Turning It Around

Yesterday I got into one of those moods.  I’d like to blame it on the dogs, who were a bit more rambunctious than normal.  (More than the normal amount of suspicious trucks going by.)  But now I’d say the ultimate culprit was myself.  Comparing myself to other people.  And of course, I can never measure up.  Because I am not them.  I am me.  It took a while to figure this out though.

My plans for the day included going to the gym, and doing a few other chores in town, including checking out the wardrobe I just bought!  (I couldn’t resist–a birds eye maple wardrobe for $50?!?)  But the wardrobe led to me looking around the house with a critical eye, and the clutter!  Oh, the clutter!

In the end, I did get quite a bit of the clutter taken care of–moved about, filed, stored away, put away, thrown away, given away.  And I always think wryly, after a session like this, that if any ‘normal’ person were to see my house after the de-cluttering, they would think OMGOSH, what was it like BEFORE?

In the meantime, my trip to the gym went by the wayside, and I was still in a pretty terrible mood.  Amongst the clutter I found an OLD copy of a paper that my dad had found worthwhile enough to type out and give to me many years ago.

Why this has escaped the trash during my de-cluttering episodes I don’t know.  Except that every time I find it, it is of such value to me that it goes back into one of the ‘stay’ piles.  So when I was done with the piles for the day, and had vacuumed (for the fourth day in a row.  I know that one of the problems is that every year at this time the dust REALLY gets to me,)   I sat down with a cup of coffee to read “A Means to Mental Health,”by Clyde S. Kilby.  It never ceases to put things in proper perspective for me, and so I have copied it and included it, for now, as a separate page as a reference for you all.  And then I called my brother to talk about myself LOL, and said I hadn’t gone to the gym, even though I knew it would make me feel better.  And he said, a couple of times, it really would make you feel better.

So I did something I NEVER do.  Cause, yeah, I’m retired now LOL.  I ate dinner, exactly what I wanted (cottage cheese with crushed pineapple and walnuts, and the ‘Strings’ salad–YUM YUM,) and then I went to the gym.  I did my circuit workout on the weights, and hit the pool for 30 minutes.  And treated myself to some spa time.  I’m not a chatter at the gym, but I struck up a conversation with a lady in the spa, and she had some great encouraging things to say about retirement.  Its so fun to hear positive comments about retirement from other people!

This morning I read a few more quotes that cheered me on:

From Loretta’s blog:

“I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do the something that I can do. What I can do, I should do. And what I should do, by the grace of God, I will do.” –Edward Everett Hale

And from Gene Shepherd, a rug hooking artist (and my teacher at rug camp):

“My studio is not messy, its too small to contain my big ideas.”  Gene Shepherd.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

P.S.  I posted that berry-granola recipe

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Turning It Around

  1. Congrats on some de-cluttering! That’s on MY to-do list next week. It’s amazing how quick I am to amass things and how hard it is to get rid of them even if I haven’t used them in ages. Takes a lot of time.

    I compare myself to people All. The. Time. It’s a bad habit to get into but I suppose you just have to take a moment to reflect on all the things that are FANTASTIC about yourself!!!

    Have a great weekend to you as well!

  2. Comparing yourself to others is just awful isn’t it? Why on earth we do it, I don’t know!

    Congrats on the decluttering and way to take advantage of retirement!

  3. I really like that Mental Health paper. Such good advice in a simple format. I’m glad you hung on to that.

    I sometimes wonder why I feel like I need more, but then feel so good once I get rid of stuff? Why does seeing a neat and tidy space give me such peace? I think this weekend I’ll work on having more neat and tidy spaces in my house. 🙂

  4. I noticed that Mental Health tab immediately and of course, thought “how have I missed that?” – at least now I know I’m not crazy! Very well-written piece.

    Isn’t it funny when you do some thing outside of the box. Going to the gym at night?!? WHAT?!? Very nice! And see, you met a nice lady, too! 🙂

    I decluttered under the bathroom sinks in our master bath a couple of weeks ago. Got rid of stuff that I put there 11 years ago when we moved in. Obviously I’m never going to need/use it. Dang, it felt good to do that – much like, I suspect, you felt when you were done yesterday!

    Secret message: Arf! Arf! ::pleading eyes:: Arf!

  5. Thanks for posting that piece. The comparison thing – it is horrible! I am not sure why we all do it so much, but it is hard not to.

    I did fly lady for a long time and a lot of her habits stuck with me. I do tend to get piles, though. I should work on that. Now you have inspired me 😀

  6. Decluttering my office (again) is on my to-do list for this weekend. 🙂

    Good for you for choosing such a positive action to combat the mood! It would have been easier to dive into cupcakes but you took the healthier route!

  7. Hi Debby, Way to go on the decluttering. And taking all the time for YOU you need!!! Love the new header on your site too!!! So lovely! Have a wonderful weekend.

  8. I feel like I constantly fight clutter. And fight comparing myself to others. It does help to have a Christian perspective on it – God made you THIS way for a purpose! I’m not sure exactly how whiny and miserable I’d be if I couldn’t cling to that truth, but it wouldn’t be pretty. So now when I see someone that has an attribute that I admire (and cannot possibly attain) I just smile and hope that my inner beauty will be as compelling as her outer beauty.

Leave a Reply

