Planning for Spa Week

Hi all!  I’m finally getting around to planning that Spa Week at home that I mentioned a while ago.  Thought I’d put my thoughts down here in case any of you want to try it for yourself.  Of course I know some of you work and some of you still have kids at home.  But use your imagination.  You might be able to come up with something that works for you.

So my idea is to have a week  that really concentrates on exercise, with healthy tasty food as a side benefit.  You might want to include some luxury treats like a manicure or a massage, but I don’t think I will do that.  My main treat will be allotting some time for quilting!

I am going to prepare most of the food ahead of time, like I did for my hand surgery, so I won’t have to spend time cooking or preparing food.  I am going to have all the housework done before the week starts.  I might even use the paper plates so I don’t have many dishes to wash!

Shopping:  Chicken breasts, chopped sirloin, zucchini, carrots, onion, mushrooms, corn, spinach, baby lettuce, blueberries, pears, Fage greek yogurt, cottage cheese.  Epsom salts for bath.

Food prep:  Cook some chicken/chicken breasts to freeze.  Make a pot of taco soup?  Saute a bunch of veggies–can serve w/spag bacon sauce or pesto sauce (already in freezer.)  Make a pizza? Make a batch of scones, blueberry and/or pumpkin.  Make salad dressing.   Make some of Georgie’s protein bars.  Could buy some food from Vicky?

Tentative Schedule:

  • 7-9am:  Morning quiet time/reading/praying/Breakfast
  • 9-11am:  Long walk/hike.  Floor exercises at home
  • 11am-2pm:  Quilting and lunch
  • 2-4pm:  Gym for swimming/weights/bike/treadmill
  • 5pm:  Dinner
  • 6pm:  Short walk, and evening relaxation

 

The ‘check-in’ for my week will be Sunday afternoon, Oct. 9.  The ‘retreat’ will be four whole days, Monday though Thursday, October 10-13.

So how ’bout you guys?  Anybody going to join me?  What would you include in your ideal “Spa Week” at home?

14 thoughts on “Planning for Spa Week

  1. Hey you! Aren’t you supposed to be in bed resting up for your big day tomorrow? Yeah, I thought of you–you’re one of the few who would have the time for a spa week except for being temporarily “inconvenienced!”

  2. I love the idea of your spa week. Be sure and include some quiet relaxing music during part of the time. I also think part of you relaxation should include silence so your mind can wander where it wants to. The 10th-13th are “at home” days for me between two very hectic (but fun) road trips so I might just “semi-spa” with you. If I were truly doing this, I think I’d have to schedule at least one massage!!

    • LOLOL. I know you are beyond me in your physical activity, but surely you don’t spend 4 hours a day on exercise? I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do that, but I”m going to give it the ‘old college try’ (whatever that means )

  3. I don’t know if I could manage a whole week but I bet I could do this on a long weekend. Love the idea anyway and I think you’ve done a great job planning it. I really like how you’ve set yourself a schedule – just like they do when you check into a ‘real’ spa!

  4. I would have to do this on a weekend when the hubs and kids were all gone. Which is rare, but it does happen on occasion. Next time the opportunity arises, I’m going to try and do this!

    I love that top picture!! 🙂

  5. I don’t know if that sounds like a Spa Week or just retirement! Ha! Sounds lovely though. Are you still gonna spend time on the computer or is this an unplugged week too??? Hugs! deb

    • Oh no, I will be checking blogs in the morning, and if I find it ‘relaxing,’ I will probably write a blog in the evening LOL.

  6. I love this idea! I don’t really take days off from my job as they aren’t paid (cheapie that I am). But I said to John that I really needed to start relaxing more.

    I love, love, love that picture with the flower bed! I am totally stealing the idea when we move to our permanent home with its large yard for garden beds.

    • Isn’t that great? Don’t know if you can see, but the mirror is actually a fountain, and there is a rocking chair over in the corner. That is down in the gardens at Cambria Pines. If you and John ever make it out west, you must stop there!

  7. Ooooo, that sounds heavenly! My visit to the PDX was my “spa weekend.” I keep trying to talk Mr. Frugal into having his own guy version of “spa weekend.”
    And I love that “flower bed”– how clever is that?!?

    P.s. You going to try Roni’s “dessert hummus,” do you think? I probably will try a half batch. It sounds weird, but I tend to like weird stuff, so who knows?

    • PDX? Explain please!

      And boy howdy am I going to try Roni’s dessert hummus. I saw the original recipe on Katie’s blog, but never tried it because she mentioned using 3/4 cup of brown sugar, which would TOTALLY trigger me. Roni’s brings it down to a reasonable calorie count too, and um , I don’t think graham crackers will be necessary at all. I never used graham crackers to eat cookie dough before! That will be a great healthy fun treat for my spa week! Thanks so much! I love Katie’s ‘raw cookie dough balls’ too. Very healthy but a bit calorie dense (just dates and walnuts ground up together, and then adding in chopped walnuts and chocolate chips.)

Leave a Reply

