What to do, what to do

Already I am quite bored by my limitations.  Like a spoiled child, wanting to do the one thing they aren’t allowed to do.  I’m just so used to having handwork to do while I am watching movies/tv shows/talking on the phone, etc.  In one way I am quite thrilled with how much easier this is than I thought.  The fact that I can type with both hands is a huge plus.  I haven’t had much pain after the first night.

But I can’t use scissors, or a rotary cutter, or write, or “hold anything more than a box of tissues” (official instructions.)  My hands are just itching to hold a needle and put it through a piece of fabric.

In the meantime, I am trying a few other things.  Marianne encouraged me to draw with my right hand.  Here is my pitiful first attempt.  This actually took a long time, and by the end I had developed a lot more control with my hand.

This also made me realize I needed a LOT more colors to choose from, so am contemplating ordering the “big box” of colored pencils (which is a lot more expensive than the big box of colored crayons we all used to love…)

I watched a marathon of Master Chef competition shows yesterday.  Probably not the best choice for someone trying to watch their weight.  On the other hand, they are always eating dinky portions of the food, which gave me the idea to just have two of the grilled chicken and mozzarella ravioli with a salad.  That was very satisfying actually.  They were topped with just a bit of the pesto sauce I made last week.  That stuff is good.  I googled low calorie pesto sauce and found quite  a few options, but this one had tomato in it, and that sounded really good to me.  Its 100 calories for 1/4 cup, but I usually have only used 2 Tbsp because its flavor is so strong.

So.  I also need to find some exercise to do.  Getting dressed is a wee bit of a problem.  But I think I will attempt it today.  Because as much as I have complained about it being hot and dusty, I am missing our evening walks.  And I think I will dust off the weights and do some one handed exercises, as well as some of the leg exercises Vicky taught me.  And if I can get dressed properly and drive safely, I think I will go to the gym for some of their yoga classes next week.

In the meantime, I am working on my little kit of double wedding ring blocks.

(need to put the bead tray away)

I love these little prints.

I am missing my creativity in cooking.  But at this point I have a LOT of food already cooked, so will be content with what’s at hand.  I think I’ll be able to do quite a bit more in a week or so.

In the meantime, I will probably continue with the Master Chef marathon.  I am inspired by the creative ways they work with what they’ve been given.  Its quite similar to how we all have learned to use healthier, lower calorie foods in different creative ways.

I’ll leave you with some of the inspirational photos I keep in a folder on my computer.

Hope you all are having a great holiday weekend!

9 thoughts on “What to do, what to do

    • Yes, I am left handed! I’m a little bit ambidextrous, because I throw with my right hand, played cello with my right hand, and of course knitting uses both hands. But most things, esp. fine motor skills, I do with my left hand. I figure when I have my right hand done it’ll be easy peasy compared to this!

  1. Really shows how much of a multi-tasker you are, when you are limited to doing only one thing (tv, phone) at a time now! I love how you are finding new ways to express yourself, and by all means, go for the 60 box of Crayolas!

    How are the dogs dealing with your hand – have they noticed, and are they being extra good?

    • The dogs are being extra good, I think. Although I notice them following me from place to place even more than usual–tried to take a picture of it this morning, but SOMEONE is a perpetual motion machine. Also, could be my imagination, but it seems like Noah is careful not to bump my hand.

  2. I’m so glad it’s going well. 🙂

    I hadn’t thought of it, but I am a little ambidextrous, also! It sure comes in handy when your dominant hand is all trussed up like a thanksgiving turkey, LOL!

    My kitties always know when something is wrong, and they try to cuddle up and comfort me. I’m sure your Pups know something needs TLC… they can be amazing that way, sensing stuff.

    • Sophie is cuddling a lot. But I’m never sure if that is more for her than it is for me LOL.

      @ Shelley–thinking they are next–I swear dogs think that way. When three of the dogs died fairly closely in time a couple of years ago, Sophie acted really weird. Like she was afraid to go on walks. And last week, when my neighbor took both of her dogs away for a couple of days, Noah laid out there for HOURS watching her property. And he was VERY quiet LOL.

  3. What a great report! So happy to hear the “no pain after the first night.” That’s great news! I keep finding these things we have in common – I am also left-handed!

    Be patient, recovery will come and just think, it’s over! At least for that hand.

Leave a Reply

