A Little Frozen Yogurt Discussion

I had an idea to make a healthy delicious naturally sweetened frozen yogurt.  Today I tried out my idea.  Here’s the result:

I combined 5 medjool dates, 5 frozen banana cubes (about 2 medium,) 1/2 cup of whey, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 cups greek yogurt.  I actually put it through my ice cream freezer.  This was delicious, lightly sweet.  The dates (I think) added a texture that made it less than perfect.  Plus, sweetening food with bananas and dates is not without calories.  Approximately 1/2 cup was approximately 135 calories.  That doesn’t count toppings.

For comparison’s sake, here is that frozen almond milk that I had the other day.  A WHOLE CUP of this stuff is 40 calories (not counting toppings.)

Last night I had it with one Russel Stover sugar free peanut butter cup chopped on top of it.  It is fun to eat.  I will do this again.

Then I checked out a recipe I had seen a long time ago, claiming to be a Pinkberry knock-off.  It has sugar in it, and it comes in at about 100 calories per 1/2 cup.

And finally, Pinkberry itself, the mecca of all frozen yogurt, has 100 calories per 1/2 cup.  And it contains nonfat milk, sugar, cultured nonfat milk, and less than 2% of some stuff I can’t pronounce.

So my healthified froyo has more calories than the stuff that has sugar.  Disappointing.

I don’t want to start making and keeping stuff with sugar in the house, so for now, I’ll keep experimenting, and have the occasional frozen yogurt from a shop.  Fortunately I don’t live close to one, so I talk about it more than I eat it.

3 thoughts on “A Little Frozen Yogurt Discussion

  1. How do they make it so low calorie in the stores? Interesting that your home version is higher. And seriously? Consider yourself lucky that you don’t live close to a fro yo shop. I’m just sayin’…

  2. For the record? Your homemade froyo looks really yummy. I mean, it’s got walnuts and chocolate chips which we all know make everything better. 🙂

  3. One of my favorite fro-yo shops just opened a new store *around the corner from my house!* Yikes!

    Thank you for sharing your experimentation. (I’m sure you’re doing it strictly for us!) I’m going to try Katie’s recipe later this week. I’m still working on my fro-yo fruit cups. (They make yummy smoothies, btw!)

Leave a Reply

