Spa Week, Day 1

Today was the beginning of spa week.  With one exception, the day went EXACTLY as planned!  For the food, I wrote out the day’s menu the night before.  My idea was to only serve myself food that  you would find at a top spa.  No junk, nothing with preservatives, no sugar free candy or microwave popcorn.  VERY minimal sugar and wheat.   Extra attention  to vegetables.  I will be using the occasional splenda…  Here’s the day’s menu:

  • Breakfast:  my blueberry scone, made with gluten free flour.
  • Pre-walk snack:  Non-fat greek yogurt with homemade granola.
  • Lunch:  Vicky’s red lentil and rice salad (LOVE) and tomatoes.
  • Colorful AND tasty!

  • After-swim snack at Starbuck’s:  Vicky’s fig bars and (here’s the indiscretion) a small mocha frapuccino (I was supposed to have coffee.)
  • Dinner:  Spaghetti sauce over veggies.
  • Dessert:  Roni’s ‘Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip.

Noah and I took an hour and a half hike today.  Pre-medicated with ibuprofen, the legs held up fine.  Did some stretches and floor exercises when we got home.  I dilly dally’d a bit too long after lunch, but headed out to the gym and got in half an hour of running in the pool and swimming.  Once again those “tiny bubbles” felt fantastic after the swim!  After relaxing at Starbuck’s, I headed home, where I took the three dogs for a pre-dinner stroll.

Today was just the first day, and I am happy with the amount of exercise I did, and the food that I ate.  This week I won’t be doing a lot of quilting that requires creative thought–that takes another type of energy!  But I have a few projects that are ‘mindless’ and they are perfect for times like this.

And now for the final spa “activity,”  I am going to work at becoming one with the couch.

9 thoughts on “Spa Week, Day 1

  1. I would soooo go to Spa Debby! Great food, exercise, *cough* “coffee” (LOL) and the fact that you understand the importance of “pre-medicating”… Yup. You might have a new career on your hands 🙂

  2. Debby’s Spa sounds like a great place! At my local spa there is a nice quiet room that is darkened and full of couches. They call it the relaxation room. I say you rename the room with your couch to that for this week. Everyone knows relaxation is part of the spa experience too!

    P.S. Your blog is one that hasn’t been letting me comment but it looks like it’s a go today – yay!

  3. Looks like your planning and preparation worked out beautifully – and really, I think the flavored Starbucks coffee is part of the spa treat! Love that you go out for coffee after swimming – I do, too.

    Oh, I also adore your presentation of food – pleasing to the eye as well as the palate. Very spa-like. Love it!

  4. I think that was a great Day 1! What is different from your regular routine that makes this a Spa Day. Any reason why you could not do alot of this on a regular basis Ms. Retired. lol! Hugs! girl. Have another great day!!! deb

Leave a Reply

