A Seriously Good Recipe

Oh I was so excited when I thought of this recipe.  And then when I plugged it into Caloriecount.com, and saw the stats, I was even more excited.  And then… when I tasted it.  Oh. My. Gosh.  I was really really excited.  Only thing was, I didn’t know exactly what to call it.  Started out calling it an Apple Pie Frittata.  But then I thought, frittatas don ‘t really have any flour in them.  Also, I needed to figure out how to cook it so it was more presentable.  I pretty much thought about it all day.  And then, last night a couple of names of food came to mind so I checked them out:  clafouti and kugel.  Kugels have noodles in them.  But clafouti was it!  And it had different baking directions.  And it used cherries, which I had wanted to try for this morning.

Okay, if none of that makes sense, I will try to slow down and calmly share this recipe with you.

Seriously, can you believe that is ONE SERVING?  One glorious, tasty, NUTRITIOUS, filling serving!  (That is a regular pie plate that I baked it in.)   Here’s a picture of it cut in half so you can see the insides.  Its kind of like a light, custardy pancake.  Its JUST LIKE a clafouti LOL!

Here’s a link to an article about traditional clafoutis, and here’s my healthified version.  300 calories and 27 grams of protein—woo hoo!  Now that’s a breakfast of champions.

This recipe has a lot of possibility for variation.  You could add a lot more cherries (fill the pie plate) and serve it as dessert with a sprinkling of powdered sugar.  If you made it four servings (still a big serving)  and added two extra cups of cherries and 1 Tbsp powdered sugar, that would bring the calorie count to about  120 per serving!  Definitely an elegant, worthy dessert.

The first version that I did was with a chopped up apple.  I did it in a pan on top of the stove. I cooked the apple for a bit in the pan, and after I poured the batter in, I thought, uh oh.  How do you cook a frittata?  And ran over to the computer to google directions.  And you’re supposed to cook it on top of the stove, and then  finish it off in the oven.  But my pan didn’t have an oven-proof handle, so I ended up flipping  it in sections and cooking it the rest of the way on top of the stove, so it was VERY tasty, but not very pretty.

If you wanted to increase the protein and fat, you could add some nuts and only eat half of it.  Or how about apple and cheddar–oh yumm.  I think you do have to be careful with add-ins, or you lose the healthy, low calorie element of the thing.  That’s what happens with all recipes, I suppose.  A little more butter, a little more sugar…

Anyway, have much more to talk about, but think I’ll save it for another day.  Have a great long weekend everyone!  I will be working two of the three days.

6 thoughts on “A Seriously Good Recipe

  1. Oh heavens!!! That does sound good. And I probably shouldn’t say this, but I’ll bet it would be really good with a scoop of ice cream! 🙂

    I’ve already got a list made out so I can leave work and go buy the ingredients so I can make this TODAY.

    • Oh yes, you are right! And just think, if you split the dessert version into 6 pieces it would only be 80 calories per piece, plus 1/2 cup of Dreyer’s Slow Churned Vanilla, another 120 cal–a great dessert for 200 calories

  2. I don’t like cherries, but I have been wanting to try a clafoutie for a while! The batter you made seems like a protein pancake, only more liquid. Brilliant!

    Yummmmmmm

Leave a Reply

