Vacation Recap

Well, here I am, back in the real world.  It was a wonderfully relaxing, creative, energizing, colorful week!   I’ve got a lot of pictures to share, so will try to keep my chatter to a minimum  (lol you know that’s not gonna happen..)  Here’s the beautiful room where I stayed.  Very comfortable.  I loved that they had a fireplace, but alas, it was not cold enough to have a fire in the evening.

 

Here’s the view from my window.  This is a real working kitchen garden.  They have a wonderful restaurant on the premises, and the food they served our group was quite delicious.  Although it was TOO MUCH FOOD.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.  We’ll talk about the food later.

 

If you can believe it, this is the third year I have gone to rug hooking camp, but the very first time I actually went down to the ocean to take a walk!  These are some of the views of my early morning walk  (well, 7am was pretty early for me.)

It was a beautiful day, and the colors really were this vivid.

The best part was that they had this wonderful boardwalk built all along the cliff overlooking the ocean.  It felt wonderful to walk on, and I even ventured to run a bit!  I liked it so much that I managed to come back three times for nice long walks.

You’ll have to look close, but there was a really long line of pelicans flying by!

And elephant seals!!!  Last time I was here we drove 10 miles up the coast to a beach where they congregate, so I was really excited to see them so close by.

They really didn’t move much at all.

There were pretty wildflowers all along the boardwalk.

And the friendliest little squirrels.  This guy was about 3 inches from my foot!  I guess they’re pretty used to getting fed.

 

I thought this was a funny sight–don’t know what those seagulls are waiting for.

And as always, the never-ending quest to get the perfect shot of the waves crashing against the rocks.

Morning shot:

And evening shot:

I’ll try to post some pictures of the beautiful gardens tomorrow.  But now, as you know, there MUST  be a little food talk.  Like I said, the food they served was quite delicious.  There were good choices to be had at almost every meal.  There was just too much.  I skipped lunch a couple of days.  Still, I was eating quite a bit more food than I am used to.  Overall, I was pretty content with how I ate on this trip.  EXCEPT for the drive home.  Aaack.  It just wasn’t good.  Too. much. Junk.

Fortunately, one of my favorite farm stands was open, and I stopped and stocked up on fresh fruits and veggies.  By the time I got home I was still pretty  full from all the junk I had eaten, so I just had an artichoke and a bowl of cherries and called it a night.

And as usual, I surprised myself that I was able to go right back to making good choices of really healthy foods.  What a relief.  I have eaten  right on target the past two days.  Here’s a few of the things I cooked up.

Fresh stir fry of zucchini, corn and onion, all from the farmer’s market.  Combined with some pre-cooked brown rice from Trader Joe’s.  This rice was really tasty, and the combination was really delicious.  I just seasoned with salt and pepper, and cooked it in a little olive oil and sesame oil.

Vine ripened tomatoes!

Fresh blackberries along with some sugar free instant vanilla pudding.  I haven’t had this pudding for quite a long time, but it was quite yummy.

Here’s how I really ate it, alongside a cup of decaf coffee.

This morning I decided to try the breakfast clafouti with some of the blueberries I got at the farm stand.  Isn’t it beautiful?  Well, either it needed to cook a little bit more, or the juiciness of the berries made the dough too watery.  I ate it, but it wasn’t that nice custardy texture.  Next time I might make it plain, and just serve the berries on top.

And that’s all the news for now.  I have an appointment with the couch.  I’ll try to be back tomorrow with more of my adventures.

7 thoughts on “Vacation Recap

  1. What a GORGEOUS setting! Will we see some projects influenced by all those blues, browns and greens? Glad you had a nice time. 🙂

  2. Oh, I am SO GLAD to see I’m not the only one who tries to get THE shot of waves crashing. Thank god for digital cameras, right? I used to use up a lot of film doing that back in the dark ages, lol. What a gorgeous area – I want to go there. Right now!!! Sounds like it was the perfect place for some relaxing time, and I know you were due.

Leave a Reply

