Next Food Network Star!!!

Haha!  Not me.  But I was playing like I was this weekend.  For some reason Hulu now works on my computer, so I can watchTV shows if I want to.  Last time I was in a hotel room, I found the food channel, and started watching Next Food Network Star.  So I watched a marathon of the last season yesterday.  When I was finally hungry for dinner, it was pretty late, but still I thought I wanted to cook something savory and nutritious.  So I checked out the cupboard, freezer, and refrigerator–just like they  do on the Next Food Network Star!  I took out one zucchini, a red bell pepper, 4 mushrooms, and the carton of egg whites from the refrigerator.  I got the pre-cooked brown rice package, the crumbled bacon, and the pre-cooked carmelized onions out of the freezer.  I thought I’d do a photo essay of my cooking process.

I always put the pan on to heat up at medium high while I chop the first veggies.  Chopped the zucchini and 1/3 of the red pepper into bite sized pieces, spray the pan with Pam, dump the veggies in, and season with a little pepper and salt.

While they were cooking a bit, I chopped the mushrooms, and at the same time, cooked the rice packet in the microwave for three minutes.  I also thawed the onions in the microwave.

Dumped the mushrooms in and drizzled 1 tsp olive oil over all.

When the veggies were about as cooked as I wanted them to be, I added about 3 Tbsp of the bacon crumbles and the carmelized onions, just to warm them up.

Then I dumped in 1/2 cup of the egg white stuff, and cooked until done.

Lastly, I added the rice packet (which was two servings,) and drizzled on a bit of soy sauce.  Stirred it all up, and

plated it up.  This made three generous servings at 230 calories each.  It was delicious, and just the right amount of food for a later dinner.

I plan to cook a few more veggies to add to the leftovers.  And just maybe, I’ll try to make some lemon chicken to go with it.  I read a recipe in the comments over at Jill’s and I’ve been wanting to try it for a while.

I watched a little more food network star this afternoon, so when I was deciding on what to fix for dinner, I thought I would try to make a pretty presentation.  Oh yumm! as we food network stars like to say when we try our own food.  I had walked by the corn tortillas in the store today and they smelled so good.  Hmmm , only 70 calories.  And why do they only charge $1.58 for 30 of them???  I couldn’t pass them up.  Anyway, I was very conservative on my food today, so I had enough calories for a double decker.

This was ground sirloin cooked in taco seasoning for a while.  I just heated the tortillas over medium high heat with a little Pam spray.  Layered the tortillas with romaine lettuce, taco meat, and salsa, and topped with some chopped avocado and a little grated cheese.  Approximately 400 calories for the plate.  400 very worthy calories.

And now, a little more froyo talk.  The other day I took some of that naturally sweetened frozen yogurt out of the freezer and put it in the food processor with some blackberries and a little cinnamon and splenda.  This was very tasty.  Still had that texture from the dates that I don’t like as much.

Then, I had this great idea that I would just dump some of the chobani greek yogurt with fruit on bottom straight into the frozen yogurt maker.  I can report definitively to you that this does NOT work.  Maybe its too thick to start with?  Anyway, about half of it stuck to the sides of the freezer bowl, and the other half was just extra cold.  Oh well.  Maybe I’ll actually try to follow a recipe for my next trick LOL.

By  the way, you guys, thank you so much for some of the amazing comments, suggestions, encouragements, and daydreaming along with me on that last post.  I didn’t expect anything like that, so it was a double extra special surprise.  And speaking of double extra special, can you believe it?  I am down to the last day of work!!!  Tuesday will be my last day.  It is going to  be a big potluck.  I am going to enjoy it.  I’m going to try to pretend I’m French, or hey!  maybe one of those food network star judges (is anybody else afraid of Bobby Flay?) and maybe just maybe, I’ll be able to just take 3 bites of each dessert.  I’ve been staying pretty much on the straight and narrow on my days off, so I’m not too worried about this one day.  There will be a retirement party (three of us are retiring the same day, so its a combo party) but its not until July 14, so no problem there.  By then I will have lost ten pounds.  You know.  Being on a fixed income and all.

6 thoughts on “Next Food Network Star!!!

  1. Debby!! You are so close – I am excited for you! We have done frozen yogurt with regular store yogurt, but not greek (yet). It worked really well, actually.

  2. I love corn tortillas – mine are 55 calories each and I love them. Did I mention that? 😉

    You are too cute with your Food Network Star – I play imaginary scenarios in my head quite often while I’m doing things, too!

  3. Can’t believe retirement day is finally here. I am so excited for you! Just take the first few days as they come. Don’t expect too much out of yourself and just relax. Don’t attempt to structure your time so closely in order to feel “productive.” It’s totally o.k. to have blocks of hours with nothing “planned.” That’s the joy of retirement!

  4. I’m such a Food Network Star addict! One of my fave chefs of the current season was eliminated last night, and I was in a bad mood the rest of the evening. 🙂

    My grocer carries 6-inch corn tortillas, and they are now a staple for me. Not a lot in actual nutritional value, but they do offer a lot of flavor to a Mexican dish.

Leave a Reply

