Various and Sundry

Here’s a bit of what went on here today.

This morning I decided to try listing one of my quilts on Etsy again.  If you’ve been around here for a long time, you might remember that I tried a year or so ago, and just couldn’t get the pictures to load, so I gave up.  This time when I tried, they had different picture loading (software?) and IT WORKED!!!  I have one quilt listed on Etsy.  I think I’ll try to put one new one on each morning until they are all listed on there.  Here’s the quilt:

“Water Feature”

That was a pretty good start to the day!  I had an appointment to get my hair washed (yay!) and that meant putting on real clothes.  Eek.  With Loretta’s good advice ringing in  my ears (“you just get creative”)  I had a certain intimidating piece of clothing (involving hooks and eyes ) on in no time!! It felt really good to have my hair washed.  I have an appointment to get it cut on Thursday, and after that I really think I’ll be able to wash it myself.  Tomorrow I get to take the bandage off, and if everything looks okay, the paper says I can take a shower (I’ve been taking baths with a plastic baggy on my hand.)

This morning I decided to try a recipe that I’ve had bookmarked forever.  Yes, I was tired of not cooking.  It was a little difficult to stir with my right hand, but not too bad.  I tried Georgie’s chocolate peanut butter protein bars.  Oh yummy.  These are like a dessert, only nutritious!  I followed her recipe, except I used vanilla protein powder, and that Justin’s chocolate almond butter.  I used 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar for the sweetener.  Ate one tonight and the rest are safely in the freezer.

Experimented with some more ideas I had for quilting.  I am still pretty limited in what I can do because I can’t really use scissors or a rotary cutter very much.  Don’t want to get too creative with sharp objects LOL.  Here’s something I did with the strips, trying to see if I could sew them on a curve.

You guys!  I know you’re probably sick of me talking about this.  But while viewing a marathon session of Masterchef, I noticed that quite a few times these gourmet cooks would include “Puree of cauliflower” or “Cauliflower and parsnip puree” on their plates.  Which gives new credibility to my mashed cauliflower.  This last batch was so delicious I decided to add it to my recipe collection.  Its so satisfying, it is much better than mashed potatoes even days later, and come on!  At only 40 calories per serving, you can’t resist.  Its one of those foods, like the unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, that tastes much richer than it actually is.  Here’s my recipe.

Various doggie photos:

The queen shares her new bed with her bodyguard.

Becoming one with the chair.

Over and out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Various and Sundry

  1. I think I have asked you this question in the past, but the culinary challenged diva is afraid to try something without asking and I’d like to try those protein bars. I’m always looking for new protein rich bars to carry for a quick protein hit when hiking. Do you think Soy Protein Powder would substitute o.k. for the Whey Powder?

    Recovery looks like it’s going well. And nothing like a good promotion from spongebath to plastic bad hand covered bath to SHOWER!!! Yippee!

    • Actually there is a big difference in how they act–one absorbs more moisture than the other. Not sure, but they might be kind of dry if you use soy powder. Georgie is very responsive, I bet she would get back to you right away if you asked her, and she would know because she is an RD.

      Recovery is going VERY well. I just have to be careful to not take advantage and overdo!

  2. I’m so happy and excited that you’ve got your Etsy store going! I hope you get the sales you deserve for your beautiful pieces of artwork.

    Good job with the hooks and eyes lolol!

  3. Go, Etsy, go! I hope you get a lot of interest in your quilts, Debby.

    I just can’t think of mashed cauliflower as potatoes. Maybe because I love mashers so much that there is no substitute. I am not all that crazy about cauliflower. It’s okay, but I Iike the broccoli cousin so much better.

  4. I love how Mr. Monk looks like he’s melting into a puddle on the chair…oh to be THAT relaxed! And the Queen sharing her bed is so sweet. She’s a benevolent queen. 🙂

    Yay YOU for getting your Etsy store up and running!!! As soon as I remember what my dang log in is (wasn’t Helen JUST talking about that?!?), I’ll “favorite” your store. And then stalk it.

  5. Hey, I’m glad to hear you are doing well. But please pace yourself! You are making me nervous with all this productivity! I was expecting a week or two of movie reviews (and not much typing either!). Just being your naggy friend because I care. 🙂

    • You’re right. Yesterday I was really tired very early, and I think I overdid it. Went to bed early! I’ll try to be a good patient!

  6. Glad your surgery went well and that recovery is going well and is not as onerous as you had thought it might be! Please take good care of yourself and don’t overdo!

    Oooo, I’ll have to try the mashed cauliflower. I looooove cauliflower! I usually have mine with olive oil and curry powder, but I’ll definitely try it your way.

    I thought of you at the art fair over the weekend. We had great weather, and there were lots of pretty things as usual! The big pottery faces vendor was there again. The woman with the dog quilts was there. (Yours are much nicer! Hey…maybe apply for a booth next year? The call for entries is on the Kings Mountain Art Fair web site, starting November 15 and ending January 30.) I kind of missed the woman with all of the dog paintings and cards. Not as many of the painters had greeting cards this year, which was a bummer.

    • You know…another way to make some money on your Etsy store, using your quilts, would be to perhaps have sets of greeting cards made with photos of your quilts? Just a thought. I think they would make some fantastic cards. The cross quilt would make a wonderful Easter card, for example.

  7. Oh, Debby – the way you paint with fabric is inspirational. I say ‘paint’ because the quilt with the strips give a feel of fine brushstrokes on a canvas. Absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing your work. As a fellow artist, I need all the inspiration I can get 🙂

Leave a Reply

