Orchids Plus

Sometimes I just don’t know what to write any more.  Sometimes I have so many thoughts I don’t know where to start.  So I don’t.  Other times I don’t have anything nice to say, so I try not to say anything.  There’s a little bit of all of that going on right now, so I’ll just do another picture post of the weekend.

It turned out to be a great weekend.  Everything went a little better than planned.  Highly unusual.  My car didn’t take nearly as long as they had predicted to fix/change the alternator.  So I went to the gym for a strength workout and some pool time.  Great way to start the trip!

The traffic was perfect, and there was a Half Price Book Store right across from the hotel I was staying at.  Sweet.  Had fun browsing, and got a few books.  How can you resist when they are cheaper than magazines??

I chose to go to Chevy’s Fresh Mex for dinner.  They have a salad I like.  And who are we kidding?  I really chose Chevy’s because I wanted to have some chips and salsa.  Anyway, it is so interesting now that restaurants have the calorie count on their menus.  The fajitas were about the same calorie count as the salad I had intended to get, so I ordered the fajitas.  Thing is, nowadays I just want more veggies.  MUST REMEMBER.  I also don’t like that much bread, so I took some of the filling out of the tortillas and just ate it plain.   The chips and salsa were excellent… ; )

On Saturday my mom wanted to go to Half Moon Bay for her belated birthday.  After checking out the local thrift store (my mom is a big thrifter–that’s where I got it from–) we headed down to Pescadero, because she thought there was another thrift store there.  Turns out the whole little town was having a “Barn Sale.”  Kind of like a big garage sale/flea market.  Anyway, it was a lot of fun looking around and finding a few treasures.  Pescadero is also the home of the WORLD’S BEST BREAD BAKERY.  I’m not kidding.  All day long they are baking bread and bringing fresh loaves out.  They specialize in sourdough bread, and have a big variety of ‘add-ins.’  Like roasted garlic artichoke.  And parmesan herb ciabatta.  Why do those varieties come to mind?  Well, they just might be the two loaves that this ‘non-bread-eating’ girl brought home with her.  They sell some of their loaves partially baked, so you can bring them home and finish baking them–just like fresh baked.  They are all safely ensconced in the freezer for now. I did have two excellent slices before putting them away.

Anyway, it was a beautiful day, and being near the coast, flowers just grow like mad around there.

 


 

 

 

We went to Sam’s Chowder House (thanks for the recommendation, Pubsgal!) for dinner/lunch (it was 3pm, what do you call that?)  And if you can believe it, I ordered a beet salad, and added a 3 ounce piece of grilled salmon to it.  The salad was delicious (hey, Jill, it had pistachios in it–my very first pistachios!) and the salmon was absolute perfection.  I ate some other stuff too.  Never mind about that.

Our final stop was at the orchid nursery.  I wish I could have gotten a picture that showed the enormity and beauty of this place.  Row upon row of orchids, one more beautiful than the next.  Here are just a few of them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a shot of the sandals I got at the thrift store in Half Moon Bay.  Very comfy, and I like the style too.  BTW, those pants I am wearing are my absolute favorite white pants.  I really like wearing white pants in the summertime.  But they don’t always look that good.  These pants are 100% cotton, but are a little heavier weight, and because of the texture of the cloth, they hide a multitude of imperfections.  They are from Drawstrings of Malibu.  I just ordered another pair from them.

All in all, I think I would say I was 80% pleased with my food choices this weekend.  I came away knowing that I WANT to eat right, eat healthy, eat less.  I WANT to, not I have to.  I WANT to go to the gym.  I want to swim long distances.  I want to work on my core strength/balance. That is a good feeling, to confirm that I want to continue the healthy lifestyle.  Even after all this time, I am still a work in progress.

10 thoughts on “Orchids Plus

  1. Your first few sentences was almost the exact thing I was going to say today! Isn’t that funny? I was thinking how I had a lot to say, then nothing really to say.

    Dying over those flowers. Good thing I wasn’t with you or I probably would have passed out from sensory overload.

    Your feet are very cute, too.

    • I always think about you when I post a lot of flower pics. I think, “well, Lori won’t think there are too many flower pictures.’

  2. We are ALL a work in progress as long as we are on this earth! That orchid nursery reminded me of the orchid room in The Conservatory at Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC. Unbelievably intricate designs in those flowers. Gorgeous! And I agree with Lori, you have cute feet!

  3. Being a work in progress is what makes humans so interesting… after all aren’t the most dull people you know “stick in the muds?”

    The flowers are spectacular! What a lovely way to surround yourself.

    Nice pedicure, although I must insist if you show the toes, I need to know the color.

    Also, just a reminder, if you don’t have anything nice to say? Email me. Ha!

  4. Yay!! Another ‘stachio convert!!! Woohoo!! 🙂

    I love those sandals and your pink painted toenails look so cute!!!

    Those flowers are preeeeeeeeety!

  5. I am missing the Northern California coastline SO MUCH now, after seeing your gorgeous flower pictures. I’m always stunned when I come across beautiful calla lillies growing wild, next to the poppies and so many other gorgeous flowers…it’s such a good feeling to see beauty everywhere you turn!

    Love those orchids as well. Occasionally I’m tempted to buy one for my house, but then I come to my senses and remember where I live.

    What a fun thing, to come across the entire town having a huge sale! Your sandals are great and I love the toes! 🙂

    You WANT to live a healthy lifestyle because that is who you are – a healthy-living gal. Pretty cool, I’d say!

  6. Wow, Wow, Wow – I bet it smelled Ah-Ma-Zing there! Those pictures are glorious!

    I too find sometimes I am bursting with a thousand ideas and other times I wonder if any of my thoughts are even worth posting at all. But, it balances out in the end. You’re still a work in progress? That’s good – it means you are open to improvement and learning new things. Never change that!

Leave a Reply

