sorry to say, I hadn’t visited since the President’s challenge post. How much I’ve missed!

    My heart is with you, Dear One. So many transitions at once. I close my eyes and hold you in God’s light.

    Your tenor and tone remain so steady yet acknowledge reality. You show such grace. You are a lot like your quilting stitches. Beautiful. Real. Not completely predictable.

    Grace and blessings. Strength too.

Leave a Reply

