Lotsa Pictures. and Not Much More.

I had some interesting blog thoughts this morning, but they are gone.  I’m just going to share some of today’s pictures and call it a day.

The other day when I was working in the garden, I did some serious pruning.  I took a whole branch off of one of my japanese maples.  It was painful to remove that much of the tree, but in the long run it will make it a more balanced tree.  I brought the branch in to enjoy it for a few more days.

I went outside to take a picture of the leaves on this Japanese maple.  It is called ‘Full Moon.’  Its a beautiful tree.  I love the unusual shape of the leaves.

“Aster’s Last Stand.”

Actually all six of the little asters look like they are going to make it.  They seem to have lost their fascination for Sophie and Noah.

Inside, Monk waited, hopeful that I would share the chair with him.

This is where I sit most mornings, and journal, read, and pray.  Isn’t this a pretty journal?  I love the bow that my friend put on it.

I do not share my chair in the morning.  Sophie and Monk seem to finally have resigned themselves to this fact.  This morning they  were especially cute as they slept together on the ottoman (right in front of THE CHAIR.)

Close up of Mr. Monk for his Number One Fan (Pubsgal’s Thing 2)

Here are some of the projects I’ve been working on.  This is part of the very large quilt I  have been working on consistently.  Its very bright.  I love the colors, but they don’t seem so restful to me.  Maybe more restful for a teenage girl?

You can see the quilting better in this square.  I used a variegated thread that had blue in it.

Here is a partial picture of the whole quilt top.

Here is a little quilt that I uncovered when I cleaned off the back of my quilting table.  I had absolutely no remembrance of making this.

These are just some squares I put together the other day.  You might recall I have a LOT of pre-cut strips and squares that I play with sometimes.  I actually don’t like these as-is.  I am staring at them on the design wall, trying to think what I want to do to change them up a bit.

 

Noah has been particularly quiet the past few days, giving me plenty of opportunity for photos.

Doesn’t he have the most beautiful eyes?

 

SOMEONE thought I was taking pictures of the wrong dog…

Have a great weekend.  I am heading out of town for a few days.  There may be a bit of stress involved.  I have a few things in mind  (besides eating) to calm myself.  Just being more aware is helpful, I think.

14 thoughts on “Lotsa Pictures. and Not Much More.

  1. Love the pictures (as always)!. There is some sort of huge AQS quilt show in Knoxville this week. If I’d thought of it sooner and realized it was after your retirement, I’d have begged you to come. You could have stayed with me. I MIGHT have let you go to the quilt show once or twice. LOL! Have a good trip even if stressful.

  2. Debby,

    I can’t say enough about your ability to design quilts. The patterns and colors you put together are amazing. You are a very talented lady and could start a consultation business for beginning quilters or for those who don’t have the talent to put fabrics, colors and shapes together!

  3. The contrast between posing Sophie (with her “surely you meant for me to be here” entitlement) and restful Noah is awesome. Also? She’s not trying to make you feel guilty for leaving her out of the pictures. Not one bit. 😉

    What’s up with Noah being so quiet? Is it just too hot for him? He does have beautiful eyes – wish I could do eyeliner like that, lol!

    When I was growing up we had a potted (well, that just made me laugh, considering the rest of the story) plant that sat on our porch right by the front door. Looked similar to a Japanese Maple. I cannot tell you how many of my high school friends, upon coming over for the first time, would ask me “is that a pot plant?” when I answered the door! Seriously?!?

    You know I love your quilts. I think it’s funny that you found one you didn’t remember doing – maybe you were quilting in your sleep?

    Have a good trip. Sending calming thoughts your way. Take care of yourself.

  4. I actually love the colors of that not so restful quilt as I’m the type who looks for things to be bright and cheery.

    Loving the photos of your ‘kids’ as well. Sophie cracks me up… sort of reminds me of how Gracie wants to jump in every picture (is Sophie the same as as an almost 5 year old human?).

    I’m hoping that your weekend is more calm and lest stressful than you anticipate!

  5. Dying over here at “Aster’s Last Stand”. So clever!!! 🙂

    I love everyone of those quilts and quilt squares and everything. Every single one. I wish I had a tenth of your creativity!

    The dogs are cracking me up too. Sophie kills me – the way she just puts herself into the picture! That first pic of Noah is frame-worthy, IMO. And I LOVE the one of Mr. Monk staring up at you! That made me snort! 🙂 Hee!

    Good luck with the next few days – be calm and BREATHE!

  6. I too am a BIG fan of the bright and cheery quilt. It may not seem as restful to you, but to me it’s like being wrapped in sunshine and love. All the best on your trip. Sending peaceful thoughts your way (and prayer).

  7. The last photo of Paco and Noah maked me LOL at work! Whoops. You make beautiful quilts and are raising some adorable doggies. 🙂
    -Sarah
    fitango.com

  8. Noah seems much more relaxed as he is getting older, but there is an impish glint in his eye yet.

    Love the asters – and yours are blooming! Mine are not even budding yet. Everything is late up here in the northeast.

  9. Love your pictures, but that last one was the best laugh I’ve had all week. “Why would you take a picture of *that* when you have all of *this* available?” LOL

    As always, your quilts are absolutely gorgeous. I must remember to print out some photos to show to my Memaw, who’s also an avid quilter.

  10. so sorry you have to deal with something stressful. At least you are prepared. Be careful of the AFTER, it is usually what bites us in the butt when we think we are done.

    you wrote:
    “Here is a little quilt that I uncovered when I cleaned off the back of my quilting table. I had absolutely no remembrance of making this.”

    you made me think of a long ago story – At the height of my quilting, my long arm quilter called me to say a quilt of mine was done. I said – it isn’t mine, you don’t have any of my quilts. She said – I have had it a long time, it was way down in line, but it is yours. She gave it to me. I didn’t recognize it. I didn’t remember making it. I had no memory of it. And yes, I had made it. (So, obviously it wasn’t made out of love, or need, or appreciation of its beauty. It was a sheer volume, avoidance thing for me at that time. not saying it is the same for you at all. just saying your story reminded me of that time.)

    and I actually bought a premade, cheap, made in china quilt for ME’s bed this week. She likes to sit on her bed. I don’t like the kids sitting on my own (made by me) quilts as it ruins them over time. So I bought her one I don’t care about, so she can sit on it all the time. It was under $30 at TJ max and if it is turned into a shredded rag in 5 years, I won’t care. Most of my (own) quilts are BELOVED. We use them all – but no one in the house sits on them.

  11. Noah is gorgeous, and Sophie has that dear quality, but I like Mr. Monk best too (along with Pubsgal’s Thing 2). I think he reminds me of my late father. Wore a crew cut during my whole life (because “it never went out of style”) and always had a kind of contented curmudgeon thing going on.

    I also adore that blue and yellow combination in your too-bright-but-maybe-okay-for-a-teen quilt. Maybe I’m just young at heart.

Leave a Reply

