Au Revoir and a New Recipe!

I have cleaned, picked up, watered and planted, chopped fruit, baked, and generally done everything I can think of to get ready, including practicing opening a can of diet coke with one hand!  I went to the store tonight to get some pre-chopped fruit.  That stuff just doesn’t look good, so I bought some fruit, and came home and chopped it up myself.  I also had a bunch of bananas sitting out to get nice and ripe, and I mashed those and put them in ice cube trays.  Tomorrow I am going to cook some more chicken and some veggies to have on hand.  I think I have enough food to last me four weeks without ever cooking!!

This morning I tried out a new recipe idea that I’ve had on my “list” for a while.  Banana Nut Apricot Oatmeal Bars.  Yummy.  Like the recipe says, very lightly sweetened, so perfect for a breakfast bar, but also nice to dress up for a healthy dessert.  And, if you wanted to change it up a bit, you could leave out the dried apricots and walnuts and add in  some chocolate chips for Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars!  A large bar (pictured) has 250 calories, and a smaller bar comes in at 175 calories.

The sport that comes naturally to Sophie and Mr. Monk–synchronized sleeping!

A nap in the sun is such a lovely thing to a little hairless dachshund.

Noah doing what he does best–warning me that yet another suspicious car is coming up the road–

The house up the road is for sale, so he has a lot to worry about some days.

I followed my plan and went to the gym for a last long swim.  I must say it felt very luxurious to give myself that much time at the gym.  I swam for 45 minutes, got in the sauna for about 5 minutes, and then took a shower and washed my hair so I wouldn’t have to do it when I got home.  And then I went to the movie–Crazy Stupid Love.  How was it, a couple people asked me.  It was crazy stupid, but ultimately a pretty good love story.

I finally got my surgery time–not until 12:30pm tomorrow!  Which is nice in one way, but it also means NO FOOD and more importantly NO COFFEE tomorrow morning.  Waaah.  I got some good teas when I was in Victoria, so I will treat myself to some of those tomorrow.

Depending on how I feel, I might not comment on blogs for a few days.  But rest assured I will be reading along.  Keep up the good blogging!

 

9 thoughts on “Au Revoir and a New Recipe!

  1. Good luck with your surgery. I will be praying it goes smoothly for you!!

    Those banana apricot bars look wonderful. I’m off to check the recipe more closely. I bet I have almost all the ingredients at home 🙂

  2. Noah shall now be dubbed “Mr. Safety”. Mr. Safety’s just doing his job – one can never let one’s guard down when there are suspicious cars lurking about!

    Good luck with the surgery! 🙂

  3. Thinking of you since I woke up this morning – and it’s still not your surgery time, but rest assured you will continue to be in my thoughts all day today.

    I adore Noah’s look – “mom, you want me to kill them? just say word. I ready.”

    And the sleeping animals…ahhhh. Makes me want to join them!

Leave a Reply

